We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Grand Hotel in Viareggio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Chessington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very Grand Hotel in Viareggio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just arrived home from a fantastic break in Viareggio. The Grand Royal is situated about midway along the strip known as the `Passeggiata`! The Hotel and resort compliment each other so well, both have the Italian style , combining mordern with classic. The rooms are large with views of the sea in front and mountains behind. Breakfast was more or less whatever you wanted it to be, so much choice ! The grounds are beautiful with a large swimming pool and pool bar where you can order and eat your lunch. Lastly the bar is just what you require after a long warm day, with `Guiseppe `serving drinks from a list two pages long ! this Hotel is outstanding ! Bravo Bellisima Grand Hotel Royal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    229
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
182
401
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel and very well decorated. Shame that we didn't stayed on a room with sea view.
Was perfect to our trip and close to the centre.
Downside, the breakfast could be better specially the hot food.
Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just returned from this Hotel where we stayed for 7 nights. The hotel was very nice, the rooms were very simply but nicely furnished and very clean. You are given a free safe in your room and tea and coffee facilities. We had a room with sea view which was very nice and is highly recommended. We had half board, breakfast was very good but we were disappointed with with the evening meal, there was a buffet which lacked imagination and didn't look very appetising followed by three courses which lacked vegetables and were sometimes luke warm.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, particularly for the ievening mail and be assured that I have taken on board your comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with my team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible.
Hope to welcoming you once again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a beautiful building when you stand outside and look up. Stayed for three nights. The room we were allocated was devoid of fuss and frills but had a certain elegance. Staff helpful and friendly and all spoke very good English. A few niggles - The plug didn't fit into the sink plughole properly which meant that water escaped and my husband was unable to use the sink to wet shave. Also on one of the nights it was particularly noise in the early hours of the morning with the road outside being cleaned (not the fault of the hotel) and also noise from what sounded like the hallway outside our room being vacummed. The small cartons of milk provided with the complimentary tea and coffee in the room were "off" but these were replaced by reception without any problem. However the doughnuts and cakes provided as a choice at breakfast were out of this world! Compliments to the Chef! Despite these little hiccups would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Royal for your recent stay in and for taking your time to submit this review. Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments are thoroughly looked into.
I am glad that you enjoyed our “… breakfast and also staff performance …” I am very sorry though to learn that your experience in some other ways did not meet your expectations.
Hoping to welcome you again soon
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for one night only and were positively impressed! The hotel is in a imposing building, in a huge area with gardens and private parking, a few steps from the beach. The staff was very kind and friendly since the first moment. The room was big, with a very convenient dressing area and a well-sized bathroom. The old-fashioned furniture and decor are very elegant. Balcony has an incredibly beautiful ocean view. Markets, restaurants and stores are within a mile

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four - with 2 ocean view rooms. The hotel is a lovely charming old-fashioned place to stay. The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. The staff cannot do enough for you - you just have to ask....... Husband and son had brought their racing bikes with them so they could explore the local area - the hotel locked them away every night in one of the downstairs rooms and were extremely helpful. Breakfast and dinner were good - the waiters - like all of the other staff were extremely helpful - particularly worthy of a mention were Daniele, Nicola and the 'Maitre' ! We were also very touched by the fact it had been noted that we were celebrating 2 birthdays while we were staying there and returned after a day out to complimentary drinks in our room! Viareggio was a lovely beach resort & was excellent as a base to explore the surrounding area - we visited Lucca, Florence and Pisa from here (by train) - overall - a lovely place to stay for a family holiday!

Room Tip: Our side ocean view room was great - but in hindsight I would have paid extra for a room with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Hope to welcome you soon again
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We ended our two-week tour of Italy here, with a four night stay. The hotel was deliberately chosen so as to give us some R&R following a fairly hectic schedule. We were not disappointed. Excellent value (the week before Easter). Spacious room, good bathroom, useful dressing room area; all spotlessly clean. The staff are all very professional, and both the breakfasts and dinner to a very high standard. The town of Viareggio is lovely - what I might call a 'normal' Italian seaside resort, with none of the excesses of tourism found in some places. Lots of restaurants to choose from, though the hotel restaurant is excellent. We generally prefer to eat where local people go (in the town), so only ate at the hotel once. It was a real pleasure to be here.

Room Tip: We had a side room, and could see both sea and mountains. That worked for us (we love both!), but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.