We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    208
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
169
366
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed there just one night in October and we really liked it.

After visiting Florence and Pisa, we felt like resting a bit and staying by the sea side. We really enjoyed staying at Viareggio though there off-season. We had a very spacious room at the upper corner of the hotel and we really liked the view.

The kindness and politeness of the staff is also worth mentionning.

Room Tip: Take a seaview room. The sunset is really nice! If you are looking for quiet, do not take a seeview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

lovely old style hotel,staff helpful pleasant. when checking in would have been informative if the new hotel tax had been explained

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked four nights at the Grand Hotel Royal as a surprise for my Husband as it was our Wedding Anniversary. I had requested a room on a high floor (if possible) and we were given a room on the 4th Floor which had a side sea view which we were very happy with. The room was of a good size and it had a full sized bathroom (which we rarely find these days) which was spotlessly clean as was the room itself. The bed linen was changed once during our stay and the towels were changed everyday. There was also a wide range of toiletries in the bathroom. The room had wifi which worked very well.

The breakfast was served from 07.30–10.30 each morning. There was a wide selection of food and drinks ranging from fruit juices, teas, coffee, milk, (cappuccino on request) and bottled water – there was a vending machine one could use for making coffee or tea. The buffet itself comprised of a variety of cereals, yogurts, croissants, fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad, peaches, prunes, ham, different cheeses, rolls, cake, biscuits, a variety of bread, toast + various jams, marmalade & honey. There was also a hot plate containing scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. We did not dine in the restaurant in the evenings but the menu looked very appetising.

We travelled independently booking direct with the hotel. We flew with British Airways to Pisa and caught the train from Pisa Airport to Viareggio. This involved a change of trains at Pisa Central but it wasn’t a problem. The fare was 3 Euros each (single) and the journey took less than an hour. We visited both Florence and Pisa by train during our stay in Viareggio and found the trains to be punctual and a lot cheaper than in the UK!

It was 28 years since we last stayed in Viareggio and looked upon our return visit as a Trip Down Memory Lane. I would certainly recommend the Grand Hotel Royal mainly for its lovely position on the promenade and very high standards. We found the Reception Staff and the Waiters to be extremely helpful and attentive and were always available. We thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay at the Grand Hotel Royal and were extremely lucky to be blessed with warm sunny weather and a temperature of 26C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful appraisal from your stay with us. I am so pleased that we got everything right for you and hope that we will indeed be able to live up to such high praise on your next visit. Thank you so much for your words of appreciation -
I hope to welcome you again soon and not after other 28 years!!!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This has once been a great hotel but is definitely in need of some TLC and an update.In an excellent location , staff very pleasant and helpful.The first room we were allocated was very sparse with just twin beds and a small dressing table and as it had a shower and no bath we asked for a room with a bath instead and after some explanation of how everyone wanted a double room with a bath and we could only be given this as the hotel was not full we were then given room 225 - a much better room than the first. We noticed that the maid service really only meant making the bed- tea/coffee etc was never replenished we had to go and ask and eventually bought our own in the supermarket, toiletries also never replenished but were always happily provided at reception. The day we arrived the dressing table was dusty and there was fluff on the floor of the bathroom - this was also the same the day we left. Food very good , especially the pasta, Despite the niggles about the room were we to visit the area again we would probably stay here. A very grand old hotel that in its day has been the place to be .

Room Tip: If you really prefer a bath to a shower make sure you specify this when booking as so many of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thankyou for leaving feed back after your recent stay at the Grand.
We are very disappointed to know you had problem with tea and coffee making replaced, usually we pay a lot of attention and we never miss the replace; also apologize if the cleaning of the room was imperfect, please accept our sincere apologize!
In the mean time i would like to clirify an important point:
majority of 4 star Hotel in Italy have bath or shower, in our case is well specify in our web site and in all the International Tour Operator brochure , soo, if customer prefere to have bath this must be require at the booking time. The same must doit for the type of bed twin or double, this will make guest happy, prevent complain and make our job easier.
Once again apologize and looking forward to welcome you again at the Grand
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely old hotel, with classic features, fabulous staircase, chandeliers etc. We were upgraded to a front room and really appreciated the views, particularly the wonderful sunsets. Waiters and bar staff were really friendly and the food excellent, and although the pool bar etc had closed for the season, we were still able to use the pool and sunbeds. Altogether, a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, apologize if the Garden was empty of chairs, yes in October, but only after the 11 we put away all the garden equipment; our garden officially stll open from 1 May till 30 September
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed from 15th to 22nd September and can recommend this time as the temperatures are very comfortable and you miss the crowds that invade the resort. The food is first rate,staff very helpful with good language skills. The location is ideal for the beach, restaurants and rip off designer shops (men beware). The hotel has an excellent outdoor pool where you can also buy drinks and light lunches. The railway station is a good 15 min walk from hotel which is handy for day trips but too far to drag heavy suitcases (10 Euro taxi ride) Hotel guests can hire bikes and sun lovers can use deck chairs plus parasol (15 Euro) on a nearby section of the beach. Walkers can enjoy the miles of promenade (free) just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are worth the extra if you enjoy space and a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand. I hope you will return to celebrate your next holidays with us.
Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.