We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Traditional gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed w/b 15/6 in sea view room half board for a week. The hotel acknowledged all of our requests, which was great. The room had enough space and was adequate for our needs. Cleaned to a high standard daily. Reception were excellent in rectifying an issue, providing local information and helping with extra items for room. Food and drinks were excellent. Enjoyed the outside evening dining ambience. Simple lunch menu, but fantastic choice of varied foods each evening. Salad buffet immense. Service at dinner delayed towards end of trip-they were working under pressure. Everything you need at breakfast. Wines good value and cocktails thoroughly sampled. Easy 15 min walk to railway to explore cities. Hired bikes for the day from hotel to explore locally-what a blast. It was hot when we were there, so spent hours in their lovely pool doing lanes. Garden beautiful for cool down on hammock. Met some lovely people and enjoyed drinks/cards every evening outside in the evening sun. Glad we came, would reccomend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very genuine of you to call our hotel a Traditional Gem!!!
It is also very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
Hope to welcome you soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    229
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
182
401
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at Grand Hotel Royal In June for a week. Very traditional hotel with lovely gardens, Book a seaview room for an amazing view along the coastline - we stayed on the third floor and there was no problem with any traffic noise. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of fruit pastries and cereals, hot food was not so appetizing. However the restaurant was very warm and could have done with some air conditioning. We stayed on half board basis and dinner was served on the terrace and it was very pleasant to sit outside on an evening, Meals were good with a biffet first course followed by three further courses served to your table, The pool area was pleasant and there were plenty of sun loungers and parasols. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Opt for a seaview and if on third floor or above trafiic noise not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself & my husband spent a wonderful week at the Grand Hotel Royal in Viareggio.It was a holiday to celebrate my 50th birthday..After reading the excellent reviews prior to the holiday,my expectations were high and we were not disappointed..The hotel and staff were wonderful We had a lovely big room,with a side sea view,which was a surprise.The staff were so friendly and attentive and the hotel charming.Everything,including the rooms,were immaculate.The food was delicious. I was a travel agent for 27 years and i have been lucky to have visited a large number of hotels throughout the world and this hotel is one of my favourites. Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The Browns. St.Leonards-On-Sea.East Sussex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest , thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal.
Hope to welcoming you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a very enjoyable ten day holiday in this lovely charming hotel. All the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Our requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We had a sea-view room on the 4th floor, which was excellent. Breakfast was very good with a variety of fruit, cereals, bread, danish pasteries, cold meats and cheese, yoghurt and also some hot food.
Lunch in the pool area is very enjoyable and tasty. We had dinner on the first and last night of our stay, Staff are very friendly and nice, but there did seem to be a longer delay in serving food on our last night. Perhaps there needs to be an additional chef so that guests don't have to wait a long time for each course to be served. Having said that the food was delicious.
The garden and pool area are very nice and there are two hammocks in the garden under the shade of the trees, which offer respite from the heat of the warm sun. The hotel is very convenient to the beautiful beach across the road. The hotel can arrange excursions to various places of interest, - Pisa and Lucca, Siena and San Gimignano, Florence, Portofino and Cinque Terre. It is easy to take a bus independantly from the bus station (20 mins walk from hotel) to Pisa, etc. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and it is very easy to take a bus trip to Forte de Marmi, further along the coast to the north and do some shopping in the many designer shops. Viareggio is a lovely resort and we would stay in this fantastic hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is always delightful to read that a guest intends to give us their seal of approval by wanting to stay again. Thank you, your comments is very appreciate and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have always found that different ways of life in other countries have good or indifferent effects on us and we try to see the best in people wherever we visit. Viareggio is a very pleasant place to be for a while and has a calm and relaxing feel to it. We used public transport, trains and buses to visit Florence, Lucca and Pisa and were met with good manners and politeness from the staff looking after us on our journeys. - Wandering around the towns little streets and ally's was enjoyable as we could stop for something to eat or drink with the locals all of whom greeted us with a nod or smile. There is a warmth about these people. Given that Italian people have a flair for fashion and style it was refreshing to see that in Viareggio,where there are designer clothes shops along the main seafront area, people who were were strolling along dressed in expensive garments/dresses ect: had no so called "bling" attitude at all, they were just enjoying life. They do not need to dress to impress! We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal which was built in the 1920's and has all the elegance and class you would expect from that era in the open spaces overall. Our room was large and a little basic but very functional and there were a few knocks and scrapes here and there but just think of all the amazing and interesting people who over the many years may have spent a few hours resting there. We thought it added to the charm. The hotel staff who dealt with us all spoke English an we had no issues with communication at all throughout our stay. As usual, as in any hotel, there were a few little niggles along the way but nothing major and if you can see into the bigger picture you will find this hotel meets it's critic's head on. So, Viareggio and the Grand hotel Royal. Would we visit again? Yes we would.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very satisfying to read such a positive review from a guest and yes, we hope you will return up! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand and Royal
best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have read many reviews of this hotel and noticed that some people say they were disappointed for whatever reason. I would like to say that I have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. The Grand hotel royal is typical of italian culture, architecture and tradition. It is not a resort hotel. The service is individual, with attention paid to every detail. The food is tuscan/italian cuisine and this is one of the reasons for visiting. If people wish for deluxe, modern buildings and international cuisine - they should be visiting another country. The Grand Hotel Royal is a perfect example of top quality service and staff, set in a traditional italian setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, and it is very true, here you didn't find luxory but only attention to all our customer, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

just spent a week in this hotel with my husband and we loved it. We had a sea-view room on 5th floor which was very comfortable, air conditioning necessary and very efficient. Bed linen and towel changed on a daily basis if required. The room could have benefitted from a touch of paint here and there but that's being picky. Noise from the sea and road could be a problem on a lower floor but no problem for us. The hotel is quaint and very well maintained, if we had seen Miss Marples or Poirot walking down the beautiful staircase we would not have been suprised, its that kind of era.
The staff were friendly, the pool and garden were lovely and the lunches by the pool extremely good. Breakfast was very good with good choices of fruit, cerals, bread, cakes, yoghurt and a big selection of cheese and cold meats. Hot food was limited but still very good. We never ate dinner in the hotel but choose to eat out in the seafront restaurants which were excellent and reasonably prices. Viareggio is busy with a beautiful beach and lovely promanade with very expensive designer shops. Bicycles can be hired from the hotel and this is worth doing as cycling is safe on the cycle lanes and great fun. We would both go back to Viaraggio tomorrow and stay at this hotel. It ticked all our holiday boxes.

Room Tip: seaview rooms with a balcony are the most expensive but noise from the road could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location. Thank you.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.