We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lupori

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lupori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lupori
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luigi Galvani 9/11, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Sverige
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A very good basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

An older hotel with charm. We had a small room with a terrace, top floor. The terrace was used frequently. If we are going back to Viareggio , I can imagine staying here again if there are available rooms with terrace. The room was kept clean and tidy. Safe and fridge in the room.

The owner is very nice and service minded. We parked the car in the hotel garage. No breakfast is served but there are several places to go around the corner. No luxury hotel but a very good basic.

Stayed June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
17
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Staff are gentle. The hotel is very pretty, rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The Location is perfect to enjoying carnival's events. Right now it becomes my favorite hotel for Viareggio's carnival.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Have just returned from this great little hotel where we stayed for 2 nights, we were lucky to have one of the rooms with a beautiful terrace, very relaxing. Good position in town, not far from the beach, absolutely spotless very friendly owner who made us very welcome. If you are going to Viareggio this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Hotel Lupori is a small an basic family hotel. I stayed in a single room which was small and basic with practically no view but very clean. The hotel has a lot of regular (Italian) guests who are visiting the hotel every year. Every afternoon the owner, or the front desk employee, is sitting in front of the hotel talking with some of the guests and neighbours.
On the corner of the street there is a cafe/bakery where a lot of locals are having their breakfast or their first coffee. The railway station is within walking distance and has direct connections with Pisa and other cities. You can reach Viareggio from the airport of Pisa by train (change in Pisa, central railway station). A must see is off course Firenze (Florence) but I was more impressed by Cinque Terre (both accessable by train). For people with a good health and condition it is recommended to walk the walking path which runs through the five wonderful villages of Cinque Terre (takes about 5 hours).

Although Viareggio has wonderful beaches, I visited the beach (Mama Mia) in Torre del Lago, which is a small village in the neighbourhood of Viareggio. You defintely need a car or bike to reach the beach of Torre del Lago.There is a bike rental office one block away from the hotel. There is a regular bus connection to Torre del Lago but in the evening it is recommended to go by bike due to the traffic jam (Italians are visiting the beach clubs in Torre del Lago escpecially during the weekends).

Viareggio is a good base if you want to visit the bigger cities in Tuscany. The town has good railway connections and wonderful beaches. Hotel Lupori is a small basic hotel and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

What a great experience it was to stay at this hotel. The Lupori family and staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make your visit the best ever. I felt like I was staying with family or old friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

If you get a room with a terrace you're laughing - it was superb (especially on the top floor - we reqested when booking). If you aren't lucky enough, there is a section of the terrace which all can use. I say thank God for this hotel because as non-Italian speaking English couple in Viareggio, we felt like aliens (we don't speak Italian!). The guy on the front desk though was our own personal tour guide.

A great two star hotel - a cross between a hostel and a good hotel - we loved it. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Great "no frills" Hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff - a little expensive without breakfast and quite a distance from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lupori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lupori

Address: Luigi Galvani 9/11, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lupori 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small cosy hotel with garage in town' heart, run by Lupori family from 45 years along.Five minutes walking from ocean and station and numerous typical sea food restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lupori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupori Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lupori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.