We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Foscolo 70, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Viareggio, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed at the Garden Hotel for the first time. This was our third time in Viareggio but usually stayed a little further from the centre.
Rooms are good quality, staff is friendly, the breakfast offer is wide, including even fried eggs on request, the location is one of the best you can get in Viareggio. Just a short walk from the main promenade and the beach and the market on the other side. A good offer of shopping alternatives around, but surprisingly in front of the hotel we were amazed to find a lovely shop that sells all types of products that change color in the sun. We bought 5 t-shirts for our friends and relatives and even a nail polish! (it changes from clear to red at the sun!).
Definitely good value for money, considering we had the best holiday this time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    26
    12
    14
See reviews for
12
40
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

First time in Viareggio.
Really nice art decò Hotel, in a very good location in the city centre just few metres from the beach.
The owners and his family are always ready to help you, staff always smiling.
Breakfast really good for an Italian hotel( they cook fried eggs for you on request..tath is great cause they care about your requests and do their best to let you feel at home)
Surely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

lovely and charming Hotel tuscany's style(marble, wood and stones).roof terrace on 3rd floor really relaxing to drink a glass of wine. the owner and his family always smiling and taking care of us let us feeel at home...highly recommended to stop at the hotel restaurant for Lasagna...I've already booked for next april

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

just got back from the garden hotel. dont book anywhere else. all the rooms have just been refurbished to a very high standard. we had booked a double room, the day we arrived we met a friend who was visiting viareggio for the day. she liked it so much she wanted to stay over with us. we went to check in and asked it it possible to put a bed in our room. even though they were very busy and booked up they had another bed in the room made up, all within twenty mins. how that for servise. i have stayed at the president on the main street, which is a lot more exspensive, and not a patch on the garden. all the staff very friendly.. we didnt eat in the resteraunt but we spoke to people who said it was very good. the breakfast is the usual cheese meat bread and cake. just one tiny fault they didnt have a toaster. but thats minor. try and go in feb for the carnival its a awsome experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

When we arrived at this little hotel we were sceptical as our room wasnt ready and this didn't seem like a very good start.
However this wasn't an omen. This is a really nice little hotel although i did find the head waiter a little scary although he was freindly. We were in a room right at the front of the hotel and i got the balcony i wanted but at a price because for me the noise of the traffic was just to much. But if traffic noise dosen't bother you then this is a perfect little hotel to stay at as it is very near the centre. I must just add that the food was absolutely wonderful.

  • Liked — small and friendly
  • Disliked — traffic noise all day and most of the night
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

A nice family run hotel just one block away from the beach (inc a beach discount card but you must ask for it, like everything there). A very simple small double au-suite room with TV, one draw, bar fridge and a wardrobe, just about enough for the 6 days we were there for but could have done with more draw space. The waiters were very nice and helpful but I can't say that for the managers - we wanted to use the reception phone to quickly call the rep to arrange a meeting time and they told us that we had to use the phone in the room. We asked about places to go, even though they weren't busy they seemed uninterested in helping us out. No room service to speak of. They had a large roof terrace (we were expecting a lovely decorated Italian terrace) which consisted of plastic chairs and some tables, but it had a good view of the mountains in the distance. We had one night of loud Italians until 2am but one call to the night manager and we didn't have any further problems. He was great and could speak English plus gave a us maps and told us about some of the near by towns to visit and how to get there. We went half board - Breakfast was very good, cereals, Melba toast, jams, and croissants, coffee and hot chocolate . Had dinner twice as there was little choice on set menu, so we chose to eat out were the food was soooo much better! Shame. If you wanted somewhere cheap or as a base I would recommend The Garden but if you wanted to be waited on hand and foot spend the extra £200 odd and go to the Grand.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Meal Options
  • Tips/Secrets — Deal with the night manager
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

This is great little hotel with good service and a great atmosphere. Staff helpful and friendly. Their resturant serves excellent meals and we ate well every day, waiters could not do enough to help, they worked really hard. Rooms were comfortable, clean and well serviced. Only down side was some noise outside on some evenings, but hey, this is Italy! Its location was perfect for our needs as we used the rail station to go to Florence, Lucca and Pias for day trips, perfect!
We would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: Viale Foscolo 70, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.