We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfully poor, insanely expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Hotel Liberty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
-
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Awfully poor, insanely expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

As someone already stated, the only good points of this hotel are from outside, namely its position and good looking facade.

Regrettably, that's just a decoy to lure unknowing prospects in an experience from hell. Let's start with the reception, where a not so english proficient clerk tries his best to persuade you that 150€/night is a good price for two adults and a child. We thought lunch and dinner were included and they absolutely weren't, as it wasn't a decent breakfast.

The rooms are cramped and untidy, not to mention the furniture which comes directly from WWII, probably after being pillaged after a heavy bombardment.

To add more to our discomfort, the place is quite noisy (both from the outside main road and from having a middle-aged lift).

The only good thing of our stay there? We refused to pay in advance and we fled after our first night (and first overpaid breakfast) to find a more suitable place.

AVOID IT EVEN IF YOU HAVE TO SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    19
    9
    35
See reviews for
26
23
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balham, London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We chose the Hotel Liberty as it seemed the cheapest on the main street. We ended up with rooms in the two floor back part, behind the main hotel. It feels a bit cut off and just opposite the roof terrace where all the sheets and washing hang. The room was basic, but fine, though the main gripe was the fridge which was a small cupboard with a chilled metal plate at the top, which wouldn't chill drinks or food unless wedged against the plate. The rooms were well air conditioned (much welcomed in the 35 degree heat), even if ours did keep fusing whenever we turned the an on - I ended up going straight to the mains to turn the power back on after the third time! Staff were helpful and the location great. Morning buffet good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I was most pleasantly surprised by this hotel, as I had looked up reviews beforehand, (but after we had booked!) which weren't very positive. The gentleman at reception, (who seemed to take very little time off) was fluent in English, and very helpful and easy to deal with. Our room was fairly basic, as so many European hotels can be, but in good order, washable surfaces everywhere, perfectly suited to a hot climate, and we loved the overhead fan, air conditioning and shutters!! It was kept beautifully clean and tidy by very pleasant local staff who came in mid-moring every day. The bathroom was clean and servicable - no complaints. We found the fridge in the room very handy as well. The hotel is well situated, opposite the beach (spotless!!) and we were able to meander along the promenade every night in the evening heat. We had a view of both the sea, and a wee bit of the mountains from our balcony. It's only a 3 minute walk to the bus station, and 20 minutes walk from the train station, to Florence or Pisa. A good stay. Would definately recommend it as a pleasant place to stay, for a stress-free base to see the area.

  • Liked — In good order, nice staff, very clean.
  • Disliked — Didn't do meals except breakfast!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrikfergus N Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Having read some reviews about Liberty Hotel I was quite concerned about staying there, but it was fine. Room was quite big and clean. Maids in every day to make bed and clean bathroom. Sheets changed once during our week stay. Bathroom old but clean. Breakfast was below average. Boiled eggs (usually cold) very thinly sliced ham and cheese and bread every day, abit boring after a week, but adequate. Breakfast room could do with an update. Very good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

The location, as other hotels on this street, is great. The beach is just on the other side of the road and the boulevard in front of the hotel is a nice place to spend the evening. We loved our one night stay at this location. Lots of little restaurants, shops and gelaterias. :-) This is probably why the price was a little bit higher, but we enjoyed it. Parking your car could be a challenge, but with some directions of the staff you should succeed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

where to begin . . .i had been staying next door at the Hotel London (fantastic), but due to extending our stay for an additional week, there was one night they were unable to provide accomodation. We moved to the Hotel Liberty, and immediately begged the Hotel London to bump someone else. while the room at the Liberty was large, it was extremely sparsley furnished and outdated. the bathroom was so disgusting, we continued to use the guest bathroom at the London. i felt like i should wear my sandals in the shower. it smelled fuinky . . .my attempt to wash my waist-length hair was futile -- the water pressure was so horrible i had to shave my legs in the sink!! definately avoid the Liberty at all costs, especially when a hotel as good as the London is right next door!!
only plus, as said before, is the location. but they shouldn't rest on their laurels just because they have a primo location!! thank goodness we only had to stay one night before returning to the London.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsinore, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was nice with new furniture, Aircon, and a littele fridge. I think the windows were quit new, as they were not single glassed. They were provided with a shutter and when the windows were closed wee could hardly hear the noise from the street. If the walls had been new-painted there had been nothing to complain about at all. The bathroom was tiny and old, but ok. The room was cleen. The breakfast was fine and there is no reason to blame the breakfastroom. It is a nice hotel with a splendid position at the waterfront. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Liked — the position
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Address: Lungomare Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberty 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.