We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Five stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Deserves Five stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited this hotel late August with my husband and teenage son. It is the second time I have stayed at this hotel, as normally I like to go somewhere new every holiday, so this speaks volumes on how wonderful the hotel and the resort of Viareggio are. This time I felt that I had an even better room, which was on the corner and gave me a view of both the sea and the mountains. The hotel was of the same excellent standard as last time we were there. Others have mentioned the issue with getting a sunbed, and I guess it depends on what time of year you go, but I found no problems getting one. The great thing was you didn't have to get up early to reserve a bed, as the pool doesn't open till 9.30am. I think this is a good way of preventing people claiming them when they are not using them. I would like to point out a few minor changes that could be made though to enhance the hotel in my opinion. Firstly, the same background music was played it seemed every night at dinner; it could be a little monotonous and drove my husband nuts! We had live piano music one night of the two weeks we stayed and perhaps this could be something that is offered as a once a week treat. I also feel that the drinks and snacks around the pool area are a little expensive, which did put me off eating food there at lunchtime. As a family we would pop out to the backstreet Italian cafes, which I must point out are much cheaper than eating on the seafront. The food at the hotel was lovely though, especially the croissants at breakfast and the pastry style puddings in the evening. However I would suggest that variations could be given on the salad buffet. For example every night they had a plate of grated carrot on offer, they could vary it and chop them into chunks maybe. Also having a choice of potatoes on offer would have been nice, especially as they are rarely served with the meal. Hot fries perhaps for the children staying at the hotel would be a good idea, as they did offer a hot tray choice on the buffet each night. These are just suggestions that I feel could improve the hotel even further. Would like to give special mention to Mario the bar waiter and also to Daniel the waiter who served us one night and treated me like a proper lady! All the staff were very friendly though. I would love to come to this hotel again except for the fact that we have visited most of the area surrounding the hotel; otherwise I would return every year! I Highly recommend the Grand Royal; it is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 228 sleeps three and has a view of both the sea and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We continually strive to maintain our high standards, listening to comments such as yours regarding the buffet, for example. As you will appreciate, it is extremely difficult to please everybody but feel that our buffet does cater for all tastes. Italian meals do not always contain potatoes and, keeping with Italian tradition, we only serve them if appropriate with the dish. Fries are not the kind of food generally found on a buffet table, so we offer traditional dishes of fresh fish, shellfish, meat, salads and rice.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and would like to thank you once again for your suggestions which will certainly be taken into consideration.
We hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    215
    52
    18
    9
See reviews for
178
384
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff at this Hotel are the best !!!! We keep returning to the Hotel and each time further developments are made to make your stay even better than before. (if that is possible?)
The location of the Hotel is ideal for enjoying both a beach holiday or using it as a base to visit all the fantastic sites of Tuscany.
The staff are really friendly and very professional - reservations are made to suit your needs by the competent Rosariamaria . All reception and restaurant staff can't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Paulo and Gianni are always at hand to help with a smile. The Restaurant manager Emmanuelle should be congratulated for the way he conducts his staff and the efficient running of meal times. The food is wonderful and in abundance. There is so much to choose from, particularly at breakfast and if anything runs out, it is immediately replenished.
The Hotel is extremely clean and the gardens are beautifully maintained. We hope to be returning again and again !!!!

Room Tip: You won't loose weight !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Marie,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share again your experience at The Grand and Royal
Best Wishes
P.s.
Mariarosaria (not Rosariamaria) and Emanuele with Paolo,Gianni and all the staff ask me to give
to you a very big thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks stunning, slightly set back from the road (unlike most) with gardens and seating in relative privacy. At the back of the hotel the gardens have seating in sun or shade then a decent sized pool surrounded by sun loungers, all served by an excellent bar. Inside the grandness and scale of the place continues everywhere, marble flooring, very high ceilings and many ornate features. Our room was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom and balcony. Huge range available at breakfast: breads, pastries, cooked, fresh fruit, meat cheeses, everything you could ever want. Dinner was usually in a covered area outside and always a variety of tasty salads to start and stunning puddings. Good options for the other two courses. As most guests went for dinner around 8pm it meant service was a bit slow at times. The greatest asset of the hotel is the staff - they are warm, friendly, welcoming, helpful, smiling, unobtrusive, always there when you want help or advice.

Cycles are available for hire from the hotel and lots of other outlets, and as the resort and surrounding area is so flat, exploring the pine woods, the town or nearby villages, is very easy and safe. Lots of cycle lanes but if you do venture on the roads, Italian drivers are very cycle friendly. I took my road bike (kept safe in a hotel store room) so I could explore mountains that backdrop the hotel: within 5-10 miles you can be climbing on a stunning quite road, snaking upwards for mile upon mile.

The beach on the other side of the road has a specific area for hotel guests (including deck chairs and umbrella) with changing rooms, showers and a bar. The promenade has a long line of shops, bars and ice cream parlours - great for an interesting leisurely walk.

