We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, can recomend the Suites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Tina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Tina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Tina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Saffi 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 hotels in Viareggio
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, can recomend the Suites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

While travelling in Tuscany, we decided to sojourn in Viareggio to relax by the beach for a couple of days.
There are so many beachfront hotels to choose from there, when we stumbled across Villa Tina and it’s ‘sea view room’, even though nothing seemed to overly stand out, we decided to give it a try. We were SO pleased we did.
The hotel was built in the 1930s for the cavalier Manetti of Florence and the 3rd floor was added in 1963. Renovation and building upgrades were made in 2000 but the opulence of the period still shines through as the dark hard wood furniture, frescos, and hand blown Murano glass chandeliers on the first 2 floors are all originals.
Upon check in it was suggested, as the room was free, we could take the Tina Suite for 10 Euros more a night. My partner made the executive decision while I parked the car in the free parking at the end of the road (everything is pay near the beach). Upon my arrival I was ushered up the sweeping marble staircase into what only could have only been the cavalier’s once personal bedroom – soaring high ceilings, a magnificent chandelier, stain glassed bay doors onto a balcony overlooking the main strip and the ever expanding beach and sea. The flat screen TV was the only thing seemingly out of place in such an opulent period room. With only a handful of suites on our floor, I later found out that the third floor contained the rest of the rooms, which are the normal sized double and singles you’d expect. I couldn’t believe our luck! This was not your typical 3 star hotel from our point of view.
Breakfast was included – a typical boutiquey buffet fare. They had excellent wifi available for free and all the mod cons you can think of.
The staff were most pleasant and professional and in the morning, the manager greeted each customer at breakfast in the customer’s own language!
They were able to give us recommendations about where to go in town, where to eat, and what partnership deals they could offer with various establishments on the beach.
Overall, it was the most relaxing and enjoyable stay – minutes from the beach, a short walk into the centre of town, and a beautiful setting.
Highly recommended for a romantic get away!

Room Tip: Ask if any sea view rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed here for a week in June, perfect location a few yards from the main promenade and beach. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we entered reception, the staff are helpful and friendly at all times. This is a beautiful old building, and everything is spotlessly clean. The rooms are simple but well equipped, and serviced to a very high standard every day. The breakfast is fresh with plenty of variety, and nothing is too much trouble. I would stay here again, and cannot think of anything negative about it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We had 5 nights in room 205(front of hotel) - it was great and had a lovely balcony. There was some traffic noise, but nothing to put one off going again.We didn't need to keep windows open at night as the A/C was very efficient. The staff are lovely - friendly and helpful.There is a bus that stops outside of the hotel next door(Grand Hotel Royal) that takes you direct to Pisa airport - excellent. Hired bikes for 2 days - great fun. Hotel is very conveniently placed for everything!
Marie & John NE England

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

Had a great stay in Villa Tina. We were lucky enough to bag suite `Tina` with a balcony ,giving excellent views of the sea and the main promenade along Viareggio sea front. Building is a former house from the late 20`s (I think) and the rooms are furnished in keeping with this period. High ceilings and plenty of room to relax. Everyone working there was really friendly and helpful, giving plenty of good advice. There is a large park a couple of minutes away where we hired bikes to explore the area-highly recommended. Viareggio was a great place to spend a week, we stayed local after a busy few days in Rome and Siena, but the rail links to Pisa etc are excellent.
The Vila Tina is on a main road but we didn`t find the noise a problem. Excellent hotel.

  • Liked — beautiful large room with a view
  • Disliked — average breakfasts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews on trip advisor but I definitely would not stay here again or recommend it.

The hotel has fantastic potential, it has a great location and the building is beautiful, however it is in serious need of some TLC. The bathrooms are tiny and my husband could barely fit in the shower. The plumbing is atrocious and we had to have freezing cold showers on 7 of the 10 days we stayed there. We complained about it numerous times and they eventually discounted our room as a result of the inconvenience.

I definitely would not recommend the hotel for families with small children, there is only one tiny lift (just about fits a small pram and one parent). There was no bath in our room so we had to bathe our 18mth old son in the bathroom sink. We were also caught out by the 10Euro/night charge for a cot, which we were not informed about at the time of booking.

