We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Liberty

Save Saved
You added Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tired....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for one night and although this hotel is seemingly in a great position, in town and close to th beach, it was a real disappointment. The room needed decorating and the bunk beds for our daughters were uncomfortable and unstable. You may have a great view but the windows are not sound proofed so the noise in the evenings is pretty bad. Although a large and spacious room, it had no atmosphere and there was no stand-up shower, just a shower head attached to the bath. The breakfast was terrible. The room was dingy and there was no fresh coffee - which for an Italian breakfast was shocking. The choice was poor and nothing seemed fresh. I was so glad we had only 1 night booked and we will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio P, Owner at Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We are very sad that what you've written in this review hasn't come up to us during your stay. We care very much for our guests and improve the hotel every year. Unfortunately we are not yet able to read the minds of people who apparently seem happy with us and who don't express any kind of discomfort. Should you have the chance to come again, We will be glad to fullfill your needs the best way possible.
Regards,
G. Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    18
    9
    35
See reviews for
23
23
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

On arrival we were told that we had booked a 'cheaper' room, £85 per night isnt so cheap is it? The room was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor, it seemed to be behind the kitchens. We should have realised what was to come when the receptionist didnt take us all the way to the room but gave us the keys several yards short and said 'its down there' (room 802 if i remember right). Dusty, dirty, cobwebs, no windows, pipes running down the walls,dark and with a healthy population of mosquitos, my wife was bitten 3 times in the short time it took us to decide to escape. We were told we could upgrade for a further 40 euros a night but decided to leave, the receptionist said he ' understood'. We found a nice hotel called the Astoria nearby for 90 euros per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was a total disappointment for two American girls who wanted to get away from the city life of Rome to the beach for a few days. Originally planned on staying three days in Hotel Liberty but that changed quickly. Our room was disgusting, the air conditioning didn't work, the refrigerator was not cold, and the entire room smelt like urine. When explaining this to the hotel staff, we were treated extremely rudely and CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS LACKING. Breakfast was a small table full of packaged biscuits and cookies, cereal and a coffee machine...not worth the money as this hotel is not very reasonable. Although it is true that the views of the beach are beautiful, we were very unhappy with our stay here and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in late June 2012. Room was on 2nd floor for four people: two adults and two teens. There was one queen in the room and then two bunk beds that fold out of the wall. No complaints about either. Marble steps up to the room, marble floors in hallsway, and marble floors in room...lots of marble in Italy!
By far this had the biggest bathroom on our 12 day trip...I could actually turn around in the shower. Bathroom was clean and maid service did a great job fixing up the room and getting us fresh towels.
Great location right on the main street of Viareggio and easy walk to the beach. The "strip" going left and right up the beach is long and has plenty of restaurants and gelato bars, and plenty of clothes and shoes, so perfect spot. Eurocup was going on during our stay so when Italia plays, it gets very lively outside.
The breakfast was fine: some meats, breakfast cookes/pastries, latte/coffee/cappuchino, and my favorite, the "red" orange juice.
They provide free beach towels for the beach, so that was nice not having to pack them for the trip. They have an arrangement with an outfit on the beach to get umbrellas and chairs, and the price was a good one, so take advantage of that. They only have six spots per day, so reserve when you get the room confirmed.
Best part was they had AC that actually cooled down the room. Other hotels we stayed had very tepid AC, which I think is common in Italy. It was nice to come to a cool room after a hot day at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel was much better than it appeared online. Staff was amazing, friendly and very helpful! Our rooms, while modest, faced the ocean and the main strip and even had a small balcony to sit and watch the passers by. Street parking was super easy directly in front of the hotel. Would definately recommend!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

stayed there for 3 nights this week.Excellent location friendly staff, room spacious
with small balcony. Bathroom clean and plenty of hot water ,3 towels each which were changed daily Air con worked perfectly Breakfast ok but coffee fantactic! best capuccino/esspressos of the trip.
staff suggested we need not leave the room til 12.30 so we could shower etc before leaving for the airport ! nice touch

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

As someone already stated, the only good points of this hotel are from outside, namely its position and good looking facade.

Regrettably, that's just a decoy to lure unknowing prospects in an experience from hell. Let's start with the reception, where a not so english proficient clerk tries his best to persuade you that 150€/night is a good price for two adults and a child. We thought lunch and dinner were included and they absolutely weren't, as it wasn't a decent breakfast.

The rooms are cramped and untidy, not to mention the furniture which comes directly from WWII, probably after being pillaged after a heavy bombardment.

To add more to our discomfort, the place is quite noisy (both from the outside main road and from having a middle-aged lift).

The only good thing of our stay there? We refused to pay in advance and we fled after our first night (and first overpaid breakfast) to find a more suitable place.

AVOID IT EVEN IF YOU HAVE TO SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Address: Lungomare Manin 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberty 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.