We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super hotel and lovely holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A super hotel and lovely holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a wonderful week at this lovely elegant well run hotel. Cant rate the place and its wonderfully helpful staff highly enough. How anyone could find breakfast boring is beyond me as I've never seen such a fantastic choice of food. Its not noisy either - we were near the front and it was impossible to hear anything through two sets of shutters and a heavy pair of curtains on a night! I'm a very very light sleeper but enjoyed a good nights sleep all week. There is nothing wrong with the bathroom fittings either! Some people really should get out a bit more and stop nit picking! Anyway congratulations to everyone at the Grand Hotel Royal. Special thanks to Marzia on reception - incredibly patient, very very helpful, perfect English and always a lovely smile!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
Thank you for the thorough review of our service and facilities and I am delighted that we performed so well., and tank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand and Royal.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    213
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
174
374
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maidenhead
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Grand Royal really is a grand hotel. All of the rooms are magnificent (bedrooms, dining room, reception, hallways etc.), and the staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is very good, with the beach just over the road. A previous review stated that the beach was charged extra - this was not the case for us. The beach was included as part of the holiday package. Although hotel guests can only use a certain part of Bagno Annita this was not a problem, even though the reserved section is not the nearest to the sea. The hotel pool is very large and was never crowded, although somewhat shady (cutting back some of the trees would help). There was never a shortage of sunbeds, and refreshingly the poolman would remove towels if beds were left unattended for too long. The only disappointment was the food, which was good but nothing to get excited about. There was a good range of food at the breakfast buffet every day, but it never varied. The dinner menu, a choice of various starters, mains and desserts, changed every night. If you like to have potatoes with your meat then you need to make sure that you order chips.

Room Tip: Standard side sea view rooms are exactly what they say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
I am sorry that you had a mixed experience in the dining room and breakfast but again, you persevered and were able to see past the minor lapses in our usual high standards
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal another time.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I rented an apartment for 3 weeks in Viareggio, a famous seaside resort in in Tuscany on the west coast of Italy but 3 days before my trip the apartment fell through. I had no choice but to find a hotel for 14 days in Viareggio a famous seaside resort in Tuscany on the west coast of Italy. I booked this hotel through booking.com. I guess I misread the price because it was given in Euro instead of american dollars. The hotel is a beautiful old hotel and I had a large room although the bathroom was so small that I had to sit sideways on the toilet! Breakfast was included but I found the breakfast to be boring. The same food every day and I have seen prettier
and more tasty breakfasts in small hotels. The hotel is right across the street from the beach. Beaches in this area are not free. You have to pay for a spot on the beach. However, despite the overly priced hotel, they did not even have a free area of the beach. Instead they had an agreement with one of the beaches so that a guest would only have to pay about $25.00 a day. The hotel does however have a beautiful pool.
The worst part of the trip is when I checked out. I thought I was paying $2,700 for 14 days but that was in euros. Based on the exchange rate it cost me an extra $1,000.!!!! The hotel caters to english speakers which guests might like although I prefer to speak Italian. I have to say the best part of the hotel is Guiseppe, the bartender, who is so personable and pleasant it makes a nice end to an evening,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Caterina,
Thank you very much your comments and apologies for any inconvenience caused, although we do feel that this was not due to any fault of the Grand Hotel Royal.
As we are based in Viareggio, Italy, the European currency is euros, not dollars. Prices would never be quoted in dollars so please take particular note in the future. Again, beaches in Tuscany are all independent and do charge upon entry.
We are disappointed to hear that breakfast was not to your liking - there is plenty of choice to cater for every possible requirement.
Finally, your comments regarding the accommodation were subject to opinion – you did, in fact, book a small room at a special rate clearly described as a small room with a small bathroom.
We do, however, thank you once again for your review and hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third visit and I'm happy to report the high standards have been maintained since our last stay three years ago.
The affable Marino Patruno heads an extremely professional and helpful team. The service at reception and in the restaurant is first-class and the standard of housekeeping is high.
The Royal is a very friendly, welcoming hotel serving excellent food and having a very pleasant, shady garden and swimming pool. It is nicely located opposite Viareggio's beautiful sandy beach. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team and the views from the room are some of the factors which helps your decision in returning . I will certainly share your comments with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel looks stunning from the outside and has an interesting history.
In fact it is the most beautiful along the whole promenade.
We stayed here for a week in room 227 - paying £230 per night for a large corner room with space for 3 to share (paid extra for our 9 yr old who slept on a large sofa bed) It has air conditioning, two balconies one facing the sea the other a side view of the mountains. Mini bar, in room safe, a hair dryer but I would take your own - it is in the bathroom and was very weak. TV, no iron or bath robes.
This room had a 30 ft ceiling height and tiled floors it was kept immaculately clean by housekeeping who come by after 1pm. They also provide towels for the pool and beach.
The room was a little tired not the 4 star elegance of a hotel we staying in Verona last year.
It does also face the road as well as the promenade and then the sea. Others on here have said how lovely this is unfortunately I am inclined to advise otherwise. It is an exceptionally noisy road - the main promenade is used from 7:30am ish to well after mid night (the restaurants and ice cream bars that are on the promenade before you even get to the sea are open until then some longer) and on market day (Thursday) they set up from 6am. Now we are not light sleepers we have lived in a city for many years however although the room has shutters and doors they are not double glazed and so it is very noisy.
We also tried to use room service 3 times for fresh milk and it never came.