We just loved the whole experience and are already thinking about booking another stay next year!

Room Tip: We had a front balcony room last year and a side balcony one this year. The side room balcony was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, it is much appreciated and I hope that you will do just that.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second year holidaying at the grand hotel and just as impressive. The staff, food and hotel were excellent yet again. We visited Luca using the local train station, hired bikes from the hotel to explore the area and went on an organised trip through CItalia. We also wanted to visit a vineyard and the hotel reception found a vineyard called cantine Basile which we got to by using the local bus outside the hotel. We were shown how the grapes were grown, how the wine was made and then had a selection of food whilst tasting their wines - a wonderful experience. All in all a lovely holiday and we look forward to visiting again next year.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to have a front sea view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you
Hope to welcoming you again soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent one week in this beautuful hotel and we were really impressed. The building is gorgeous and very well maintained, rooms large and comfortable with very romantic view. We enjoyed marvelous swimming pool with very cosy garden and great service of the barman. All the staff was really helpful and friendly and we send many greeting especially to Maria Rosaria and Emanuelle!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your feed back!
I will certainly share your comments with Mariarosaria and Emanuele .
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After spending 7 summer holidays in Sorrento at the same hotel (Grand Hotel Capodimonte) over the last 15 years, (as we are creatures of habit and know what we like, and The Capodimonte/Sorrento is a fantastic hotel and resort), I had my fingers and toes crossed that The Grand Hotel Royal in Viareggio would meet with our high expectations - and it certainly did!

We spent 2 fantastic weeks here from 3/8 to 17/8 and really enjoyed ourselves.

We booked our flights with Jet2, and the hotel with Citalia so we could chose from either a side-sea view room or a full-sea view room with a balcony. We opted for the first and were allocated Room 330 (3rd floor and tucked away in the corner so was quite quiet as nobody walked passed it), which was absolutely fine for the money we paid in peak season. This bedroom is large and airy with 2 single beds pushed together, has a high ceiling, flat screen large TV, small table and 2 chairs, chest of drawers, 2 bedside cabinets in which there is a safe (free - you're given a key when checking in), air-con unit, a dressing room (no window) containing the fridge (complimentary tea/coffee and a kettle) and a chest of drawers/mirror, but no wardrobe (it has a hanging rail), which were all fine. There was a large modern bathroom with a WC, bidet, sink, single shower cubicle (overhead shower and wall mounted shower head) and wall mounted hairdryer (not brilliant) at the other end of the bedroom.

The towels were changed daily if you wished and so was the linen – you just left a card on your pillow if you didn’t want the linen changed and the dirty towels on the bathroom floor if you wanted clean ones. Two beach towels were left in the room each day to use the following day either on the beach or by the pool (you had to leave your dirty ones for the maid to take away), so you don’t need to take your own.

We were half board and the food was excellent. The breakfast room was large and airy and you sat where you wanted. The waiters came to take your tea/coffee orders and it was possible to order poached, boiled or fried eggs. You could help yourselves to the hot food which consisted of omelette, chipolata sausages and bacon. There were lots of cheeses to eat and cold meats, a toast machine, yoghurts, fresh fruit, jams (including home made), breads, croissants, muffins etc. Breakfast was served from 07:30 to 10:30 and it became quite busy from approx. 09:00 but we always found a table.

During breakfast you were asked if you would like to order your evening meal (not compulsory) and if so, were handed a menu. There were about 6 choices of starters and mains and about 4 desserts. The waiter then came back to take your order (you can choose your dessert at Dinner time); we found ordering at breakfast time better as the one time we didn't, they had run out of a particular dish (we did eat dinner late though - between 20:30 - 21:00). There is a Grand Buffet every Saturday which is great as you can try different foods and help yourselves to as much or as little as you wish.

You are allocated the same table in the outside Dining Room, so after your first night, you can just arrive and sit down and the waiter then comes to take your wine/water order (a litre of bottled water is 2 euros and bottles of red wine start at about 14 euros). If you don’t finish your bottles by the end of your meal, they are kept for you on placed on your table the following evening. The salad bar is amazing with lots to choose from; this is in addition to your starter. There are breads too and salad dressings (wasn’t too sure about the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce though!) We enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the lovely outside bar area in front of the hotel and again, if we couldn’t be bothered to go for a walk and drink along the promenade after dinner, we retired back to the bar, which closes at 1am. By the way, you sign for your drinks, however in the bar (and pool bar) you can pay for them straightaway by cash.

