We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back, and back and back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We came back, and back and back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Fifteen years ago we discovered this lovely hotel. This place oozes great Italian grandeur. Together with great Tuscan cuisine -diner in the hotel park is lovely to end a sunny day at the private beach- combined with a warm staff made us come back, and back and back...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    224
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
181
396
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a lovely older hotel. We chose to stay here while visiting the leaning tower of Pisa and I am glad we did, it is was so much nicer than the town of Pisa for accommodations, restaurants and strolling around. We had booked a normal room, but were upgraded on arrival with a large room with sea views. It was a bit off season (end of April) so they may have had the space, either way it was very nice. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We had dinner in the hotel, it was very good for the price and the setting so elegant. Breakfast was also the best on our 2 week travel along the Italian and French Riviera it included warm bacon, eggs, fresh tomatoes, fresh mozzarella as well as cereals, yogurts and bread and delicious cappuccino.
Parking was a breeze just outside the front of the hotel or their car park. I wish we could have stayed longer. The beach was very spacious and a lengthy "board walk to stroll, or run or rollerblade, with lots of shops and restaurants. Highly recommend this as a choice for staying.
Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Both myself and my wife visited this hotel as part of a deal as half board. Whilst I grant you that the interior is a 'bit tired', I think this added to its charm. The staff were very helpful and the food was good. We went just before the start of their season mainly as a base for visiting the usual sites. However, we were so lucky with the weather, we did manage quite a few days on the beach.
I paid extra for the sea view with balcony and thought this was well worth it. As already mentioned, everything was a bit tired but I would class it more as shabby chique. The size of the room was very good, the bed was large and comfortable and the room was very clean. The balcony was small but quite adequate to sit out on with a cup of tea and catch the last bit of sun.
Dont be put off this hotel as if you can get the right deal, it is well worth it!
Couple of tips though!!
Get some water and drinks from the small supermarket that is 5 minutes walk away as this is a lot cheaper than the hotel plus they sell mill for your tea. Also the Thursday morning market is good if you like a bargin. My wife picked up a loverly pair of shoes for just 5 euros!
Hope this helps and you have a good trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments,and we would like to set out to readers, that is not allowed to consume drinks bought outside the hotel in the Restaurant, Bar, Bar Pool, Pool, Garden etc etc..Apologize for the clarification!!
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

1. The location is perfect, you just cross a road from the hotel, and you're at the beach (which is complimentary for guests), The view from our room was amazing, you could go out onto the balcony area and watch the street and the sea view and the sunsets!

2. The food was also really good, there was not an evening meal where the standard of the food wasn't up to an excellent standard, really tasty 3 course meals

3. The hotel itself, the reception area was really nice, there were a number of rooms one could sit in and socialise or relax with lovely decor. The dining area for us was actually in large white outdoor tent area, it was undercover but still had the feel of outdoors. Near the dining room was a range of seating areas, including hammocks which the young people especially seemed to enjoy. The pool was also kept clean, and wasn't too cold! and there was a lifeguard most of the time.

4. The staff, were friendly greeted us everyday at breakfast and always remained professional.

5. Noise- now mostly, when we were there there wasn't any issues with noise. However due to the fact the nature of the area is quite a busy atmospheric sea side resort,there was actually a great carnival on one night which we really enjoyed. though, little did we know that it would be passing our hotel again at 2.30am which wasn't the best thing to happen.

6.Our room- was kept stocked with clean towels every morning if needed and cleaned by the staff. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. No problems with the room

All in all, there isn't anything negative I could say about this trip, I had a brilliant time the area is great (bit expensive I must admit), the beach is definitely work visiting, you can also walk to the station (15min walk) and catch the train to Pisa for the day very cheaply which is worth doing. I would definitely like to return one day!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would probably be the best one to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, especially after 9 months and as always, it is a delight to see that the Service element was remarked upon. I hope we might see you again at The Grand Hotel Royal and that we live up to your previous experience.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Bedroom was drab and depressing and besides the bathroom was in dire need of refurbishment. The bed was the second most uncomfortable bed I have slept in only beaten into 2nd place by one in Barcelona!
The food in the dining room was basic and unimaginative and would suggest not eating there unless you are in a hurry, we had only been given the menu for 60 seconds before asking what we like to order and received the bill 'before' ordering our dessert, there are many better eating places in Viareggio.
Front of house staff were courteous and helpful but the star was Guiseppe in the bar who the other staff could learn a lot from, nothing was to much bother and he always greeted us with a smile and had a fantastic sense of humour.
Location and facilities in the area are excellant but the holiday was spoilt by the hotel room and 'Royal' it was not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Royal.
All clients’ comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel. We are very sorry for didn’t give you positive experience , please accept our sincere apologize.
We are strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the guest.
Hope to see you again at The Grand Hotel Royal in the future, and hope to give to you better attention!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Don't expect anything hip and modern, but a traditional Italian style hotel. We really loved it; the location is amazing, right at the boulevard of Viareggio. The hotel rooms are in traditional style, just like the rest of the hotel. The bathrooms are quite modern and fully equipped and rooms have flatscreen TVs. We paid a bit extra to have a room with sea view and it was totally worth it! We had our own little balcony, with fabulous views overlooking the sea. The hotel also has a nice garden with a pool for guests. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, with lots of choices for everyone.
Choose this hotel if you like the experience of a traditional Italian style hotel

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view, that's what this hotel is all about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We always appreciate feedback as our customers’ comments are greatly valued.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely royal hotel. Landmark on the front with its turrets and flags, actually saw people stopping to take photos!!.
Stayed early April so out of season, but still plenty todo. Lovely park Behind with bike and cart hire for as little as 2 euros for half an hour, longer got cheaper. Behind the park were the best gelato and patisserie shops. Owned by the same people, locals galore, says it all.
Trips to Pisa, Florence and Lucca were made so easy by the very efficient reception staff , they couldn't do enough for you, printing off bus or train timetables and maps.
Room was very big so nice to relax with the 4 of us. Stayed in 427 lovely sea view.
Breakfast lovely, barman friendly and nice place to relax and surprisingly good prices.
Thank you all very much.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.