We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got an upgrade to an apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Esplanade to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Esplanade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Puccini, 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Kendal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We got an upgrade to an apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We used Viareggio as a base for exploring Tuscany as it's close to Lucca and Pisa as well as being a resort in its own right. The Hotel Esplanade was a reasonably priced option so we were delighted to find ourselves upgraded to an apartment. So lots of space and comfort - with a balcony. The hotel was beautifully spacious, light and airy and had a lovely feel to it. It's located towards the north end of the many restaurants along the promenade, but a pleasant stroll down to the Marina past lots of expensive clothes shops. And we could park for free just round the corner from the hotel square - we'd expected a significant day rate for the car. Breakfast was very good, free wi-fi available (though they were having a few problems with it when we were there) and a very nice bar plus complimentary nibbles by reception throughout the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    117
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
67
83
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We rented three quad rooms to see what the differences were. There were no appreciable ones aside from price. Go for the cheapest one! Rooms were clean bur rather minimalistic. Dated beds and bedding in bedrooms, and sofa beds were not the most comfortable. Tile/linoleum flooring in the rooms. Definitely not luxurious, but a family beach hotel. We really were comfortable here though. The staff are top notch and we cannot say enough how genuinely friendly and helpful they were and all spoke excellent English. All of our quad rooms had some sort of outdoor balcony which was nice for the one smoker in our group.

Room Tip: If you require a quad room, go for the cheapest one. There are few differences in amenities, and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very impressive and superb value for money. Our group had booked one double and two single rooms.
The double was a two roomed family suite which was newly refurbished. The only minor criticisms are that the shower cubicle is quite small and there was only one small chair on the balcony.
The singles also had double beds and balconies but were in a wing of the hotel awaiting decoration.
Breakfast was pretty good too. However, if you want bacon make sure you aren't too late. Once its gone - its gone!
If I'm ever in Viareggio again this is where I'll be staying

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly updated wing of the hotel. They are a little fresher
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights .When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room upgrade. Thank you :-)
The room was very clean and modern . We loved the quirky lettering on the headboard and surrounding the TV. Bathroom was a decent size, however, the shower cubicle was tiny .
Breakfast was served in a nice airy restaurant with plenty of choice.
The beach was really lovely and we certainly didn't mind paying for the sunbeds etc. beach towels are available to hire at reception.
We had Sunday lunch at the beach in The Principe di Piemonte restaurant . A seafood delight.
Loved the resort and would definitely return next year to the Hotel Residence Esplande.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely hotel. Modern rooms. Excellent staff. Good food. Very enjoyable time had by all our family. The sunbeds were expensive given that they had some deal with the hotel next door! However the beach was lovely as so close. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was fantastic and well priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Esplanade was very good. The staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean and well stocked with everything needed for self-catering although we ate out every evening. The only criticism is at breakfast there was no fresh orange juice; although there were other juices; and I would have preferred fried eggs instead of scrambled eggs (however, I think you could've ordered other forms of eggs but this was not offered). Over-all, very pleasant and convenient for sight seeing and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel was nice generally, the room was big, but the bath room is very tiny and inconvenient. When we arrived we were surprised that there is no bagnio but only a shower which is very small.. But when we asked to exchange it for a bigger room and pay for it they told us that ALL rooms are with those tiny showers. We have a 8 months old baby that's why it was important to us to have bagnio.
Also I noticed that all hotels including this one have no special entrance for pushchairs which is really a hassle for a family with a pushchair coming back from the beach..
The nice thing about this hotel is that they give you a special rate to use Principe Piemonte beach.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Esplanade

Address: Piazza Puccini, 18, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#8 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 metres from the beach, Hotel Residence Esplanade is an Art-Nouveau building in Viareggio centre. It offers large and elegant accommodation with minibar and a satellite flat-screen TV.Each modern room and self-catering apartment at Esplanade comes with a private bathroom complete with hairdryer and courtesy set. Air conditioning is provided in summer, and free internet is available.Restaurant Esplanade serves Italian favourites prepared with fresh ingredients, along with an extensive wine list.Set right behind the lush Pineta di Ponente pinewood, Residence Esplanade is a 20-minute walk from Viareggio Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residence Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Esplanade Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.