The bed was uncomfortable and the bedding looked ancient, I realize they are trying to offer a retro style, however it comes at the expense of comfort.

Lastly, breakfast was hit or miss depending on the popularity of the dish of the day. One decidely unpopular breakfast cake was put back out for 4 consecutive days - on the 4th day I picked up the last remaining hard-as-rock pieces and threw them away so that we would not have to endure yet another day of them!

My parents stayed at the same hotel for our first week, but had to move rooms half way through to accommodate some regulars, I'm not quite sure why the regulars wanted to stay in that room because it was on the second floor and the only rooms worth having are on the first floor. There is a significant difference in the size of the rooms between the first floor and second floor.

There is no pool at the hotel and although they offer discounts at the local beach, it is a paltry discount and you will still need to fork out ~15-20 Euros/day for sitting my the pool, extra if you also want to use the beach too.

Not worth the money - I would try the Best Western next door.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom with tiny shower and no hot water, uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

After reading these great reviwes about Villa Tina I though what a wonderful place this hotel must be and booked it but what a disappointment it was!!

First of all, the room they gave us had a shared balcony with the room next to us!!! I have never heard about a hotel that have shared balconies for the price of +150/Euros/night.

Walls and windows were paper thin and all the noise from the street and other rooms was so bad all through the night & day that we couldn´t get any sleep at all!

We had booked the hotel for 7 nights but because of the noise we had to check out after few nights and the "manager" of the hotel charged us the whole 7 nights even though we only stayed for a few nights. The hotel charged us extra 600 Euros from our credit card without our permission and when i called the hotel and asked about this the manager hung up the phone to my ear!!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Liked — Rooms were clean
  • Disliked — Noise & bad management!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

As part of a two week jaunt around Tuscany, myself and my boyfriend decided we would benefit by staying and relaxing beside the seaside for several days. We studied over travel guides, we had several late nights trawling the internet, we also listened to others experiences and reccomendations. We finally decided Viareggio was to be our Tuscan seaside experience. As soon as we found Villa Tina we knew it was the place for us. It looked so charming on the pictures. Many places do not live upto your expectations, but Villa Tina surpassed ours. As soon as we walked up the steps of the hotel we felt like we'd retreated back in time. The interior decor of the hotel is quite beautiful. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the "Deco" room. It still contains its original furnishings. It also has sea views and a lovely cool breeze. We would have no reservation in reccomending Villa Tina to anyone wishing to visit Viareggio.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Tina

Also Known As:
Tina Hotel Viareggio
Address: Via Saffi 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#10 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Tina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Tina is located on the sea front and in the most elegant area of Viareggio’s Promenade . Close by is the Pinewood. The few rooms make it to a familiar and romantic place.The Hotel offers B&B service, all rooms have an air-condition, a fridge, a direct dealing telephone, TV Sat, a safety box. Some of them have a balcony and all have lateral or direct sea view. The structure it is also provided of lift, bar, free of charge internet point, private rented garage nearby the hotelThe decoration’s richness ,the quality of materials ,the antique furniture and the artistic Venetian chandeliers in blown glass make Villa Tina unique, a delightful place to stay and relax.It was planned at the beginnig of 1900 and doubtless it is one of the best examples of ‘’Liberty style’’, art nouveau, in Viareggio’s city.The Hotel offers B&B service,all bedrooms are comfortable and have front or lateral sea views,some with balcony.Each room has air-conditioning, minibar, direct dialing telephone ,satellite TV and safe deposit box. The Hotel also provides a lift, bar and free internet point.The Villa Tina is small, friendly and very romantic.The buffet breakfast is served in a splendid room adorned with stained-glass windows ,paintings ,antique furniture and Viareggio’s sea front view .Beaches in front and some Restaurants on the Promenade offer special prices to Villa Tina ‘s Guests.The Hotel has a private rented garage nearby the hotel and also free parking places.The kind staff will be pleased to recommend Restaurants, attractions of the town and everything Guests will need during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Tina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Tina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.