We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel has an old time 'grandeur about it which we found very charming (elegant staircase, chandeliers, wide corridors etc.). The room we had at the rear was spacious, clean and comfortable with a shower cubicle but no bath. Although rooms at the front of the hotel provide a sea view and cost more there is a busy road and a wide promenade with restaurants and shops between the hotel and the beach. Stretches of the large beach are privately owned but Best Western has an agreement whereby residents can access the section opposite for 15 euros per day (2 sun loungers and parasol included). Needless to say, we preferred the quiet of the rear garden with the impressive mountains in the distance.

All staff were very efficient, helpful and approachable dealing with any problems encountered promptly. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food (though for those who like a full English breakfast this was limitied to scrambled eggs and sausages). A 3-course evening meal cost 30 euros but was of a very high quality.

Although surrounded by side roads, the rear gardens were on the whole peaceful and the outdoor pool absolutely superb and well-maintained on a daily basis.

The railway station is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the hotel. Trains run on a regular basis to the main towns/cities in the area and ticket prices are quite reasonable.

Viareggio is an ideal beach resort for visiting Florence, Sienna and Lucca. Just to the north near La Spezia are 5 attractive towns nestled in small coves and all connected by a coastal path. However, a word of advice about visitng these if, like our party, you decide to take the train to the furthest village and then walk back to each in turn. It cost 5 euros to use the coastal path which is basically a narrow ledge cut into the cliff-face and not suitable in changeable weather or for anyone uncomfortable with heights.

When, rather than if, we return to Veriaggio the Best Western Grand will be our first choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooks beach but also road, promenade and restaurants. Rear rooms are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback and i was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. It was also nice to read that you found the rooms comfortable, breakfast was good with plenty of choice and service provided by the team was pleasant and unobtrusive.
It is really thrue, Viareggio is in a ideal location to discover the wonderful historical small town, like Lucca, Pisa, 5 Terre wich have a fantastic sea panorama and of course Florence.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    227
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
182
399
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed only for one night but the hotel was very nice.
Pool area is dated but does the job. Staff around the pool were very helpful and the beer was cold so no complaints.
Room was fine. Very clean, no issues. Nice Sea View (thanks for the upgrade)
Breakfast was very good. the best thing was they had a little section on the buffet just for kids, a really nice touch.
Location is right on the beach and handy for local restaurants. Parking is around the side of the hotel and £15 a night is ok.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view. worth a few extra quid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our service. I was pleased to read how much you enjoy staying at our hotel even for only 1 night. . I will certainly share your comments with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is easily the best in the area. The staff are very helpful and courteous; particularly Mario the barman. Very good location for bus and train travel. The pool area was lovely - sadly it poured with rain on our last day but all the other days were warm and sunny which enabled us to also use the beach. There was a convention in the hotel on our last two days and the hotel became dominated by business people which also meant we did not enjoy the evening dining experience so much as guests were crowded into the breakfast room instead of the spacious and grand dining room - we were squashed in a corner and both nights were rather rushed. The food however was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best but there will be noise from the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful. It was also great to hear that you loved our Bar service with Mario. Thank you.
Please accept my sincere apologize to the inconvenient caused the two evening when, a cause of a Big Meeting you was kindly moved to the other small restaurant room where we use to serve breakfast.
i do hope the staff offer you a glass of wine with our apologize, if not this will happened next time for sure!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this hotel very much to our liking staff very efficient nothing was a problem very helpful.
The room was quite large with a sea view, modern bathroom and a large very comfy bed the only downfall was the noise from the front main road. Food nice with a good choice at breakfast and for evening meal, which was reasonably priced. We ended most evenings in the very comfortable bar, where Mario (an extremely attentive bar man) served us after dinner drinks. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night ask for an inside room you may get a better rest unless you can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Grand Hotel has an air of luxury about it and this is complemented by the decor inside.The grounds leading to the pool are well maintained and the pool area with outside cafe a nice place to relax. We will definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, is a great pleasure to know your holidays with us was a memorable time!
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Travelling as part of a group of 6, we had two triple sea view rooms with a balcony which were spacious and had great views of the beach. The hotel was very centrally located, just 30mins from Pisa airport via transfer (which we booked through the hotel). Large bathroom with shower and bath facilities.
The hotel staff are very helpful with any queries we had, prior to and during our stay - an example being travelling back from Pisa back to Viareggio, we were unsure which train to catch and after calling the hotel they advised the correct route including train number, saved us ending up somewhere unexpected. Also provided advice on the night life and best places to go to.
Great hotel with lovely staff and would definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. The building is old and has very nice high sealings. Its like stepping back in time. The Rooms were nice and clean. The location was great. Free wifi. The breakfast was nice. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks – not everyone does!!!
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.