We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Foscolo 70, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend it. Rooms are dirty and small, no good morning cleaning at all, smell from the toilet does not disappear; they leave the safe at the reception OPENED while they're speaking to the guests, checking mail etc. Don't be surprised if your things are stolen from there one day... Staff does not speak even English fluently. So, the hotel is appropriate only for one-night staying, but it's absolutely no walue for money - price does not meet the quality.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
12
37
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Second trip to viareggio. Family room, excellent with an anteroom for little one with two twin beds. Previously stayed at Tirrenia around the corner so this is a comparison of two 3 star hotels. Tirrenia more modern but rooms smaller, wifi in T was free, expensive in Garden. No cooked option for breakfast (did have this in Tirrenia). Hotel a little tired could do with modernisation but good solid hotel, staff friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

the room was basic, not very clean. The bathroom smelt bad when we arrived but it did disappear after first day, the shower cubicle was dirty, the wash basin was cracked. The breakfast was adequate but the evening meal was not very good, we where offered veal 3 nights out of 5 with cold veg every night, which I suspect were out of a tin. There was an atmosphere with the staff, the younger ones smiled,the older ones were not so smiley. Over all the hotel was tired and needs updating.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Room No.105 with Balcony. Room very basic with chipped furniture,dirty shower curtain.Fitted hairdryer hanging from wall, broken. Toilet seat chipped and very unhygienic. Balcony in a disgraceful state with rust and two old plastic chairs. We had a lot of water come in after a shower of rain as the balcony doors did not close 100%.We had to ask for a light outside our bedroom door to be replaced and also to get the tv to work properly. The visitors lounge requires to be refurbished. The staff never spoke to us and just pointed out our table for breakfast. Such a bad atmosphere in the dining room. The breakfast was passable. Nothing special. Also take note if travelling by car like us. It was 18euros per night for the garage.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel early so received a fair price including breakfast. We stayed for a full week and were pleased with our choice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was extremely clean! Our room was nice and bright with a large window overlooking the side street. The water pressure in the shower was fine. The breakfast was delicious -- choices of cereal, cheeses, breads, meats. I would have liked a better variety of fresh fruit, but some was offered each day. There are juice & coffee machines. The food was replenished and kept fresh throughout the serving time. We did use the Internet quite a bit--both on the computer in the lobby and in our room. You buy a card with a code to use (cost 4 Euro per hour). We thought this was costly, but the prices in the Internet points in town were not cheaper & certainly less convenient. The hotel is very conveniently located for the beach and restaurants.

Room Tip: We booked directly from the hotel website, and I simply asked for a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was an excellent hotel choice; it provided everything my group of friends needed. It's less than a ten minute walk from the train station, it is perfectly located in the heart of tons of cute stores, cafes and restaurants and only steps from the beach. It is beautifully and cleverly decorated, making it's essentially basic nature seem nothing short of luxurious to 4 young women who had been living in extremely basic dorm rooms for the past few weeks. The hotel's convenience, beauty and reasonable pricing (180 euros for 4 people for one night!) makes it a good hotel; the service made it outstanding. Every employ we interacted with was friendly, knowledgeable and went far and above the call of duty to help us and make our stay comfortable. Upon arrival, the lady at the front desk went out of her way and worked very hard arrange our transport to the Puccini festival that night, securing the best option for us, combining convenience and price. Upon check-out, another employee took the time to find us the train schedule and a map for the next leg of our journey. Their help was invaluable and relieved the potential stress caused by vacationing, especially more spur of the moment trips like ours. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! It was key in making our trip as relaxing and enjoyable as it could be! I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Garden Hotel boasts a 3-star rating but this is deceptive, a 2 stars would be more appropriate. I would say the acquarium in the lobby is suggestive of what you are going to find in the hotel: it is an old tank filled with muddy water with no fish in it!
Some parts of the hotel must have been revamped a few years ago (floors in the hallways, room doors, bathrooms) but some others are in need of some serious renovation (carpets on the stairs, windows, furniture). Our room was a mixture of old and (almost) new features: the tiles in the bathroom must have been replaced 10 years ago, but our beds and the furniture were definitely dating back to the ‘70s!
There is virtually no storage room and the only place to store your bags is under the beds. Some lamps were broken, the TV was very old, not to mention the blankets. Cleaning was also an issue: floors and furniture were dusty.
The only 3-star feature is breakfast. The buffet is not huge but it caters for all tastes. Service is very poor (instead of changing the tablecloth, the waiter simply wipes the crumbs away with his hands and places new paper napkins and cutlery!).
So why didn’t I give it the lowest rating? Because, for the price I paid, I couldn’t have expected more. However, if you are not on a tight budget, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: Viale Foscolo 70, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.