We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights from 4th October.The Hotel is as good as the previous reviews mention & everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the reception staff were very helpful & friendly as were the rest of the staff.The hotel is in a great location, bus stop right outside & about a 20 minute walk to the railway station.I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    208
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
169
366
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel from 1st October booked through Citalia. We had a 3rd floor front facing room with sea view and small balcony from which you get a view along the seafront in both directions and can watch the sun setting. Room was a good size with tall ceiling and had tea/coffee facilities and a minibar. Bathroom also large with double sinks but shower and hairdrier were not very powerful. There is a large reception area with sofas and a wide sweeping staircase. Reception staff all speak good English and were very helpful and pleasant. We ate in the hotel restaurant, portions were not huge but with 4 courses there was always plenty to eat and about 4 choices for each course. Food was a bit hit and miss, I couldn't get my knife through the porkbut the lamb, pastas and fish were excellent. Breakfast buffet was always good with plenty of choice. The hotel is a very good base for visiting Pisa, Lucca and Florence. We used the trains, the station about a 20 mins walk from hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at he Grand Royal and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the Grand Hotel Royal we felt a warm welcome. This is a beautiful 1900 Hotel with high ceilings, unpretentious drapes and comfortable furniture. With an hotel of this age there are some areas that need attention but on the whole I found the bedroom very comfortable with two nice chairs to sit in and a table as well as good beds and excellent drawer and hanging space. As expected the bathroom was good although it was difficult to move in the bath as it was rather narrow. There were plenty of bathroom accessories. The decor was a little bland and a picture on the wall would help. We had a second floor twin room looking out to sea (small balcony) and enjoyed the views across the bay in the late September/early October sun. The breakfasts were super, loads of choice and nothing was too much trouble. The best coffee we have had in a Hotel. We also enjoyed the evening meals (which we chose at breakfast) but that wasn't compulsory. There was plenty of fresh fish and salads. The swimming pool area is attractive and the nearby beach wonderful. We found all the staff excellent, helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. I could not fault the staff and the courteous way they spoke to us from the Porters upwards. In fact I would stay here again and again if I wanted to relax and read my books! One of our party required to see a Dentist and the reception staff were more than helpful, enquiring afterwards if everything was OK.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side of the Hotel are quieter as the main road runs past the front of the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful, comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location and our staff service. Thank you.
Hope to welcome you once again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel could use a little bit of updating, but overall it was very charming. And the balcony facing the water was amazing. Wished we had more nights there. Husband loved the breakfast! Parking was easy and the staff was truly exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team.
Hope to see you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved the hotel. Great ocean views. Easy walk across street to beach. Great gelato nearby. Awesome jacuzzi tubs. Open and spacious room. Breakfast buffet was great also. Nice selection. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with this kind wordsthanks – !!!
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much in this beatiful period hotel with its high ceiling, doorways and drapes and grand staircase. The room was large and appropriatly furnished and very clean as was all the hotel. The bed was large and medium-firm with extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobe. The bathroom was not so great however, although clean and well supplied the bath was low and narrow with the shower on the side and a wobbly shower screen which I gave up trying to use. Water temperature was difficult to control. The safe was inclusive in the price as was tea and coffee making facilities (an important feature to me).
The staff were great especially the waiters who take great pride in their proffessionalism and yet friendly, with a couple of real characters. Dinner was well presented, good and plentiful with a choice on offer, some dishes not as good as others though, and choice of sweet was quite limited. Breakfast was much the same every day with a fair choice but would have benifited from a little more variaty.
Worth a mention, we were given face flannels on request, and loaned a UK socket adapter and an umbrella. Its easy to overlook the garden and pool for a relaxing day in, with so much to go out for.
Viareggio is well positioned to explore Tuscany by rail aswell as having the benifit of the seaside, however the walk to the train station from the hotel is considerable (at least a mile), the buses are hourly and we were told take 20 minutes and taxis cost a fortune.
The beach just across the road from the hotel is fabulous and you have complimentary deck chairs and parasol on the reserved section. There is plenty more to discover like the harbour and the rugged beach behond that, and the huge woods behind the hotel for walking and cycling. If the boutiques on the main strip are a tad expensive then go to the permanent market area down by the harbour but a few blocks inland for some bargains.
I hope this review is constructive and informative.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with a sea view but no balcony. Although more expensive for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
We would like to clarify that taxi cost from Hotel to the Viareggio Train Station is 10€ and distance 900 Meters
Hope you will return soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this elegant art nouveau/ Liberty style hotel from 31 August - 14 September 2014. We are discerning holidaymakers who had decided to return to highly attractive Viareggio where we had honeymooned 39 years ago. The erstwhile owner of Glasgow's top Tuscan restaurant, Sandro Sarti, had over many years advised us to return to Viareggio and his parental hometown of Lucca as we had hitherto focused our Italian holidays on the fabled Amalfi coast and on taking cruises around Italy's many jewels like Venice and Taormina. The Grand Royal proved to be the most gorgeous of stays.

