We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful , elegant, period hotel with an attractive garden in which to sit and while away the time reading if not interested in sunbathing or swimming in the very spacious swimming pool. Our third floor bedroom had a sea view, was beautifully furnished, very clean and with good tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was fine and there was even a clothes line provided over the bath. The breakfast was excellent though the coffee left alot to be desired even when we cottoned on to the fact that you could ask for a cappucino instead of putting up with the appalling jug of coffee normally provided. Surely in the land of wonderful coffee bars where the coffee is always excellent the hotel should be able to do better?!!! However, apart from this niggle we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - very relaxing and comfortable and a friendly helpful staff. Loved the ability to be able to jump on a bus outside the door and visit places such as Lucca and Pisa for a day trip.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful, comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location. Thank you.
Apologies for the coffee at breakfast i assure you we will provide to do something immediately!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    222
    53
    18
    9
See reviews for
180
392
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the front desk clerk to the room a wonderful time was had. High ceilings, a bar which served in a grand style, lovely breakfast, this hotel was very nice. Beds were hard but rooms were grand and large. nice view of the water, it was a quiet time in Viareggio.

Room Tip: around 147 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Yes our building is a 1920 wonderful Style Hotel
Thank you. again
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We went to this hotel on a SAGA package in October, we arrived late in the evening and found to our surprise a full 3 course dinner awaiting, our room we upgraded to a sea view with balcony. Well worth the extra, able to watch the sun go down with a glass of Chianti. Room was superb, hotel faultless, food was superb, for me anyway, (have written to get a couple of recipes it was so good) Very helpful staff everywhere couldn't do enough for us, they even found a Samsung phone charger at reception as mine had gone AWOL! Would go again tomorrow, if the weather was as good, 25c in beginning of October, shorts even at 10.30 at night. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor and traffic noise was muted although we kept shutters down and AC on low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Can't said thank you enough.!!!
Hope to welcome you soon again at the Grand and Royal
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel. Stayed one night in late September. Had room with a sea view. Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Great location. There is a very nice park behind the hotel. It is a large park. Can walk to everything. Train station is about 15 minutes away on foot. Excellent staff. Very nice outdoor pool with a bar. Drinks seemed reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer holiday next time.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent, comfortable hotel with superb staff and excellent location. Food was good (buffet not so good on the Saturday night), rooms great and spotless. Restaurant staff were lovely (Daniele sorted out my husband's meal (allergica latticini) and Alessandro was our waiter). All reception staff tolerated my attempts at Italian and also helped me out. Definitely going back there as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Traffic noise at front of hotel but this was offset by the beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Apologies dor the inconvenient on Saturday Buffet
Please don' t hesitate to contact us direct for further request!
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent 6 nights at this hotel. The location is superb-in front of the park and across from the beach. The hotel has an olde worldly charm about it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was big and comfortable,we were in an end room so had 2 windows - one overlooking the gardens. You can pay extra if you want a seafront view. The hotel is spotless. Breakfast was good- plenty of choice. We had a young child in our party and the area was perfect- lots of rides on the park and a clean beach to play on (small charge to go on the private beach but worth it) We were lucky with the weather and therefore the hotel had left the pool and pool bar open.( I think it normally closes in October) We had drinks in the hotel bar most night- loved the cocktails. We were very lucky with the price we paid through Expedia.
We landed at Pisa airport and got the Viareggio bus which was really cheap and stopped outside the hotel. Lucca is a short train journey away and Florence took an hour and a half to get to - also by train. The station is a 20 minute walk or a 12 Euro taxi ride from the hotel.
We loved Viareggio and this hotel and would love to go again.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you will have to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic hotel the décor and cleanliness were second to none. Just like stepping back in time but with modern trappings. Staff helpful nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was lovely in bright surroundings and plentiful. Pool area was spotless but you do hear traffic noise from the busy road behind the hotel. If we ever return to Viareggio we would not hesitate to stay here again. It is an imposing but friendly hotel that we highly recommend

Room Tip: We had a side sea room which meant you had views of the sea and mountains to the rear, there was som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the thorough review of our service and facilities and I am delighted that we performed so well!1
Hope you will return soon!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.