We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheerful, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel is bright and sunny. The decor is cheerful. The dining room is airy and spacious. The breakfast was expansive. The cleaning staff was incredibly friendly and solicitious. The hotel management was always courteous and friendly. The location is wonderful, near the beach and shops. We arranged a reserved spot at the Elisabetta beach, which the hotel recommended. It was lovely. We might try, next time, for a different private beach that has a pool. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
60
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Spent two nights here, before heading to Florence. We hadn't booked ahead as we wanted to find a good spot, a nice beach, and see what kind of a deal we could negotiate. The exterior isn't anything special, and when you enter the lobby, the dated decor could scare you off. The staff are very friendly and helpful though, we were able to get a sea view at a very good rate, and parking is cheap! $3 euro/day in comparison to $20 euro at others in Viareggio we visited. I was worried about the guestroom, but after being shown our room, it is much more updated than the lobby. Great view, great location and the staff made it a great stay. The mediterranan was a great treat after all the sightseeing!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del carmen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

i was there this fall me and my wife we really like the place
walk distance to the beach and the shops
nice and quiet really clean
we met the owner he is a really nice guy with lot of skills
we will be back soon
thank you so much

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I were doing a Euro trip together and we chose to go to Viareggio and loved it!! It is very romantic(for couples) but still lots of nice people, cute shops and yummy restaurants. Very authentic place to visit. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, right on the main promenade looking over the beach. I travelled all over europe and stayed in many different accomodations and the one that I loved the most was this hotel! The hotel staff was so friendly and accomodating. All around amazing, you wont be upset if you choose this hotel. Ask for a oceanview room with blacony.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
393 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Located right on the main street.
The staff was nice.
Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.
Viareggio is wonderful city, great beach and sea. Its 25 minutes to Pisa, by train, which is great and well worth a day. However its 2 hours to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I spent a week at this hotel and had a fantastic stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, Gian Lucca and Gabriele among others. This hotel is very clean and in a perfect location on the promenade. I paid €70 a night for a good size single room with a balcony and a great sea view. Breakfast was very good and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Viareggio is a very chilled out place with great beaches, 2 lovely pine woods in town, beautiful mountains behind the town and a great base for exploring Tuscany and the Coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Located right on the main strip. Smaller hotel with about 3 floors. You have to pickup and drop off room key upon leaving and entering the hotel (it was actually pretty good do you don't have to hold the key) The staff was nice. They offered a nice continental breakfast each morning. The rooms were decent and clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#1 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tahiti
Hotel Tahiti
#15 of 55 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor Viareggio
Hotel Astor Viareggio
#23 of 55 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.