We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally speaking is a good hotel, but less than you could expect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Puccini 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 hotels in Viareggio
L'Aquila, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Generally speaking is a good hotel, but less than you could expect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived at 7pm with reservation , but the room was not ready. The third bed was a camp bed. The room is elegant, but any attempt of temperature regulation failed.... Too warm (25°C) for Christmas time. Staff was not warm, as you could expect. Breakfast pleanty

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    117
    57
    27
    16
See reviews for
83
184
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely old-school building in a great location across from the beach about a mile from downtown VIareggio. There's a bit of a disconnect if you are assigned one of the renovated rooms which have been done in a minimalistic modern style, with platform bed (that is in fact very comfortable) and all white decor. We visited in January so the one-star Michelin restaurant was not open, and we were told that it would not open until May. Only breakfast was available at the hotel. Luckily there are several good restaurants a short walk away. Service is okay - we had a problem with lack of internet for one day - but it eventually got fixed, and as there was no charge for internet use it's difficult to complain about that.

Room Tip: There is a choice of more traditionally decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

No wonder that Michelangelo loved this area where he stayed for months to select his marble for his famous statues. The Tuscan coast line, Versilia, is as beautiful as the french riviera Cote d'Azur and I specially like to stay there during the winter months, when it's less crowded and less expensive.
I've stayed in different hotels, but Principe di Piemonte in Viareggio is outstanding and is now my only choice.
The rooms are gorgeous, the restaurant is very good and the beautiful 'veranda' is my favourite place to sit and read the newspaper, have an afternoon coffee or a Prosecco before dinner (ask for the Prosecco Merotto). A huge buffet goes free with the aperitif! The hotel service is superb: The staff is professional, nice and never stiff and mechanic. There's definitely a very capable manager behind this!
I very much appreciate the upgrading to a room facing the ocean, which the hotel offers in case of not beeing fully booked. With the wellness-center, the open-air pool with heated water, the fitness room, the restaurant, the bar, you could stay without ever leaving the hotel, and your vacation/relax would be perfect, but I always try to take a tour up into the Carrara mountains where Michelangelo got his marble.
Thank you, Principe....I'll be back next winter

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've stayed at the Principe quite a lot over the years and the great thing about is that there's always something happening. We've had a Calvin Klein swimwear launch, Miss Italy, Formula 1 team exhibitions, pro cyclist charity rides, Placebo staying next door and an air show at the front door.

Each of the floors is decorated completely differently and we've pretty much tried them all. The top floor is the bedtime for us as all the rooms are large, airy and have a great view. Also, I love the minimalist look. Some of the rooms on the lower floors can be quite pokey to be honest but the staff have always been good at switching us if we've had a problem.

Talking of the staff, they've always been friendly, professional and helpful plus they make s mean mojito in the promenade cocktail bar.

The restaurant in the hotel has had its ups and frowns over the years and is currently pretty good.

The gym in the hotel is actually very good and hardly used. The swimming pool is great for lounging (including the in pool Jacuzzi beds) but is useless for actually swimming.

Now the downside, the hotel has become more and more expensive over the years and is currently eye wateringly costly for a decent size of room. With the change in cost has come a change in clientele. Quite a lot of particularly "entitled" and frankly rude people have been there in recent times.

If you want my advice, visit Viareggio in late June to avoid this issue (and get s bit better value). You'll obviously miss the opera festival (or carnivale in February) but the town is much nicer in June.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful location .This hotel takes you back in time, but in a good way. Great Imposing corner location on the main Viaregio strip, with quadrant marble steps leading to an impressive mahogany revolving door.

Once inside, the staff were dressed immaculately in dark suits. We were met by an English speaking receptionist who’s local knowledge and assistance was excellent. Our room was on the third floor and the journey to the floor was via one of two small mirrored lifts.

Once in our room, you immediately noticed the character of the hotel, almost English colonial, herringbone hardwood floors, cane furniture, ceiling fans and modern bathroom appliances in a 1900’s style. We had great views of the mountains.

Breakfast in the morning was in the large ball/dining room. A great place to start your day. The choice of breakfast items far exceeds any other European hotel I’ve stayed in.

The great thing about this hotel is the mix of classic old Italian and modern Italian. The rooms have character, yet still have comfortable beds and flat screen multi channel TV. towards the roof of the hotel you'll find high tech glass sliding door to the gym which is positioned next to the entrance to the roof top swimming pool. A real sun trap! fantastic views of the beach and the mountains.

There are complimentary bicycles available from the reception, these are essential for the promenade ride to the fantastic marina at Viaregio.

I didn't get the chance to visit, however this hotel also has a Michelin starred restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we had 1 night in a standard room and ,.2 in a junior suite as they were booked out on our first night.this was a return visit for us as it would rank as one of our most loved hotels. the extra cost of a suite is well worth it. the roof top pool is a big plus but we did find the cost of the bar to be too much even for a great hotel..

Room Tip: suites well worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A disappointing establishment after a week of 5 star hotels across Italy. Our room was OK but well short of the luxury suggested in promotional photos.

While the outdoor temperature was below 20 degress C, the room temperature was north of 26 degrees and the aircon failed to do more than knock a couple of degrees off that. Woke the next morning to a yet again hot room and airconditioning not working at all. Everyone in our group complained of the same.

No turn-down service on first evening. Normally that wouldn't concern me (I am capable of pulling back a bedspread!) but also meant that wet towels that needed replacing weren't.

Room safe failed from a flat battery (OK, those sorts of things happen) but the half hour wait to get someone to come to the room to get our things out of the safe was unacceptable. So breakfast was reduced to a 5 minute gulping down of a pastry and coffee lest we missed our tour pick up.

Hotel hosts a reportedly excellent restaurant (Michelin star). Enquired about booking at reception on first evening to be told that they didn't know whether it would be open next evening and we were told we would have to ask again in morning. Did so next day to be told the restaurant is only open for dinner Friday and Saturday night.

Dinner in-house was a buffet of only average quality. Braised beef and chicken dishes so overcooked that the meat was left uneaten on my plate. My wife similarly left half her meal uneaten.

Brought a wonderful bottle of Tuscany Chianti back to the room to discover that we only had a single wine glass in the room.

A wonderful building in a great location let down by sloppy, 3 star service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daiana F, Direttore at Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

referring to your review,
I'm m really sorry to read that your stay did not realize your expectations.
About the rooms, I'd like to explain to you, having 106 rooms available, on five different floors with 5 differents styles, we can not load 106 pictures on the brochure or website.

Regarding the air conditioning, I remember that when the group came in the hotel, unfortunately, we had a problem on the system that controls the air coditioning in the hotel. The day after, the technicians solved the problem.

The hotel provides the turn-down service: if the chambermaid finds the room busy, she left a flyer at the door, to let you know she was at your disposal. She came two times but the light on system was always "red" (guest inside the room).

I'm sorry that you had to wait to long just to have the possibility to take off your stuff from the safe, but when a group is checking out, the time to have a service, unfortunately, becomes longer, just because all staff is busy with the group.

Being part of a group, the dinner is "as per contract " at the Regina Restaurant on the ground floor;
in any case the restaurant Piccolo Principe (one star Michelin Reastaurant), on the top floor, during the low season opens only on the weekend.

Always at your disposal, I remain.
Best regards.
Daiana Ferretti - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Viareggio
Address: Piazza Puccini 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#9 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.