We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff, great value, yummy breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tirrenia to your Saves list
Hotel Tirrenia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Martino 23, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great staff, great value, yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great family hotel. Firstly we were greeted at the front desk by the friendly owner who helped us with advice in parking our car, he spoke perfect English as we are Australian. Our room was immaculate, with a comfortable bed, a good size refridgerator and a balcony. The WiFi worked perfectly in the lobby area but not so good in the room. A great coffee is made and a cold beer is served in the lovely inside/outside alfresco lounge. The decore was tastefully executed in the rooms with the alfresco area a little more funky. Breakfast is typically Italian style which was absolutely perfect and very tasty served on beautiful crockery with lovely cutlery and designer accessories Again a great coffee is served at breakfast. Close walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and beaches. Without question we would return to this terrific family hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room that is not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    81
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
173
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a fantastic week we spent in Viareggio, made special by a great hotel and the staff. It is a small family run hotel and the manager Lucca is extremely helpful. The breakfast is superb, everything from cereal, fresh fruit, cheese and cold meats, scrambled egg and cooked ham, etc. brilliant. Check out their website, I found a couple of places to visit I knew nothing about, Pietrasanta (less than 15mins by train) and Cinque Terre (1hr 20min by train) both were fantastic, Lucca (the manager) was very helpful. As we had a late flight we were able to store our luggage and as there additional guest toilets on the 1st and 3rd floors complete with showers, he gave us towels to freshen up before departing for the airport. Thank you.
I cannot speak too highly of the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Smallish family run hotel,great place place to stay.
Right in the town centre, close to the port area where most of the restaurants and bars can be found.
Our host Lucca,(who speaks very good English) was extremely helpful, providing us with information of all the great places to see in this area.
We had a 2nd floor room with a small balcony overlooking the busy little side street the hotel is in. Really interesting watching all that goes on there, although it was not noisy at night.
The buffet breakfast was superb with many varied things to enjoy. Coffee was great too.
Unfortunately no meals there apart from breakfast, but it's so close to all the other ameneties,
It's not really a problem.You can get a drink there at the tiny bar at the rear of the hotel.
If you prefer small family run hotels, this is a very nice and comfortable place to stay.
Have a great time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to sip your Chianti and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tirrenia for a week at the beginning of October, Oh what a gem of a hotel in Tuscany. Where do I start. The hotel is spotless, not a speck of dust or anything else at all. The rooms are comfortable and exactly what you need, firm beds, air conditioning and the room cleaned every day. Its located just off the main beach promenade in Viareggio. What you won't get is a sea view but we didn't go for the view. Breakfast was wonderful. Lots of fruit and cakes, toast, rolls, cold meats and cheese and scrambled eggs and bacon & cereals. Lots of tea and different types of coffee. Breakfast is from 7.45 to 10.30. The staff are lovely and they helped with recommendations for restaurants, trains and maps. The hotel is about 10 mins walk to the train station with regular services to Pisa, Lucca and Florence. The fares are very reasonable with the longest trips to Florence at 16 Euros return. Use the ticket machines as they can be used in English and take you through the process, very easy. Make sure you validate your ticket in the small machines on the platforms before you board the train. There is a lovely courtyard at the rear of the hotel which we always used in the evening to have a relaxing coffee before bed (1.5 euro very reasonable). This was the first time in Tuscany and chose Viareggio for its beach location and easy access to Pisa, Lucca and Florence. We weren't disappointed as it was easy to negotiate everything in Italy and spent the day on the beach if the weather was nice. There are some lovely restaurants including Sa Playa, 8etti & Gran Caffe Margherita. The hotel will provide umbrellas when its wet, beach towels and a wealth of information. On our last day we had a late flight. We were able to leave our luggage with the hotel and enjoy the beach. The hotel also has a separate bathroom on each floor so we were also able to have a shower later in the day. The hotel also made sure fresh towels were left with our luggage for our showers. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and would certainly go back if we had the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tirrenia for a week from 16th Sept and had a great holiday. The hotel was excellent, Viareggio was varied and interesting - as well as the beachfront there's a thriving port and local fishing boats, there were buses and trains in easy walking distance and the weather in mid-Sept. was fine and sunny but not overpoweringly hot.

The Tirrenia is a small, very stylish, family-run hotel where everyone was very helpful and friendly and the standards of room, breakfast and service were excellent. We had a first floor room with balcony overlooking Via San Martino and a view down to the main boulevard and sea. The street is busy and can be noisy during the day but it's in the heart of town and we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony watching the world go by. There is a small supermarket round the corner and plenty of good restaurants close by with a recommended list supplied by the hotel. The private beach is a short stroll away: you pay to get in and for chairs and umbrella (~14 euros I think it was for two of us) which includes a discount as hotel residents: the hotel supplies a beach bag and towels. Luca was most helpful in lending us a guide book and map, a plug adaptor for our kettle, and cups.

Pisa, Lucca and other parts of Tuscany are within reach by train or bus. We got the bus from and to Pisa Airport: a cheap transfer with a single fare of 3 euros for a journey of just under an hour. Just make sure at the airport that you spot the right bus: it wasn't at the advertised stand and we were lucky that a local Italian boy found it and shouted to ask if anyone else was going to Viareggio just in time for us to get on before the bus left.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week and would love to go back and stay at the Tirrenia again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from week stay at Hotel Tirrenia. Great location, 1 min walk to beach & promenade, 10-15 mins to train station. Great service at the hotel, very helpful, friendly and professional staff. Helped with train times and recommending restaurants - all of which were good. Hotel is very clean and bright.
Marvellous choice for breakfast, lots of fresh fruit as well as selection of cereals, eggs, ham and bacon etc.
This is a great b &b hotel - have no hesitation in recommending it!
Viareggio is a good location for visiting Pisa, lucca, Siena or Florence as trains run regularly to all.
Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Room 311 was a nice size with balcony and double shower. Great to have a fridge in the room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location with very friendly helpful staff. Close to the beach, restaurants and shops. First class breakfast. Excellent value for money and will stay here again. Receiption staff very welcoming and gave lots of tips.

Room Tip: A room to the back might be a bit quieter but we enjoyed sitting out on the small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Address: Via San Martino 23, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#6 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers B&B service, all bedrooms are air-conditioned, insulating windows, use of fridge, direct dialing telephone with Internet WI-FI connection, TV Sat with LCD screen, safety box, and some of them have the balcony with seaview. The structure it is also provided of lift, bar, small garden, free of charge internet point, lounges with wireless connection, private rented garage nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirrenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.