We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Saffi 20, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean & well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel playa was a bit hard to find but was clean & staff spoke a little English. Parking is €8 on the road for 24hours. Walking to the beach is across the road & there are plenty of bars close by. Rooms are clean but a double bed means two singles together. No traffic noise & had a good nights sleep. Rooms are basic but that's what you pay for. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room although there's a fridge. Breakfast was very nice self service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel is located next to the Grand Hotel Royal. It was hard to find without knowing this fact as Via Saffi is short & not well marked. The hotel is unpretensious. The rooms are clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was teriffic. Get a balcony room for a view of the sea.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I spent 4 days at the Hotel Playa in May 2009. The hotel is placed about 150 metres from the beach and is very close to the designer shops of Viareggio. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are of a comfortable size. We had one with a balcony from which you could see the sea and the woods. The breakfast was nice with a good variation of food for all travellers. From cereal and cakes, to eggs, ham and cheese if you prefer.

The owners are very helpful and recommended a lovely restaurant in town for us one evening. They made us feel very welcome and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere cosy and comfortable to stay whilst in Viareggio.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

We have just returned from 10 days at the Hotel Playa, a really great small hotel, incredibly friendly and helpfull staff most of who speak reasonable English.

The hotel, is on a side street just 50 meteres from the sea front, and thus is quiet with little traffic noise, it has 12 rooms, we stayed in room with 3 beds a double and single and a nice balcony (look down the street to the sea and the other way to the mountains). The rooms are high giving a spaciuos feel, plenty of wardrobe space and excellent new air-con, there is also a safe for valuables in the room. The bathroom is a nice size with good HOT shower, basin, toilet and bidet. Breakfast is a lovely continental spread with cheese, proscuito (ham) at all times and very often salami and Mortadella, lovley fresh rolls and croissants every morning, fresh fruit salad, cereal, yoghurts, cakes and biscuits (Italians love their cakes) + Fruit Juice AND Coffee freshly made each time and brought to your table (one of the best expresso/cappachinos we had in Italy. This allowed us to take a light pannini lunch to leave room for evening dinner in one of the excellent Viareggio restaurants. (try Garibaldino & La Darsena but best value the Pitzza in La Chiesna)

They also have a smallish lounge with Internet access. My very fussy wife continually commented how clean the whole place was, and in the 10 days we stayed bedding was changed 4 times.

What more can I say - try it you'll like it.

  • Liked — The staff, coffee & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Clean, but basic and noisy rooms. Very friendly staff but they don't speak English !! no elevator ! We stayed in much better places for the same price !! We thought the website pictures looked great but, were very misleading when it came to the actual property.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — hall close the kitchen, no elevator
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

Small friendly hotel in an excellent position for beach, cafes and shops. Larger than average room with balcony, very clean and good breakfast. Staff made a lovely cup of coffee! Would certainly go back.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marchionni
Hotel Marchionni
#25 of 55 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti
Hotel Tahiti
#15 of 55 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#1 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolly
Hotel Dolly
#7 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa

Address: Via Saffi 20, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, family run quality hotel, Hotel Playa has recently been renovated. It is beautifully located in a privileged position, 50 mt from the seaside and from the renowned promenade of Viareggio, an ideal meeting place with its sophisticated boutiques and stylish resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.