We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, traditional seafront hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, traditional seafront hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our third visit and I'm happy to report the high standards have been maintained since our last stay three years ago.
The affable Marino Patruno heads an extremely professional and helpful team. The service at reception and in the restaurant is first-class and the standard of housekeeping is high.
The Royal is a very friendly, welcoming hotel serving excellent food and having a very pleasant, shady garden and swimming pool. It is nicely located opposite Viareggio's beautiful sandy beach. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team and the views from the room are some of the factors which helps your decision in returning . I will certainly share your comments with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    215
    52
    18
    9
See reviews for
178
383
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel looks stunning from the outside and has an interesting history.
In fact it is the most beautiful along the whole promenade.
We stayed here for a week in room 227 - paying £230 per night for a large corner room with space for 3 to share (paid extra for our 9 yr old who slept on a large sofa bed) It has air conditioning, two balconies one facing the sea the other a side view of the mountains. Mini bar, in room safe, a hair dryer but I would take your own - it is in the bathroom and was very weak. TV, no iron or bath robes.
This room had a 30 ft ceiling height and tiled floors it was kept immaculately clean by housekeeping who come by after 1pm. They also provide towels for the pool and beach.
The room was a little tired not the 4 star elegance of a hotel we staying in Verona last year.
It does also face the road as well as the promenade and then the sea. Others on here have said how lovely this is unfortunately I am inclined to advise otherwise. It is an exceptionally noisy road - the main promenade is used from 7:30am ish to well after mid night (the restaurants and ice cream bars that are on the promenade before you even get to the sea are open until then some longer) and on market day (Thursday) they set up from 6am. Now we are not light sleepers we have lived in a city for many years however although the room has shutters and doors they are not double glazed and so it is very noisy.
We also tried to use room service 3 times for fresh milk and it never came.

On the plus side the hotel air port pick up service was excellent (70 Euros each way). The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The pool is always immaculately looked after and the life guard Massimo was very friendly and helpful as were the pool bar staff.

We only had breakfast at the hotel and this offered a wide variety of cold sweet savoury and hot food. We looked at the dinner options and found them to be too limited for our needs so ate out - there are lots of good restaurants to chose from.

This hotel appeared to have many returning guests there was a mix opinion as to whether the standards have declined some said yes others no - all agreed on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

There is ping pong and table football near the pool - at breakfast they have a little children's table where they put chocolate bars as small gifts for them - there is nothing else for children to do - no kids clubs or baby pool. We knew this and were happy that it was not geared around children - we mainly used the hotel as a base as it is easy to get by train to Pisa, Florence, Genoa etc.

This has turned out to be quite a long review - probably as we are undecided as to our experience - it was good - somewhere between a 3 and 4 trip adviser star ! We have stayed in Italy before and had expected more from the 4 star grading and have received far more too in the past. It wasn't up to our expectation however it was a nice hotel. It is not the high end of 4 star.
The hotel does offer free WiFi in our room ours only worked in the ensuite bathroom!! It was fairly slow.
In summary staff and friendliness, helpfulness and service (except room service!) are excellent - location wise excellent as a base on the central promenade so noisy ! Not a lot for children to do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisy and on the sides too as the hotel takes up a whole block. Room 227 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, particularly for the bad room service and the noisy coming from the main street,
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at this beautiful hotel on the promenade. It is a stunning building outside and inside, built in the early 1920s, yet typically of Italian hotels, has a Baroque feel to it. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast and dinner restaurants stunning. You can eat each evening in the garden restaurant if you wish or choose from myriad eating places on the prom.

There is a lovely swimming pool and small bar/café outside if you don't want to visit the beach where the hotel has a special deal with one of the private beaches.

We made use of the taxi transfer from Pisa airport which the hotel organises and adds to your bill. You can hire bikes from the hotel to explore the prom that runs for miles.

Overall, it was an extremely positive experience and we would definitely go back. However, there were one or two gripes. We thought the room prices were quite high compared with other Best Western hotels we have stayed in in southern Europe. Also, the bathroom fittings were not worthy of a four star rating. The shower screen was very cheap and the tap and shower fittings were coming away from the wall, which the cleaning staff should have noticed and informed the management.

Despite this, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but pay a premium for it. You won't necessarily get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a great pleasure to know that your holiday met your expectations but I would, however, like to clarify a couple of points:

The rates at the Grand Hotel Royal may be slightly higher in respect of other Best Western hotels but they are all independently owned so the rates will differ depending on location, building, service, etc. As you will appreciate, we are in a spectacular position, in the middle of Tuscany near to cities such as Pisa, Lucca, Florence and Siena.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope that you informed our staff about the problems that arose to enable us to fix them immediately.
Please advise us when you wish to return to the Grand Hotel Royal as we would like to take the opportunity in offering you a Special Deal.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
All the staff were excellent,at the reception,the pool manager/lifeguard,and in the dining room.
The bedroom and bathroom were a generous size,clean and functional.
Breakfast was very good,with an extensive choice.
The large swimming pool and gardens were very pleasant.
Congratulations to the manager and staff for this well run hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We spent a wonderful 5 nights in the Grand Royal to celebrate our silver wedding. We were upgraded to the Burlamacco suite which was a delight with views of the sea and the mountains, the hotel were also kind enough to leave a bottle of prosecco in the room on the date of our anniversary which was another thoughtful touch. We cannot thank the hotel enough for their wonderful gestures.
The suite was on two floors with a fantastic entrance hallway, it was very spacious with a lovely big bathroom, all very art deco and gorgeous. The bed was extremely big and comfortable and the bedroom and upstairs lounge were tastefully decorated. The air conditioning was very efficient and quiet, which is always a bonus.
The staff were so welcoming, friendly and professional it made our stay more enjoyable because of them all, especially the reception staff.
We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the beautiful ballroom, the food was delicious and there was plenty of choice. We really liked chilling by the pool, there was plenty of places to sun bathe and sit by the bar, we had lunch by the pool and it was very good.
We would thoroughly recommend the Grand Royal and we will definitely visit again, the sooner the better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
wow!!!!It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, it is much appreciated and I hope that you will do just that.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have found this hotel by chance and so happy we did! The atmosphere, the decor, service makes you feel like you are part of the movie. Great Gatsby that is! Every single detail is taken care of from kids menu to gluten free options. The lobby and the bar are extremely inviting! This hotel would be a perfect choice for a family holiday as well as romantic getaway as well as a destination wedding! The staff went above and beyond to cater to all of our needs and when we extended our stay we're able to to find a great room for is, despite being fully booked. I was very sad to go , absolutely hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, which make for great reading. I hope you will continue to choose The Royal as your home away from home, and please do make yourself known to the Staff who will go out of their way to look after you when you are travelling to Viareggio or Tuscany again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I must returned from a week in the Grand Hotel and absolutely loved it. Its a great old world gem directly across from the beach and well situated along the main promenade. Our room was a beautiful and very large corner room with sea and mountain views that were stunning. The reception rooms, bar area, restaurant and pool all just oozed charm and elegance without being formal or stuffy. And the staff were so friendly - if only every hotel was as enjoyable! Much recommended!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is always a joy to learn that we have made some special memories for guests to take away with them and cherish forever. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at The Royal.
We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you appreciated our efforts.
Best Wihes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.