This hotel is twenties elegance personified with gorgeous bedrooms of huge proportions, an amazingly sophisticated restaurant with a period glass dome, and stately chandeliers, magnificent public spaces and sumptuous gardens surrounding a massive and very attractive swimming pool. The gardens were an oasis of colour: pink and red oleanders, sweet jasmine and purple bougainvillea bedecked the perimeter of the pool which was discreetly presided over by the ever- attentive pool man. The pool furniture was modern and sturdy: no cost had been spared to ensure sunbathing bliss.

The cleaning staff worked with diligence and a commendable work ethic to make this fine hotel spotless. Our amazingly high ceiling end bedroom was huge and had a magnificent bathroom. Both rooms enjoyed French doors, the bedroom's opening out into a small but functional balcony which attracted late afternoon sunshine. We had paid a relatively small supplement to have a side sea view room. The views across to the sublime beach and Mediterranean were terrific.

The food in this hotel was wonderful. Breakfasts were buffet style, taken in the spacious and elegant dining room, with everything the tummy desired from smoked salmon, a variety of lovely local cheeses, myriad breads and pastries, fresh fruit, cakes, toaster provided and fruit drinks.

The pool bar served lovely freshly made pasta dishes or light lunches as required which came prepared from the hotel kitchen. The two waiters on duty were attentive, spoke several languages and rewarded us with free mini chocolate ices with our delicious cappuccinos!

We had selected half board which we would commend to potential customers. Six nights a week there was a waiter service dinner comprising four courses. The choice of antipasti was amazing and was self- selected from a large island in the magnificent outside open dining area in the hotel's garden. The secondi choice was amazing: shell fish, soup melon and Parma ham..........

My wife and I had fish every night as it was so fresh and cooked in a simple but extremely tasty way. We had Mediterranean sea bass, bream, red snapper, salmon all simply cooked Tuscan style.

The desserts were to die for and my wife and I had to end up stealing a bit of each other's choice!

The waiters were assiduous in performing their duties which they did with humour and a "can do" attitude. They were smart, customer focused but also exuded a friendly and kindly disposition to guests.

The Thomson representative was a star: I cannot understand why this company has decided to leave bookings to its sister company Citalia. The Thomson visits to the extraordinary, stunning Amalfi- like Cinque Terre villages was a day trip of lifetime memories. Vernazza and MANAROLA were the stars of this beautiful necklace of villages which we visited on this trip by coach, train and boat. Awesome!

The Thomson day trip to arguably Liguria's answer to Positano: the horse- shoe fishing village of Portofino included a brief visit to the stylish resort of Danta Margherita Ligure from which we sailed to Portofino. The coastal scenery made us think that these two villages were indeed a little bit of heaven between the sea and the sky!

The hotel had a large and sublime section of the golden sandy beach and azure sea across the road from its front entrance for the private use of guests. This massive and very wide sandy beach was beautiful and backed by the majestic Apuane Alps which made for great photos. The helpful beach attendants

The reception staff were excellent too, providing maps of a Viareggio to enable guests to find the nearby bus station and railway station both of which we used to get to Lucca (one hour), the Renaissance capital of Florence (2 hours by train). Pisa is so very near too but we'd been there before. Florence is so easy to walk around and we met friends from our home area in West Sussex at the Ponte Vecchio to have lunch adjacent the church of Santa Croce.

We will return to this hotel probably in 2015.

Thank you Grand Royal team and we appreciated the Prosecco from the management for our thirty ninth wedding anniversary.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had room 130. Want it next time we visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
Many guests have booked with Thomson in the past and you can continue to book at the Grand Hotel Royal by contacting info@hotelroyalviareggio.it – all offers and future bookings can be dealt with through this office.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.