We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and individual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and individual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found the staff very helpful and informative when booking and asking advice about local restaurants. The pool was great in that it was one you could actually use for swimming lengths in.
The pool area itself was well laid out with numerous quality loungers so the whole sunbathing experience was not tainted with the worry of whether you be able to get a lounger. The breakfast was of good quality and the snacks around the pool were equally good. We were lucky enough that we were allowed a complimentary room on the last day because we were leaving in the early evening. Overall the rooms were comfortable with excellent air conditioning. Some might describe the hotel as dated but I would describe it as individual and not a 'jelly mould" as some modern hotels.

Alan M

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
It was very fortunate that a complimentary room was available on the day of your departure – the hotel is usually full and often, even at an additional cost, the rooms are not available for late check-out.
We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal again the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    208
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
158
357
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great hotel which lives uo to it's 'Grand' name. Very well kept pool with nice bar for drinks and 'light' meals. We had a lovely big bedroom, with views out to the front.
Restaurant was a bit restricting in that it only had a limited menu at a fixed price although you could have the cold buffet option for less money. It's not that child friendly in the restaurant so we ate out every night except one (we only had B&B anyway). There are numerous nice restaurants over the road on the promenade, some actually within the beach clubs.
Viareggo is quite upmarket and kept very clean. Beach is sandy but the sea had some debris in (non foul) which was a bit unpleasant. Behind the hotel, towards town, there is a park area in shade which has various attrations for children which is a nice option instead of the pool/beach. Tuscany has a wealth of culture with Pisa/Florence etc not too far away. Go to the opera if it's on! Would go there again.

Room Tip: Best to have a front facing room with sea/promenade views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. It is disappointing that you thought the restaurant ‘was a bit restricting’. We feel that the choice of six starters, six main courses buffet and selection of desserts is extremely good value for the price. If guests prefer to choose only one or two courses, they would pay for only one or two courses.
We are pleased, however, that you had an enjoyable holiday and hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal again in the future
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited this hotel late August with my husband and teenage son. It is the second time I have stayed at this hotel, as normally I like to go somewhere new every holiday, so this speaks volumes on how wonderful the hotel and the resort of Viareggio are. This time I felt that I had an even better room, which was on the corner and gave me a view of both the sea and the mountains. The hotel was of the same excellent standard as last time we were there. Others have mentioned the issue with getting a sunbed, and I guess it depends on what time of year you go, but I found no problems getting one. The great thing was you didn't have to get up early to reserve a bed, as the pool doesn't open till 9.30am. I think this is a good way of preventing people claiming them when they are not using them. I would like to point out a few minor changes that could be made though to enhance the hotel in my opinion. Firstly, the same background music was played it seemed every night at dinner; it could be a little monotonous and drove my husband nuts! We had live piano music one night of the two weeks we stayed and perhaps this could be something that is offered as a once a week treat. I also feel that the drinks and snacks around the pool area are a little expensive, which did put me off eating food there at lunchtime. As a family we would pop out to the backstreet Italian cafes, which I must point out are much cheaper than eating on the seafront. The food at the hotel was lovely though, especially the croissants at breakfast and the pastry style puddings in the evening. However I would suggest that variations could be given on the salad buffet. For example every night they had a plate of grated carrot on offer, they could vary it and chop them into chunks maybe. Also having a choice of potatoes on offer would have been nice, especially as they are rarely served with the meal. Hot fries perhaps for the children staying at the hotel would be a good idea, as they did offer a hot tray choice on the buffet each night. These are just suggestions that I feel could improve the hotel even further. Would like to give special mention to Mario the bar waiter and also to Daniel the waiter who served us one night and treated me like a proper lady! All the staff were very friendly though. I would love to come to this hotel again except for the fact that we have visited most of the area surrounding the hotel; otherwise I would return every year! I Highly recommend the Grand Royal; it is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 228 sleeps three and has a view of both the sea and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We continually strive to maintain our high standards, listening to comments such as yours regarding the buffet, for example. As you will appreciate, it is extremely difficult to please everybody but feel that our buffet does cater for all tastes. Italian meals do not always contain potatoes and, keeping with Italian tradition, we only serve them if appropriate with the dish. Fries are not the kind of food generally found on a buffet table, so we offer traditional dishes of fresh fish, shellfish, meat, salads and rice.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and would like to thank you once again for your suggestions which will certainly be taken into consideration.
We hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff at this Hotel are the best !!!! We keep returning to the Hotel and each time further developments are made to make your stay even better than before. (if that is possible?)
The location of the Hotel is ideal for enjoying both a beach holiday or using it as a base to visit all the fantastic sites of Tuscany.
The staff are really friendly and very professional - reservations are made to suit your needs by the competent Rosariamaria . All reception and restaurant staff can't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Paulo and Gianni are always at hand to help with a smile. The Restaurant manager Emmanuelle should be congratulated for the way he conducts his staff and the efficient running of meal times. The food is wonderful and in abundance. There is so much to choose from, particularly at breakfast and if anything runs out, it is immediately replenished.
The Hotel is extremely clean and the gardens are beautifully maintained. We hope to be returning again and again !!!!

