We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan coastal holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tuscan coastal holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent a week at this beautiful hotel on the promenade. It is a stunning building outside and inside, built in the early 1920s, yet typically of Italian hotels, has a Baroque feel to it. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast and dinner restaurants stunning. You can eat each evening in the garden restaurant if you wish or choose from myriad eating places on the prom.

There is a lovely swimming pool and small bar/café outside if you don't want to visit the beach where the hotel has a special deal with one of the private beaches.

We made use of the taxi transfer from Pisa airport which the hotel organises and adds to your bill. You can hire bikes from the hotel to explore the prom that runs for miles.

Overall, it was an extremely positive experience and we would definitely go back. However, there were one or two gripes. We thought the room prices were quite high compared with other Best Western hotels we have stayed in in southern Europe. Also, the bathroom fittings were not worthy of a four star rating. The shower screen was very cheap and the tap and shower fittings were coming away from the wall, which the cleaning staff should have noticed and informed the management.

Despite this, we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but pay a premium for it. You won't necessarily get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    204
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
164
363
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
All the staff were excellent,at the reception,the pool manager/lifeguard,and in the dining room.
The bedroom and bathroom were a generous size,clean and functional.
Breakfast was very good,with an extensive choice.
The large swimming pool and gardens were very pleasant.
Congratulations to the manager and staff for this well run hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a wonderful 5 nights in the Grand Royal to celebrate our silver wedding. We were upgraded to the Burlamacco suite which was a delight with views of the sea and the mountains, the hotel were also kind enough to leave a bottle of prosecco in the room on the date of our anniversary which was another thoughtful touch. We cannot thank the hotel enough for their wonderful gestures.
The suite was on two floors with a fantastic entrance hallway, it was very spacious with a lovely big bathroom, all very art deco and gorgeous. The bed was extremely big and comfortable and the bedroom and upstairs lounge were tastefully decorated. The air conditioning was very efficient and quiet, which is always a bonus.
The staff were so welcoming, friendly and professional it made our stay more enjoyable because of them all, especially the reception staff.
We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the beautiful ballroom, the food was delicious and there was plenty of choice. We really liked chilling by the pool, there was plenty of places to sun bathe and sit by the bar, we had lunch by the pool and it was very good.
We would thoroughly recommend the Grand Royal and we will definitely visit again, the sooner the better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
wow!!!!It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, it is much appreciated and I hope that you will do just that.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have found this hotel by chance and so happy we did! The atmosphere, the decor, service makes you feel like you are part of the movie. Great Gatsby that is! Every single detail is taken care of from kids menu to gluten free options. The lobby and the bar are extremely inviting! This hotel would be a perfect choice for a family holiday as well as romantic getaway as well as a destination wedding! The staff went above and beyond to cater to all of our needs and when we extended our stay we're able to to find a great room for is, despite being fully booked. I was very sad to go , absolutely hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, which make for great reading. I hope you will continue to choose The Royal as your home away from home, and please do make yourself known to the Staff who will go out of their way to look after you when you are travelling to Viareggio or Tuscany again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I must returned from a week in the Grand Hotel and absolutely loved it. Its a great old world gem directly across from the beach and well situated along the main promenade. Our room was a beautiful and very large corner room with sea and mountain views that were stunning. The reception rooms, bar area, restaurant and pool all just oozed charm and elegance without being formal or stuffy. And the staff were so friendly - if only every hotel was as enjoyable! Much recommended!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
It is always a joy to learn that we have made some special memories for guests to take away with them and cherish forever. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at The Royal.
We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you appreciated our efforts.
Best Wihes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second visit to the Royal Grand five years after the first and we weren't disappointed. it's a lovely hotel with that feeling of old fashioned tranquillity and good service that we often hanker after but never seem to find. Like an ocean liner cruising along in the golden age of cruising! The staircase from the entrance foyer matches the hotel's name very well. The evening meals in the garden were just as we remembered and the service as pleasant and efficient and a couple of times the hotel hired a very good musician to add atmosphere. We had a side room with a sea view and balcony. Furnishing is simple but good quality if we had one critique it is that the bed requires an upgrade it seemed a little 'tired' but a very good size. When we needed to use it the aircon was very good. The beautiful ballroom where we ate breakfast and meals (when the thunderstorms came!) is a huge room but breakfast is great with so many people coming and going and whatever you fancy is there.

The swimming pool is great and there always appeared space around the pool to sit, it's a good size. Having lunch there is a nice way to spend time.

The bar is a well run and a pleasant place to finish the day.

The hotel has an arrangement with the beach you get access to it with deck chairs and it is opposite the hotel just a few minutes walk. Part of the holiday is the Italian approach to beach holidays very organised and family centred. Our deal included beach access so it seems a good idea to use it and as it is just a few mins well worth it. The beach (Anita) is very well organised, very clean facilities and has a nice beach café where meals are very reasonable and good value and you can top up drinks etc all day. Once you get on the beach you don't want to leave!

We didn't notice problems with tour groups, we were independent (as appeared quite a few others) and always found staff helpful generally reception were good. Indeed I think less tour groups use this hotel as five years ago. .

Room Tip: Try a side room as the front might be noisy if you prefer stairs floor one is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
Best Wishes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel with nice gardens and a swimming pool. The rooms are nice and roomy with tea and coffee facilities. The hotel is centrally located with the bus stop to Lucca literally at the corner of the hotel. We had a very good stay here but - and I hate to say this - I think the hotel and its staff are getting spoilt by all the tour groups with their meal deals and reps who sort out their trips and events. Staff at reception seemed to take more notice if you were part of a group rather than an independent traveller. Maps and information were pretty poor - as was information on using their beach partner. By the way don't. Go and find the beach location you want. It will probably be cheaper and also mean you can select where you sit. The hotel's beach partner has a set area where people from the hotel have to be - so you can't escape the hotel guests even if you want to! Breakfast was OK but pretty limited and after a few days boring. I'd stay again but only if the Villa Tina (virtually next door) was full.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again.
It is such a shame that you are left with this feeling from the hard working and highly trained staff. Shame has given you the wrong impression as it most certainly is not in our interest to look down on anyone. Everyone should be treated the same - as a VIP! I do however wholeheartedly apologise for any mixed messages you might have received and hope that you will return for another visit to the Grand And Royal.
I am also sorry that you had a mixed experience in the dining room!1
Hope to welcome you once again!!
Best Wishes
P.s
I adore Villa Tina, is very nice small Hotel 3 star with 13 room, but please you cannot compare The stunning Royal 114 room, outdoor area, Swimming pool, garden, privat parking 70 trained people staff and Villa Tina!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.