We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Liberty

Save Saved
You added Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Carrikfergus N Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“basic but fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Having read some reviews about Liberty Hotel I was quite concerned about staying there, but it was fine. Room was quite big and clean. Maids in every day to make bed and clean bathroom. Sheets changed once during our week stay. Bathroom old but clean. Breakfast was below average. Boiled eggs (usually cold) very thinly sliced ham and cheese and bread every day, abit boring after a week, but adequate. Breakfast room could do with an update. Very good location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    18
    15
    35
See reviews for
20
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

The location, as other hotels on this street, is great. The beach is just on the other side of the road and the boulevard in front of the hotel is a nice place to spend the evening. We loved our one night stay at this location. Lots of little restaurants, shops and gelaterias. :-) This is probably why the price was a little bit higher, but we enjoyed it. Parking your car could be a challenge, but with some directions of the staff you should succeed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

where to begin . . .i had been staying next door at the Hotel London (fantastic), but due to extending our stay for an additional week, there was one night they were unable to provide accomodation. We moved to the Hotel Liberty, and immediately begged the Hotel London to bump someone else. while the room at the Liberty was large, it was extremely sparsley furnished and outdated. the bathroom was so disgusting, we continued to use the guest bathroom at the London. i felt like i should wear my sandals in the shower. it smelled fuinky . . .my attempt to wash my waist-length hair was futile -- the water pressure was so horrible i had to shave my legs in the sink!! definately avoid the Liberty at all costs, especially when a hotel as good as the London is right next door!!
only plus, as said before, is the location. but they shouldn't rest on their laurels just because they have a primo location!! thank goodness we only had to stay one night before returning to the London.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsinore, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was nice with new furniture, Aircon, and a littele fridge. I think the windows were quit new, as they were not single glassed. They were provided with a shutter and when the windows were closed wee could hardly hear the noise from the street. If the walls had been new-painted there had been nothing to complain about at all. The bathroom was tiny and old, but ok. The room was cleen. The breakfast was fine and there is no reason to blame the breakfastroom. It is a nice hotel with a splendid position at the waterfront. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Liked — the position
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

When we opened the door to our second floor room, we were treated to a spectacular view of the sea. The windows were open and the breeze was terrific. The downside to open windows and sea breezes is noise and plenty of it. The hotel is located on the main drag of Viareggio and the windows are over the street. With the windows closed, the privacy screen in place, the air conditioning and ceiling fan both in operation, the noise disappears. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and quite large. The twin beds were comfortable. There was a fridge in the room and television. The electricity only worked when the key card was in the slot. The day staff had a decent command of English and were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Internet is available in the breakfast room. The Liberty has an arrangement with one of the bath clubs across the street for umbrellas and chairs at the beach. There are many good moderately priced restaurants across the street. The hotel is not real convenient to the train station, but is a block away from buses which we used to go to Pisa and to Lucca during the train strike. The bus was also cheaper than the train. We were confortable and generally quite pleased. From reviews we read elsewhere, we knew not to expect too much. The hotel could use a bit of TLC. And, if we hadn’t had the great view of the sea, that is, were facing a wall as some of the rooms do, we might not have been so content with this hotel. It met all of our needs.

  • Liked — The view of the sea and the convenience.
  • Disliked — The noise from the street.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

We stayed here for a week in July, during the world cup. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The room was large with an excellent view.

It was a very enjoyable week and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — the view from the window
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you get a front room with a view, and not a smaller back room like we did the first night.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Booked 3 nights but only spent 2 here. Hotel is art deco but hasn't been upgraded since 1970's. Biggest problem is that it's on the front but all of the windows are single glazed; so you may as well be sleeping on the v busy main road outside. Italians here all use high-pitched scooters which are so noisy. First night we moved at 3am in the morning ot hte back of the hotel, but the walls & floors are thin and we were woken by the early checkout in the room above us walking around on stiletto's at 5am. The only good thing was that the staff were really nice, but in summary Viareggio is overrated, you can't get to the beach, it's too busy in August Italian holidays & if you don't like fish, pizza or pasta the restaurants are useless.

  • Liked — Location on the Seafront
  • Disliked — V Noisy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Address: Lungomare Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberty 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.