We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early break in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Venere.com
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 56 hotels in Viareggio
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Early break in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is easily the best in the area. The staff are very helpful and courteous; particularly Mario the barman. Very good location for bus and train travel. The pool area was lovely - sadly it poured with rain on our last day but all the other days were warm and sunny which enabled us to also use the beach. There was a convention in the hotel on our last two days and the hotel became dominated by business people which also meant we did not enjoy the evening dining experience so much as guests were crowded into the breakfast room instead of the spacious and grand dining room - we were squashed in a corner and both nights were rather rushed. The food however was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best but there will be noise from the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you had such a great stay with us and found it to be peaceful. It was also great to hear that you loved our Bar service with Mario. Thank you.
Please accept my sincere apologize to the inconvenient caused the two evening when, a cause of a Big Meeting you was kindly moved to the other small restaurant room where we use to serve breakfast.
i do hope the staff offer you a glass of wine with our apologize, if not this will happened next time for sure!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    189
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
141
313
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this hotel very much to our liking staff very efficient nothing was a problem very helpful.
The room was quite large with a sea view, modern bathroom and a large very comfy bed the only downfall was the noise from the front main road. Food nice with a good choice at breakfast and for evening meal, which was reasonably priced. We ended most evenings in the very comfortable bar, where Mario (an extremely attentive bar man) served us after dinner drinks. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night ask for an inside room you may get a better rest unless you can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Grand Hotel has an air of luxury about it and this is complemented by the decor inside.The grounds leading to the pool are well maintained and the pool area with outside cafe a nice place to relax. We will definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, is a great pleasure to know your holidays with us was a memorable time!
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Travelling as part of a group of 6, we had two triple sea view rooms with a balcony which were spacious and had great views of the beach. The hotel was very centrally located, just 30mins from Pisa airport via transfer (which we booked through the hotel). Large bathroom with shower and bath facilities.
The hotel staff are very helpful with any queries we had, prior to and during our stay - an example being travelling back from Pisa back to Viareggio, we were unsure which train to catch and after calling the hotel they advised the correct route including train number, saved us ending up somewhere unexpected. Also provided advice on the night life and best places to go to.
Great hotel with lovely staff and would definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. The building is old and has very nice high sealings. Its like stepping back in time. The Rooms were nice and clean. The location was great. Free wifi. The breakfast was nice. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is very kind of you to follow up with thanks – not everyone does!!!
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Fifteen years ago we discovered this lovely hotel. This place oozes great Italian grandeur. Together with great Tuscan cuisine -diner in the hotel park is lovely to end a sunny day at the private beach- combined with a warm staff made us come back, and back and back...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a lovely older hotel. We chose to stay here while visiting the leaning tower of Pisa and I am glad we did, it is was so much nicer than the town of Pisa for accommodations, restaurants and strolling around. We had booked a normal room, but were upgraded on arrival with a large room with sea views. It was a bit off season (end of April) so they may have had the space, either way it was very nice. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We had dinner in the hotel, it was very good for the price and the setting so elegant. Breakfast was also the best on our 2 week travel along the Italian and French Riviera it included warm bacon, eggs, fresh tomatoes, fresh mozzarella as well as cereals, yogurts and bread and delicious cappuccino.
Parking was a breeze just outside the front of the hotel or their car park. I wish we could have stayed longer. The beach was very spacious and a lengthy "board walk to stroll, or run or rollerblade, with lots of shops and restaurants. Highly recommend this as a choice for staying.
Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio
Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.