Room Tip: You won't loose weight !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Marie,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share again your experience at The Grand and Royal
Best Wishes
P.s.
Mariarosaria (not Rosariamaria) and Emanuele with Paolo,Gianni and all the staff ask me to give
to you a very big thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks stunning, slightly set back from the road (unlike most) with gardens and seating in relative privacy. At the back of the hotel the gardens have seating in sun or shade then a decent sized pool surrounded by sun loungers, all served by an excellent bar. Inside the grandness and scale of the place continues everywhere, marble flooring, very high ceilings and many ornate features. Our room was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom and balcony. Huge range available at breakfast: breads, pastries, cooked, fresh fruit, meat cheeses, everything you could ever want. Dinner was usually in a covered area outside and always a variety of tasty salads to start and stunning puddings. Good options for the other two courses. As most guests went for dinner around 8pm it meant service was a bit slow at times. The greatest asset of the hotel is the staff - they are warm, friendly, welcoming, helpful, smiling, unobtrusive, always there when you want help or advice.

Cycles are available for hire from the hotel and lots of other outlets, and as the resort and surrounding area is so flat, exploring the pine woods, the town or nearby villages, is very easy and safe. Lots of cycle lanes but if you do venture on the roads, Italian drivers are very cycle friendly. I took my road bike (kept safe in a hotel store room) so I could explore mountains that backdrop the hotel: within 5-10 miles you can be climbing on a stunning quite road, snaking upwards for mile upon mile.

The beach on the other side of the road has a specific area for hotel guests (including deck chairs and umbrella) with changing rooms, showers and a bar. The promenade has a long line of shops, bars and ice cream parlours - great for an interesting leisurely walk.

We just loved the whole experience and are already thinking about booking another stay next year!

Room Tip: We had a front balcony room last year and a side balcony one this year. The side room balcony was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, it is much appreciated and I hope that you will do just that.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second year holidaying at the grand hotel and just as impressive. The staff, food and hotel were excellent yet again. We visited Luca using the local train station, hired bikes from the hotel to explore the area and went on an organised trip through CItalia. We also wanted to visit a vineyard and the hotel reception found a vineyard called cantine Basile which we got to by using the local bus outside the hotel. We were shown how the grapes were grown, how the wine was made and then had a selection of food whilst tasting their wines - a wonderful experience. All in all a lovely holiday and we look forward to visiting again next year.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to have a front sea view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you
Hope to welcoming you again soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent one week in this beautuful hotel and we were really impressed. The building is gorgeous and very well maintained, rooms large and comfortable with very romantic view. We enjoyed marvelous swimming pool with very cosy garden and great service of the barman. All the staff was really helpful and friendly and we send many greeting especially to Maria Rosaria and Emanuelle!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your feed back!
I will certainly share your comments with Mariarosaria and Emanuele .
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.