We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned Italian loveliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Italian loveliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here 14 Oct 2013 for a week via Citalia, and thoroughly enjoyed being at this hotel. It was friendly and in a perfect location in Viareggio and had everything we needed.
We were half board and meals were good. Buffet breakfast had good choices incuding cereals, cakes, breads, meat, cheese, yoghurt. And bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs. Were led to believe you could order other eggs but were never offered, and to be honest we had plenty of choice anyway.
Evening meals were 4 courses including a salad buffet and good choice of popular Italian dishes. The waiters were very attentive and catered for every need.

Hotel staff were very helpful with transport arrangements and answering any local questions. Ask them for copies of bus timetables as nowhere else seems to have any. Bus stops are directly outside the hotel and in the road at the back of the property and we easily visited Pisa, Lucca and Pietrsanta on the bus. Buy tickets before you get on.

Rooms were of a good standard, ours was large, as was the bathroom. The tv only had one or two news channels in English, lots of other European channels. There was a hairdryer on the wall in the bathroom but it wasn't great so I wish I'd taken my own. There weren't many electric sockets in the room and weirdly we had to boil the kettle on the floor by the door.

It was too late in the season to get deckchairs on the beach and that was all a bit deserted, also the hotel pool was closed.
We annoyingly got bitten a few times. I think this was from walking through the park behind the hotel, so go prepared.

They kindly gave us another room to use when we had a late check out.
All in all would stay again

Room Tip: We stayed reasonably close to the lifts and they didn't seem to be a problem. The hotel didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday even out of season.
It was very fortunate that a complimentary room was available on the day of your departure – maybe because was end of season; the hotel is usually full and often, even at an additional cost, the rooms are not available for late check-out..
We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal again the future, maybe in summer time!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    208
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
157
355
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been coming to the royal for over 38 years and things just get From our own perspective we are rather biased but we do get chatting to other guests and the comments are usually most favourable and certainly in line with our own point of view. The staff are all so friendly from the porters and maids to reception and restaurant staff (not forgetting the poolside staff. The food is amazing and presented beautifully. Rooms are very well appointed and cleaned to a very high standard.

Needless to say we have just booked our trip for next aug/sep as we suspect quite a few others will.

tante auguri a tutti

alec and sandy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Alec and Sandy
38 years.. it's like a marriage! We are always so pleased to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal. You really do feel at home here.
Your comments are most appreciated, as always, and the reviews from our other guests also confirm your opinion. We have many guests who have been visiting the Royal for many years and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Very best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a lovely room on the fourth floor for the final three days of our fortieth anniversary trip to Italy. After the small, cosy room we'd had in Venice our room at the Grand was enormous with incredibly high ceilings.
The breakfast buffet was first class and the service excellent. We did not dine in the restaurant as there were so many restaurants to choose from close by. We did, however, spend our days by the almost deserted pool where we enjoyed delicious lunches in the poolside bar. There were always plenty of sunbeds and the pool was clean and well-maintained.
Each afternoon we felt it our duty to sample the organic gelatti at Grom - I can recommend the chocolate with chocolate bits!
I enjoyed browsing the Thursday market on the promenade, especially the Italian cashmere stall.
We pre-booked hotel transport to Pisa airport and that was well worth the money.
Go to the Grand and pretend you've gone back in time for a taste of opulent luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful, comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location. Thank you.
Hope to welcome you in the future
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Best Western Grand Hotel is indeed a very grand Grand hotel. We loved the spaciousness and the view from our 4th floor sea view balcony. The front desk staff were helpful and efficient. When we complained about the very hard beds they kindly added a layer of foam which made the beds much more comfortable. Breakfast was fine but our only suggestion would be to eat other meals elsewhere at the many trattorias and restaurants within comfortable walking distance. The hotel meals were overpriced and not very good, although the service was good and they had a good salad bar. Parking on their grounds is worth the small price. This hotel is a wonderful choice for sightseeing in the area, or for a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a sea front room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Royal for your recent stay in and for taking your time to submit this review. Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments are thoroughly looked into,we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
Please accept our apologies if any inconvenience caused about food in the restaurant we really don't think 30€ for 4 courses dinner are overpriced and 95% of report from our guest mark food quality are very good . I sincerely hope that you will give us a pleasure to welcome you again to Hotel in not too distant future and an opportunity to change your impression.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 25th Sept. Like so many others, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our seaview room on the 4th floor was a good size with comfortable twin beds and a decent bathroom. The shower was powerful enough for us.
The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. When I enquired as to how best to get to Lucca, the receptionist suggested the bus which stopped at the back of the hotel. She was aware that my Mum is a sprightly 80-something but that the walk to the station might be a bit much. Well after we realised how close the bus stope was, we were off exploring every day - a great way to see the country.
Although we booked B&B we ended up eating in the hotel every night (it was just easier). As non-meat eaters we were very catered for and the portions were more than adequate. We're not used to eating 4 courses.
A small point: the very elegant original windows do nothing to block out the sound of the street cleaners every night. This is easily sorted with those seasoned travellers friends - earplugs.

That said, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the seaview - every sunset was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

An elegant, sedate and really lovely old hotel. Four of us stayed there earlier this week and had a great time using Viareggio as a base for our adventures around Tuscany and Liguria. Big rooms, fantastic beds, cooked breakfasts and late nights in the bar. It was a perfect stay and great value. Thank you. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were overlooking the sea so that would be a must for me next time as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights from 4th October.The Hotel is as good as the previous reviews mention & everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the reception staff were very helpful & friendly as were the rest of the staff.The hotel is in a great location, bus stop right outside & about a 20 minute walk to the railway station.I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.