We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have read many reviews of this hotel and noticed that some people say they were disappointed for whatever reason. I would like to say that I have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. The Grand hotel royal is typical of italian culture, architecture and tradition. It is not a resort hotel. The service is individual, with attention paid to every detail. The food is tuscan/italian cuisine and this is one of the reasons for visiting. If people wish for deluxe, modern buildings and international cuisine - they should be visiting another country. The Grand Hotel Royal is a perfect example of top quality service and staff, set in a traditional italian setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, and it is very true, here you didn't find luxory but only attention to all our customer, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    229
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
182
401
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

just spent a week in this hotel with my husband and we loved it. We had a sea-view room on 5th floor which was very comfortable, air conditioning necessary and very efficient. Bed linen and towel changed on a daily basis if required. The room could have benefitted from a touch of paint here and there but that's being picky. Noise from the sea and road could be a problem on a lower floor but no problem for us. The hotel is quaint and very well maintained, if we had seen Miss Marples or Poirot walking down the beautiful staircase we would not have been suprised, its that kind of era.
The staff were friendly, the pool and garden were lovely and the lunches by the pool extremely good. Breakfast was very good with good choices of fruit, cerals, bread, cakes, yoghurt and a big selection of cheese and cold meats. Hot food was limited but still very good. We never ate dinner in the hotel but choose to eat out in the seafront restaurants which were excellent and reasonably prices. Viareggio is busy with a beautiful beach and lovely promanade with very expensive designer shops. Bicycles can be hired from the hotel and this is worth doing as cycling is safe on the cycle lanes and great fun. We would both go back to Viaraggio tomorrow and stay at this hotel. It ticked all our holiday boxes.

Room Tip: seaview rooms with a balcony are the most expensive but noise from the road could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be comfortable, excellent service and breakfast was to your liking. It was also great to hear that you loved our location. Thank you.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked in at this hotel some time ago having read the reviews in tripadvisor, On arrival we were disappointed by the surly approach of the reception. We do not speak Italian and were made to feel awkward and less than valued as young couple with a baby The first room we were offered was not clean and the furnishings were in. need of repair We waited some time but was eventually given another room that was ok but we were never offered an apology. The breakfast was good whilst the service at dinner was shocking eg slow and not very nice food. I think the hotel is not typical of Italian hospitality and we spoke with several guests who agreed with us and we have a recommendation from Tripadvisor...there No1 Hotel in Viareggio. Thank you tripadvisor

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, particularly for the welcoming made by the Reception staff, and be assured that I have taken on board your comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with my team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible.
We try to satisfy all our customers and do not always happened, sorry about that!!
I do hope you come again to Viareggio even if you do not come at the Grand and Royal.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just returned from our third stay at this hotel, and again we were so pleased with the whole experience. It is a really grand building with excellent facilities (just loved the swimming pool), but most impressive was the staff, who seemed to really enjoy their work, and made a real effort to make us welcome and look after our every need. Top marks to them, especially when compared to other hotels that we stayed in during this recent trip to Italy, which were frankly disappointing. We are already looking forward to visiting here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks !!!
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in May for a week, a Thomson A La Carte holiday.
On arrival we were upgraded to a large front room with balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was very grand and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and just adequate.
The staff were all wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. The food was good and for us, plenty of choice for breakfast.
The hotel is conveniently located and the area is a good base for visiting Pisa, Florence and Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We only stayed one night in Viareggio and this hotel was fine for our purpose, but is one of the few hotels that we used during our holiday that I would choose not to stay in again whilst on a touring holiday. Check in, always important but especially so when you are touring and moving from place to place, was friendly and efficient. However, as is the custom in Italy, we had to hand over our passports and these were not offered back until we checked out the next morning. When I commented on this, during check out the next day, I was told it was, apparently, my own fault as I did not go back to reception and ask for them. Car parking was also available, at an additional cost of 11 euros overnight, and bearing in mind that this is in the hotel's own grounds, this does seem to be a little over the top. The alternative of risking roadside parking and having to carry cases to and from the car leaves guests with little option. The hotel does have a "Grand" aura, with the rooms and common areas reminiscent of a byegone age and is well worth a stay to appreciate this. The restaurant also reflected this grand feeling in appearance, but the food was not outstanding, and when my wife requested strawberries for dessert, clearly shown on the menu, she was informed that they were not available, and an attempt was made to persuade her to order a chocolate dessert, which the waiter assured her was a speciality of the chef and came highly recommended. She declined, but I, stupidly, followed the advice, and was presented, after a long wait, with an extremely disappointing, somewhat dry, piece of chocolate sponge cake. The feeling of being manipulated to eat what the waiters wanted to get rid of was confirmed the next morning, when bowls of strawberries were to be seen on the breakfast buffet table. Service was rather slow, but as this hotel is used by package tour operators, and there was a large group in the restaurant which did seem to receive a lot of attention, I guess this was a contributory factor. As an independent traveller I expect to be treated as well as every other guest. I would suggest that this hotel is best visited having been booked through a tour operator, rather than for the more adventurous of us that like to be independent.

Room Tip: Book on a bed and breakfast basis, and find somewhere else to eat other meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused, particularly for the Rstaurant experience, The personalised service and the food quality is in fact what most of our regular guests love about our hotel, and this has won us many fans and regular guests over the years that The Royal has opened its doors as a hotel.
Stay only one night cannot give the right impression, and beleave me all gest are treat on the same way.
Hope to welcome you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we have just come back from a week at the grand hotel royal we went to celebrate my 50th birthday. As soon as we entered the hotel i knew it was going to be wonderful!! I cant understand people moaning about having a sea view room we would have loved that noise or not.!!!!! This was the only thing i was disappointed about as although the room was lovely when we first went in and looked out of the window i was very disappointed as we looked out on to a roof and air con unit!!!! Cant fault anything else the food was fab the hotel was lovely ive never stayed anywhere like it. We got the local buses to lucca and pisa which were very cheap i might add.We went on an excursion to florence and that was a lovely place to visit. The only thing i was a bit disappointed about was that i wasnt given a birthday gesture like a bottle of bubbly or something as my fiance did email the hotel before we went to tell them about my 50th birthday but all they did was to email back a list of things he could get for me but with a price.The promemade was lovely to walk along and there are many shops and ice cream parlours which we did indulge in the best one we felt was gelato prati and very nice people who ran the place too we often went there for a drink or two!! As for the person who wrote about the reviews being fake doesnt know what they are talking about the whole place was fab and we cant wait to return hopefully with a sea view that would top it off..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel and that the service provided by the team .I understand when you talk about the views from the room in fact Classic room are positioned on the rear of the Hotel without wiew, and this is the difference between reserve a sea view room.
Please accept our apologize for disappointing you during your stay, your birthday deserve a gesture from our side and despite not having obligation we could think about it; very sorry!!!We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Wishes
P.s
I did not comment the rewiewer think we make fake rewiew, your personal rewiew is the right answer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.