We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in October 2014. The hotel was a perfect spot to stay and it was very easy to get to the train station to travel for day trips to Pisa, Lucca, Carrara and the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    229
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
182
401
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The long and short of it is that, based on the reviews and the star rating of this hotel, our expectations were not met. We were extremely disappointed with the hotel, room and service we experienced. So much so that we decided not to stay for our pre-paid 3 night stay. Unfortunately, even though the room allocated to us had a dis-functional door, and it took quite some time for them to agree to show us a different room (at first they said they didn't have any others), they did not agree to refund us our money when we chose to leave and stay at another hotel down the street. Vacation time is treasured time, and unfortunately the accommodations and treatment we received at this hotel, and the refusal to refund the money for our stay, put a stain on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
It is very easy to accuse hotel and give a very bad rewiew like you did.
This review arriving after your first review posted one month ago where you write, “ I think this hotel pay people to write a positive review” deleted by the Management of Tripadvisor because offensive to us and to all other guest.
But you persevered and insist proving malice and insensitivity.I do hope all other future guest after reading this answer can understand why !!.
I think it is impossible to judge the services of one hotel without stay, easy but outrageous judge bad service just because it was not accepted refund.
Our apologies are useless and not so sincere
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We holidayed at this hotel as a 40th wedding anniversary treat, we had mentioned this when booking via Citalia and were very surprised to find a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. It was certainly an experience to stay in such lovely surroundings, once we had got used to the art deco charm of the hotel, spacious rooms with high ceilings, a balcony overlooking the seafront. The food was good, although sometimes in the restaurant the service was slow. In fact for the last 3 nights of our stay a coach party took over most of the dining room and this put immense pressure on the waiter service, with more direction from the maître di this could have been avoided. The pool area was clean and tidy, with a lifeguard, but too cool to swim in..Guiseppe the barman was the friendliest of the staff. The hotel is very well situated in the main street with access to a private beach area and complimentary chairs and parasol. It was a pleasure to walk along the promenade and look in the designer shop windows in the evening. A large recreational park is behind the hotel, with cycle hire available (also could be hired from the hotel). Trips out could taken by bus which stopped outside the hotel or by rail as the train station was only a 15minute walk. We received excellent help from Danni the Citalia rep,not in person but by phone he told us how to get to the Cinque Terre, Lucca and Pisa, which we thoroughly enjoyed, also the organised trips to Florence and Portofino were good value for money. A holiday to remember.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay especially in the Restaurant.
Hope to welcome you once again soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

my wife and i stayed here for a week at the end of september, lovely hotel, perfect setting, and all the staff were excellent. we even had perfect weather. could not have wished for a better stay.many thanks to all concerned who sorted out the minor problem we had. highly reccomended..........

Room Tip: probably better to be at the back of hotel, although no real problem at the front......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team.
Hope you will visit us again soon!
Bes regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights in early October. The hotel is beautiful and the photos don't do it justice.
The location is great, close to the beach and a lovely park as well as being close to the bus stop. The lovely garden and pool area is a great bonus.
We stayed here with our 2 year old son plus other family in 2 separate rooms. We were given a lovely large room with a Juliet balcony and a side on sea view. The bathroom was quite big but the shower wasn't the best, although that is the only thing I could fault during our stay.
Overall we found all the staff to be helpful and friendly and in particular got great service from Giuseppe in the American bar where we had a drink most evenings. It was a family birthday the day we arrived and the hotel staff we very accommodating in arranging a surprise in the room upon arrival. The price was very reasonable too.
This was our first holiday in Italy and we loved Viareggio as a great base to explore Tuscany before heading to Venice for a few nights at the end. I think we'll be back as we only managed Pisa, Lucca and Florence yet there's so much more to see. I would definitely stay at the Royal again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear guest,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal.
It is very genuine of you to remember the names of the individual staff members who helped you to retain such warm thoughts of your stay at The Royal.
Hope to welcome you once again
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I stayed here mid October for two nights with a colleague on a buisness trip. We both had single rooms with breakfast included. Both agreed it was very good value for money. Rooms were good size very confertable with a re vamped bathroom.
Breakfast was very good with selection of continental or English. Staff all very polite and helpful.
But the internet was terrible this was the only downer and was a little difficult as we we on buisness.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

What a great big beautiful old hotel with an excellent location and view. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel was built in the late 1800's and has been exceptionally maintained. It is directly across the street from a beautiful beach right on the Mediterranean. Having stayed there in the off season, the prices were extremely reasonable and I would highly recommend this hotel if traveling in the area. It's located just 30 minutes from Pisa.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again even in Summer!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.