We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“living like a local under the tuscan sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“living like a local under the tuscan sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Grand Royal in Viareggio. This was our 4th return to this hotel, and it was perfect. The staff of this hotel is friendly, competent, and accommodating. The weather was perfect and the easy access to the sandy beach is a plus. The rooms are very adequate, breakfast was very good every day, and the pool is beautiful. The staff gave us great restaurant suggestions and was helpful in getting reservations on the weekends. Access to the Pisa Airport, and the hotel shuttle, made travel much easier. We have tried to find a better place to vacation, but this is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Sea View is a little more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, which make for great reading. I hope you will continue to choose The Royal as your home away from home, and please do make yourself known to the Front of House team who will go out of their way to look after you when you are travelling to Viareggio or Tuscany again.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    208
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
158
356
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned to from another fabulous week at the Grand Royal in Viareggio. If the world wasn't such a big place we would be happy to holiday here every year. We made a special request for a particular room and whilst they couldn't guarantee at the time of booking, they did manage to oblige and we were absolutely delighted. Its difficult to find any faults with this hotel or its staff. The rooms are pleasant, the food is magnificent, nothing is too much trouble for them. gardens and pool area are beautifully kept and the beach is literally 2 minutes over the road. First class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we cannot always guarantee an upgrade, when we are notified and there is availability, it is as much our pleasure to deliver the surprise, as I am sure it is to be on the receiving end of it. I am delighted to learn that we were able to thrill you in this way and that your stay was another success.
Don't be disappointed if one time we have not possibility to upgrade you!!
Hope to see you again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Royal with my husband, 2 young children and my Dad. We had a fantastic and relaxing time at this hotel. The decor inside is beautiful and the outside grounds are set out in such a way as to be very relaxing. We all enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks. The room that we had was large and felt spacious and the view from this room was gorgeous. We had a view of the sea on one side and the mountains on another. The noise from the road did not course a problem at all as the shutters and windows shut any traffic noise out.
The location is great being opposite the sea . It was lovely as well to relax by the pool .
The breakfasts had a large choice . I particularly liked the fresh fruit and the cheeses. We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel but the menu looked great and the dinning room is one of the nicest I have seen set outside but with draped material for cover.
One of the best things about this hotel was the staff. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and this added to our wonderful stay. They also were great with the children. I hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am genuinely thrilled that we scored so high with you! Thank you for the superlative comments which are much appreciated and always passed on to the hard working staff. Hospitality really is a team effort and the various departments at The Royal work over and above the call of duty to ensure each guest interaction is a special one. I hope you will return on another occasion.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is indeed a Grand Hotel & the staff are trained to match; nothing is too much trouble & everything is professional & friendly. Reception gave us some great recommendations for restaurants, breakfast is a very extensive buffet although the fresh fruit juice is horrible! No idea what it is, but it's not fresh...Yes, the pool opening hours are short, I was disappointed not to be able to swim before breakfast but it's also outside & unheated, so realistically I probably wouldn't have tried it anyway before the sun was well up! Sitting outside in the evening for a pre-dinner cocktail feels like being on the set of an old black & white movie. I loved it. Room was OK - not boutique or swanky but perfectly clean & well appointed.
Internet is annoying as you have to log in with the hotel password every time you want to use it & it was pretty slow.
Main quibble was the parking & be warned; to park at the hotel costs an extra 15 euros per day. I thought this very expensive on top of the cost of the room, which is not cheap. We were there in July; at the weekends it is impossible to find anywhere near to park on the road (and you would have to feed the meter after 8am. Who wants to do this on holiday?)
Fine if you're part of a coach trip or arriving by train, but with a car, it adds 105 euros to the price of a week's stay.
Location is great, right on the prom, and there are some superb restaurants in Viareggio. Just remember the Italians don't do beaches like the UK, expect miles of private beach clubs where you pay for loungers, parasols etc. It's different.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this property for 1 night only during our Tuscany tour. First impression from is really great, the view from outside is so wonderfull. Check in prosscess was very quick.
Room quality - we have ordered a deluxe seaview room. The furnitere and equipement was quite old fashioned, we have expected a little bit more for 225 EUR for 1 night stay.
I was really shockhed that outside pool is open only to 6 PM and from 09,30 AM. If you are a business traveller, there is no chance to use it. You have only an option to visit a beach opposite the hotel, but during our stay we have an accident with jellyfish, the sea was full of them and that is why no one was swimming there.
Breakfast was rich with a goof service, it has been the best value for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for your kind feed back,
It is a shame that the hotel received an average vote considering that you stay only 1 night.
Hope to welcome you once again for more days
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel back in late May and we found it a great place to stay. It is in a 1930's "Grand Style" and our room was large, airy and very comfortable. The housekeeping was excellent and the overall standard of the hotel was brilliant. OK the bathroom was a little dated and could have done with a refurb, but it had everything you need. I certainly wouldn't let that detract from our stay.

Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the delightful garden and this is a bonus. Whilst the rooms at the front have a good sea view, the main road outside can be a little noisy at times.

The shady garden is a great place to sit and relax and there is a bar by the pool to get drinks and refreshments.

The food in the restaurant and breakfast room is first class and you couldn't wish for better service. The staff are uniformly helpful and I could not have wished for a better place to stay. Thoroughly enjoyable.

A great place to travel around the region as the hotel is an easy 15 minute walk to the rail station so you can get to Luca and Florence. Yo u can also get local buses to Pisa and a variety of smaller towns. All in all a great holiday, made even better by this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful, comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location.
Thank you.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose this hotel a bit last minute and we are really happy we did! When booking the parking, we let the hotel know we would love to have a sea-view room and to let us know if they became available.

When we arrived at the hotel, the reception let us know that they were giving us a free upgrade to a sea-view room. And this was just the beginning of a wondering stay in this hotel.

If you come with a car, booking the parking is quite a must during the high season to avoid any hassle. Very practical.

The hotel has an agreement with one of the beaches which is definitely helpful as almost all of them are private...

1. The location is great - right across the beach and from Viareggio, we visited Siena, Pisa, Florence, Lucca and San Gimignano.

2. The staff is very helpful, nice and the service is amazing! From the reception to Andrea at the pool bar, to the cleaning ladies, and the "evening" bar.

3. Very relaxing. The pool and the pool bar is in the back of the hotel, and one can simply relax either by the pool or on the grass with a book, a drink, a game...A perfect location to forget about work and simply enjoy.

4. The breakfast buffet is delicious. The coffee is very good, the staff is here again very attentive and there is something for everyone.

5. The room had a dreamy view...and was quite big for being "standard"...The bathroom had a small but functional shower and was also large.

We will definitely be back! :)

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are in the front of the hotel - we didn´t have any issues with the noise (except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Alex,
Describing your stay as wonderful is as good as it gets, and I cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience with us. I am very grateful to you for taking the time to single out those who particularly shone out for you, and your comments have been passed on to the various departments necessary.
Thank you - I hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.