We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST DEAL IN VIAREGGIO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 56 hotels in Viareggio
playa del carmen
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BEST DEAL IN VIAREGGIO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

i was there this fall me and my wife we really like the place
walk distance to the beach and the shops
nice and quiet really clean
we met the owner he is a really nice guy with lot of skills
we will be back soon
thank you so much

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
41
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I were doing a Euro trip together and we chose to go to Viareggio and loved it!! It is very romantic(for couples) but still lots of nice people, cute shops and yummy restaurants. Very authentic place to visit. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, right on the main promenade looking over the beach. I travelled all over europe and stayed in many different accomodations and the one that I loved the most was this hotel! The hotel staff was so friendly and accomodating. All around amazing, you wont be upset if you choose this hotel. Ask for a oceanview room with blacony.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Located right on the main street.
The staff was nice.
Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.
Viareggio is wonderful city, great beach and sea. Its 25 minutes to Pisa, by train, which is great and well worth a day. However its 2 hours to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I spent a week at this hotel and had a fantastic stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, Gian Lucca and Gabriele among others. This hotel is very clean and in a perfect location on the promenade. I paid €70 a night for a good size single room with a balcony and a great sea view. Breakfast was very good and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Viareggio is a very chilled out place with great beaches, 2 lovely pine woods in town, beautiful mountains behind the town and a great base for exploring Tuscany and the Coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Located right on the main strip. Smaller hotel with about 3 floors. You have to pickup and drop off room key upon leaving and entering the hotel (it was actually pretty good do you don't have to hold the key) The staff was nice. They offered a nice continental breakfast each morning. The rooms were decent and clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Hotel is tiny and beds are short by any means for any grown up man. But it is well located, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, I left a ring there and they returned it within a week.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Hotel San Francisco is on the main drag of the beach area of Viareggion. the roof garden was an absolute godsend as was the outside shower as the tempretures soared whilst we were here. hotel staff lovely and breafast adequate but it got a bit boring eating the same ham and cheese every day for 7 days. Coffee and juice was good. Our room, which was a good size had plenty of storage and was on the 3rd floor. We were at the back and had gorgeous views over the roof tops to the mountains. We also had a balcony which came in very handy. Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel
Address: Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.