We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the lobby fool you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Hotel San Francisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the lobby fool you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Spent two nights here, before heading to Florence. We hadn't booked ahead as we wanted to find a good spot, a nice beach, and see what kind of a deal we could negotiate. The exterior isn't anything special, and when you enter the lobby, the dated decor could scare you off. The staff are very friendly and helpful though, we were able to get a sea view at a very good rate, and parking is cheap! $3 euro/day in comparison to $20 euro at others in Viareggio we visited. I was worried about the guestroom, but after being shown our room, it is much more updated than the lobby. Great view, great location and the staff made it a great stay. The mediterranan was a great treat after all the sightseeing!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
50
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
playa del carmen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

i was there this fall me and my wife we really like the place
walk distance to the beach and the shops
nice and quiet really clean
we met the owner he is a really nice guy with lot of skills
we will be back soon
thank you so much

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I were doing a Euro trip together and we chose to go to Viareggio and loved it!! It is very romantic(for couples) but still lots of nice people, cute shops and yummy restaurants. Very authentic place to visit. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, right on the main promenade looking over the beach. I travelled all over europe and stayed in many different accomodations and the one that I loved the most was this hotel! The hotel staff was so friendly and accomodating. All around amazing, you wont be upset if you choose this hotel. Ask for a oceanview room with blacony.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Located right on the main street.
The staff was nice.
Bathroom was fine although it was the smallest shower cubilcle I have ever used. Plenty of hot water and it was kept spotless.
Viareggio is wonderful city, great beach and sea. Its 25 minutes to Pisa, by train, which is great and well worth a day. However its 2 hours to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I spent a week at this hotel and had a fantastic stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, Gian Lucca and Gabriele among others. This hotel is very clean and in a perfect location on the promenade. I paid €70 a night for a good size single room with a balcony and a great sea view. Breakfast was very good and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Viareggio is a very chilled out place with great beaches, 2 lovely pine woods in town, beautiful mountains behind the town and a great base for exploring Tuscany and the Coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Located right on the main strip. Smaller hotel with about 3 floors. You have to pickup and drop off room key upon leaving and entering the hotel (it was actually pretty good do you don't have to hold the key) The staff was nice. They offered a nice continental breakfast each morning. The rooms were decent and clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Hotel is tiny and beds are short by any means for any grown up man. But it is well located, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, I left a ring there and they returned it within a week.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco

Address: Viale Carducci, 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.