We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, soooo relaxing and wonderful staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, soooo relaxing and wonderful staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I were doing a Euro trip together and we chose to go to Viareggio and loved it!! It is very romantic(for couples) but still lots of nice people, cute shops and yummy restaurants. Very authentic place to visit. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, right on the main promenade looking over the beach. I travelled all over europe and stayed in many different accomodations and the one that I loved the most was this hotel! The hotel staff was so friendly and accomodating. All around amazing, you wont be upset if you choose this hotel. Ask for a oceanview room with blacony.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
54
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Located right on the main street.
The staff was nice.
Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.
Viareggio is wonderful city, great beach and sea. Its 25 minutes to Pisa, by train, which is great and well worth a day. However its 2 hours to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I spent a week at this hotel and had a fantastic stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, Gian Lucca and Gabriele among others. This hotel is very clean and in a perfect location on the promenade. I paid €70 a night for a good size single room with a balcony and a great sea view. Breakfast was very good and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Viareggio is a very chilled out place with great beaches, 2 lovely pine woods in town, beautiful mountains behind the town and a great base for exploring Tuscany and the Coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Located right on the main strip. Smaller hotel with about 3 floors. You have to pickup and drop off room key upon leaving and entering the hotel (it was actually pretty good do you don't have to hold the key) The staff was nice. They offered a nice continental breakfast each morning. The rooms were decent and clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Hotel is tiny and beds are short by any means for any grown up man. But it is well located, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, I left a ring there and they returned it within a week.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Hotel San Francisco is on the main drag of the beach area of Viareggion. the roof garden was an absolute godsend as was the outside shower as the tempretures soared whilst we were here. hotel staff lovely and breafast adequate but it got a bit boring eating the same ham and cheese every day for 7 days. Coffee and juice was good. Our room, which was a good size had plenty of storage and was on the 3rd floor. We were at the back and had gorgeous views over the roof tops to the mountains. We also had a balcony which came in very handy. Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Myself and my husband had a week in the Hotel San Francisco in September 2007. The staff were very friendly, the room was perfectly adequate and very clean. Continental breakfast is included. The hotel is perfectly positioned with sea views. Would definately reccomend and would go again

  • Liked — Very freindly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.