We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tirrenia to your Saves list
Hotel Tirrenia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Martino 23, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
garrington farm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 lovely days attending the carnival in Viarregio. The Tirrenia, what an amazing find, Luca, his parents & staff all go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The hotel is absolutely spotlessly clean with an amazing breakfast served 7.30-10.30 for long lie ins. Luca provided us with a guide book to visit Lucca & has an extensive knowledge of the train timetable!!! His father gave us a lift to the bus stop for the airport because it was raining......We will definitely be going back. Awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    80
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
171
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel! The staff so helpful & friendly! Very close to the beach which was why I chose it. Very clean room with plenty of room. Wonderful breakfast every morning with hot & cold foods. Just a block or 2 from shopping galore & restaurants. I can't say anything bad about this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Charming and stylish hotel. The owner could not have been more accommodating and made our stay more pleasurable. The only minor point was the noisy air conditioning, but a minor blemish on a lovely stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel Tirrenia is a lovely hotel near the sea front. It is clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was very well appointed and modern. The breakfast was second to none. I love fresh fruit and there was plenty of lovely prepared fruit and also hot food. The coffee was also lovely. We would stay at the Tirrenia again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good:
* Good location not too far from beach
* Good breakfast with nice selection of pastries
* Free wifi
* Friendly staff
* Nice modern bathrooms
* Not too expensive

The bad:
* I think the rooms are a bit underwhelming. They look like they've had a recent refurbishment and they are decent and perfectly serviceable, but nothing special. I suppose my expectations were a bit higher.

Overall:
I think this is a nice small hotel, and certainly offers good value. My biggest concern was that I thought the bedroom could be a bit nicer, but then the rooms aren't that big so there's probably only so much the owner can do. Basically I think the staff make this a very nice place to stay since they are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed just one night in this hotel as the hotel was closing for winter. As everyonelse writes this is a well- run hotel, very clean, close to the beach.We got a nice room with balcony , a very good breakfast next morning, friendly service, all for a moderate price.Above all the care one recieves here is the greatest. Lucca's mother even arranged a good hotel for us in the town for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel in a side street close to the sea. Our room was small with comfortable bed. The bathroom is very small but cleverly designed so adequate. Breakfast was very good offering chopped fruit croissants a selection of meats and cheeses and cooked. We stayed in four different hotels whilst touring Italy some five stars.This hotel stands out the best of them all for being the friendliest All their staff were friendly and polite. This hotel is very good value.
Viareggio is a very nice town with lots atmosphere during the day and evening time. Shops are open until late. It was lovely to see Italian families walk along the sea front in the evenings with young children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Address: Via San Martino 23, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#5 Best Value Hotel in Viareggio
#6 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers B&B service, all bedrooms are air-conditioned, insulating windows, use of fridge, direct dialing telephone with Internet WI-FI connection, TV Sat with LCD screen, safety box, and some of them have the balcony with seaview. The structure it is also provided of lift, bar, small garden, free of charge internet point, lounges with wireless connection, private rented garage nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirrenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;