We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall we enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Offers for every need
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Overall we enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good location, in the middle of the town, overlooking the sea. Within walking distance of plenty of shops,restaurants and cafes,. We got a sea-view room and it was worth it. Very helpful staff, especially the those working at reception. Lovely pool at the back of the hotel, enjoyed the quiet relaxation of it, though it was pretty cool (temperature-wise) as its heated by the sun. Room and Bathroom spacious and very clean. Breakfast was good, plenty of selection, though fresh orange juice and a better quality coffee would make all the difference, Dinner at night there was disappointing, food had a mass-produced quality about it, and not very tasty. there are way better dining options in the town, (and better value too). I would go back there thought, it was kind of charming and old-fashioned without being jaded, and the good service was a strong positive for the hotel

Room Tip: Sea-view room is worth the splurge, but crashing waves can be a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the thorough review of our service and facilities and I am delighted that we performed so well. I am somewhat perplexed at your comments regarding the Restaurant, to be honest, 30€ for a full dinner with a good quality and good service in a very nice open pavillion i think is almost accetable, however I hope you will come again.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    231
    56
    19
    10
See reviews for
186
410
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Some previous reviews criticized the staff. We found them all helpful, dedicated and very friendly. Our 2nd visit to this Hotel in 3 years. The food was as good as last time, excellent pre dinner buffet, and ordered food well presented and good quality. The restaurant staff was very efficient, replacing buffet dishes promptly.
Yes, the hotel is a little dated in parts, but this brings the opulence of the past. If people want a new block type of hotel, I'm sure there may be a faceless building being developed somewhere! So go there!!!
I was a little disappointed with the local tax.If tourists are spending money in Italy, don't push it. Otherwise the tourist will not go. We were charged an extra 42 euros on the hotel bill for a week.
And the tax was not the top rate at the Royal. It is not included in the package deals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
For the City Tax i am very sorry but this is a question where we have no fault and i asure you we constantly report complain about to the City Council
Hope you will return again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I picked this hotel at random for a 4 night stay as I am a Best Western member. The hotel is old but well maintained and fully modernised including tea/coffee making in room. We had a problem with the air-conditioning on the 3rd day. The hotel maintenance staff were unable to fix so we were offered another room to sleep in that night. The problem was major and we were given another room of even better quality for our 4th day and night. All staff, from cleaners through to the management could not have been more friendly or helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would happily return and unreservedly recommend it to anyone looking for a quality stay at reasonable cost and a wonderful seaside location.

Room Tip: If like a sea view, pay the extra, top 5th floor great view. 2nd floor has balconies and still a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be comfortable with excellent service. It was also great to hear that you loved our location. Thank you.
Hope you will return
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week in July with family and the whole week was wonderful. The hotel staff are all very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and can help you with any trips you might want to do or places you want to visit, in Viareggio or in neighbouring places. As well as that, the staff are all very friendly and welcoming and I couldn't rate them highly enough.

For breakfast, there is a continental style buffet with hams and cheeses, as well as pastries (which are delicious!) We also chose to have lunch at the hotel, which was served by the pool. This was quite popular, as the tables were always full, and rightly so! The food was great and the service by the pool always. (Seafood pasta is excellent!) For dinner you can choose your meal at breakfast, which is easier. The three course meal is delicious and there is a buffet in case you aren't quite full!
The hotel also sort you out with beach umbrellas if you want to use them, and there are bicycles to hire should you want.
The rooms (we had three, altogether) were all nice, with air conditioning and large windows.which open on to lovely views. The best views are on the sea front, but if you are on one of the higher levels at the side or back you also get a really pretty view of the mountains and garden, which in my view is just as good as the front view! The rooms were also cleaned to high standard, in fact I tried to make my room tidy in the mornings (the cleaners come every day) but somehow they managed to make it even tidier! All in all we will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are good, but beware that the main road in front of the hotel can be quite noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team and the views from the room are some of the factors which helps your decision in returning . I will certainly share your comments with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and the ceiling, very high, gives a beautiful brightness. The hotel areas are very well cleaned and the staff is cordial. Breakfast is served in the main restaurant area and has a lovely buffet. The only disadvantage lies in the restaurant opening hours: in summer time, in a location such as Viareggio, the kitchen closes before 10pm.
Close to the city and just opposite the shores.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago and we were a little disappointed.But what a transformation!The rooms were very clean cool and comfortable,the food standard and choice was very good and service great.In particular the reception staff were so helpful in sourcing travel information and tips on places to visit.Their beach was fantastic along with the pool area. We used local buses and trains to get around and they were reliable and inexpensive.Places to go:Cinque terre,Luca,Montecatini,Florence,and Genoa.Try Pietrasanta by bike hired from Hotel

Room Tip: Try a side room partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Kim,
yes, we did a good job in the last 5 year!!!Thank you for your kind feedback, is also exactly Viareggio and the Grand and Royal is a good choice to explorer Tuscany and its wonderful Art Cities.
Hope you will return once again
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my 6th visit to this lovely hotel which has an elegant and charming ambience. The staff, from the front desk, transport, portering, room servicing,bar and restaurant staff cannot be commended too highly for their excellent and friendly service.The hotel is obviously well managed as the same high standards are maintained year on year.
Both breakfast and evening meal were of the highest standard with a great choice of fresh locally sourced produce prepared in typicalTuscan style. mmm. delicious!
Special thanks to Marino, Emmanuele, and Giuseppe for their particular kindness.
The numerous people that I recognise from previous years that re-visit this hotel speaks volumes for its quality. Will I return? No Brainer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very genuine of you to remember the names of the individual staff members who helped you to retain such warm thoughts of your stay at The . I completely understand why you might have singled out these particular members of staff, as they are all integral components contributing to what I believe is a highly efficient team effort. I will ensure that they are all aware that you have recognised them in this way, and I have no doubt they will do their utmost to look after you on your next visit. Enormous thanks for your kind words.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.