The hotel pool is large, not cold, but quite deep. The isn’t much of a “shallow end” and the lifeguard, Massimo walks around monitoring sun beds and lilo’s in the pool. He did have a couple of lilo’s which you could use, however we bought our own and he did stop my husband from using it late one afternoon as he said there were too many people in the pool – there wasn’t! He is also a stickler for telling you off if you leave your towels/personal belongings on your beds when you go to lunch, so be warned! He actually told another guest that we should only take 30 minutes to have lunch – there is nowhere where this is written down! Er, you tell that to all the Italian waiters – aren’t they renowned for their laid back, leisurely service! I didn’t actually see him move any towels but you felt like you were being told off by the way he looked at you; in my opinion, if he didn’t like you, you knew about it! I know he has a job to do, but he seemed to pick on certain culprits when there were lots of guests breaking his rules! Fellow guests agreed that the hotel needs to purchase more sun-beds (which are comfy) and place these around the pool (there was enough space for a few more) and in the garden, where the hammocks are, as we all agreed that it would have been nice to sunbathe in the garden away from the pool area. Unfortunately the pool area isn’t bathed in the sun all day; the left hand side is in the sun in the morning and the right side isn’t and it switches over from midday. The pool bar is nice and the iced coffee (3 euros) is really nice! We ate our lunch here once (so Massimo didn’t tell us off) and it was fine, but not as good value for money as at the beach bar!

We ventured to the beach on our first full day. It’s literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel, across the road (be careful to check the bike path before you cross that too!) The beach is called the Anita and on arrival there is a sign for Royal Hotel guests to check in. A nice gentleman showed us the changing room which Royal Hotel guests can use, the toilets, showers and then on the beach, the choices of where we could sit (2 deckchairs and an umbrella) which come in the cost of the hotel, for hotel guests. Unfortunately, the allocated chairs did not go right to the front of the beach, but were about half way back and then back towards the hotel. There are plenty to choose from and if you want a sun-bed it will cost another 10 euros. The sea was warm and we only spotted a few jellyfish so they didn’t put us off going into the sea. The beach sellers are annoying as they walk up and down in between the deckchairs selling fake handbags, sunglasses etc and if you’ve not got your eyes closed they ask you if you want to buy from them; it became tedious after a while! The beach bar attached to the Anita beach is really good and we ate there nearly every day, even when we weren’t on the beach. I think a large Moretti beer was 6 euros and a coke/soft drink was 4 euros. The sandwiches and pizzas are good value for money.

The hotel staff are very friendly and always greeted you with a smile and a “hello”. Reception called our Citalia rep (Danny) for us as we wanted to book trips to San Gimignano/Siena and Portofino; these are not cheap, but worth a visit. We went to Lucca ourselves on the train (13 euros return) and the train station is about a 20 minute slow walk away. Lucca is lovely too. We also caught the local bus to Forte Dei Marmi as they have a local market on Wednesday mornings. It’s the most expensive market I’ve ever been to! 250 euros for non-designer leather handbags, cashmere poncho’s etc. There were cheaper things and a lot of designer copies such as Ralph Lauren Polo. It was packed and I was glad to get out!! Forte Dei Marmi is a lovely place with all the designer shops but everything is more expensive than in Viareggio, however, it’s worth a visit.

There is a local market along the promenade in Viareggio every Thursday morning which isn’t as expensive as the one in Forte Dei Marmi and again, is worth a visit.

Viareggio is a lovely resort and we will return and next time we will hire bikes, spend time in the pinewood behind the hotel and explore the town centre more; it was so hot during our visit that we couldn’t be bothered/didn’t have the energy, however, taking a power walk on the promenade at 8am most mornings was lovely as it wasn’t too hot at that time, and all the Italians are out jogging, walking or cycling too.

During our stay there was a carnival which we watched from a sea view balcony and it was amazing! The promenade was packed and traffic was banned to allow the 4 amazing floats to pass by. The music was great and everyone had a great night and the music etc had stopped by midnight at the latest. The following day was a Public Holiday so at 7pm the hotel laid aperitif’s on, in the garden by the pool. Everyone got dressed up and the food was fantastic, oysters, parmesan cheese, mussels, carpaccio and lots of different types of nibbles and there was complimentary processco and bucks fizz too! It was lovely to mingle with other guests before our evening meal.

All in all, this hotel is fantastic and I would highly recommend it. I think we were lucky with our room, as other guests said theirs was small and at the back of the hotel, so it’s a case of “you get what you pay for”. We met some lovely people and would like to thank the hotel staff for making our holiday one to remember for all the right reasons. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Book a side sea view room or sea view and higher up to take advantage of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely, clear and detailed review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Grand Royal in Viareggio. This was our 4th return to this hotel, and it was perfect. The staff of this hotel is friendly, competent, and accommodating. The weather was perfect and the easy access to the sandy beach is a plus. The rooms are very adequate, breakfast was very good every day, and the pool is beautiful. The staff gave us great restaurant suggestions and was helpful in getting reservations on the weekends. Access to the Pisa Airport, and the hotel shuttle, made travel much easier. We have tried to find a better place to vacation, but this is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Sea View is a little more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, which make for great reading. I hope you will continue to choose The Royal as your home away from home, and please do make yourself known to the Front of House team who will go out of their way to look after you when you are travelling to Viareggio or Tuscany again.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;