On the plus side the hotel air port pick up service was excellent (70 Euros each way). The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The pool is always immaculately looked after and the life guard Massimo was very friendly and helpful as were the pool bar staff.

We only had breakfast at the hotel and this offered a wide variety of cold sweet savoury and hot food. We looked at the dinner options and found them to be too limited for our needs so ate out - there are lots of good restaurants to chose from.

This hotel appeared to have many returning guests there was a mix opinion as to whether the standards have declined some said yes others no - all agreed on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

There is ping pong and table football near the pool - at breakfast they have a little children's table where they put chocolate bars as small gifts for them - there is nothing else for children to do - no kids clubs or baby pool. We knew this and were happy that it was not geared around children - we mainly used the hotel as a base as it is easy to get by train to Pisa, Florence, Genoa etc.

This has turned out to be quite a long review - probably as we are undecided as to our experience - it was good - somewhere between a 3 and 4 trip adviser star ! We have stayed in Italy before and had expected more from the 4 star grading and have received far more too in the past. It wasn't up to our expectation however it was a nice hotel. It is not the high end of 4 star.
The hotel does offer free WiFi in our room ours only worked in the ensuite bathroom!! It was fairly slow.
In summary staff and friendliness, helpfulness and service (except room service!) are excellent - location wise excellent as a base on the central promenade so noisy ! Not a lot for children to do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisy and on the sides too as the hotel takes up a whole block. Room 227 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, particularly for the bad room service and the noisy coming from the main street,
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a week at this beautiful hotel on the promenade. It is a stunning building outside and inside, built in the early 1920s, yet typically of Italian hotels, has a Baroque feel to it. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast and dinner restaurants stunning. You can eat each evening in the garden restaurant if you wish or choose from myriad eating places on the prom.

There is a lovely swimming pool and small bar/café outside if you don't want to visit the beach where the hotel has a special deal with one of the private beaches.

We made use of the taxi transfer from Pisa airport which the hotel organises and adds to your bill. You can hire bikes from the hotel to explore the prom that runs for miles.

Overall, it was an extremely positive experience and we would definitely go back. However, there were one or two gripes. We thought the room prices were quite high compared with other Best Western hotels we have stayed in in southern Europe. Also, the bathroom fittings were not worthy of a four star rating. The shower screen was very cheap and the tap and shower fittings were coming away from the wall, which the cleaning staff should have noticed and informed the management.

Despite this, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but pay a premium for it. You won't necessarily get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a great pleasure to know that your holiday met your expectations but I would, however, like to clarify a couple of points:

The rates at the Grand Hotel Royal may be slightly higher in respect of other Best Western hotels but they are all independently owned so the rates will differ depending on location, building, service, etc. As you will appreciate, we are in a spectacular position, in the middle of Tuscany near to cities such as Pisa, Lucca, Florence and Siena.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope that you informed our staff about the problems that arose to enable us to fix them immediately.
Please advise us when you wish to return to the Grand Hotel Royal as we would like to take the opportunity in offering you a Special Deal.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
All the staff were excellent,at the reception,the pool manager/lifeguard,and in the dining room.
The bedroom and bathroom were a generous size,clean and functional.
Breakfast was very good,with an extensive choice.
The large swimming pool and gardens were very pleasant.
Congratulations to the manager and staff for this well run hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.