We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday hotel stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
A TripAdvisor Member
“holiday hotel stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

lovely old style hotel,staff helpful pleasant. when checking in would have been informative if the new hotel tax had been explained

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    229
    54
    18
    10
See reviews for
182
401
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked four nights at the Grand Hotel Royal as a surprise for my Husband as it was our Wedding Anniversary. I had requested a room on a high floor (if possible) and we were given a room on the 4th Floor which had a side sea view which we were very happy with. The room was of a good size and it had a full sized bathroom (which we rarely find these days) which was spotlessly clean as was the room itself. The bed linen was changed once during our stay and the towels were changed everyday. There was also a wide range of toiletries in the bathroom. The room had wifi which worked very well.

The breakfast was served from 07.30–10.30 each morning. There was a wide selection of food and drinks ranging from fruit juices, teas, coffee, milk, (cappuccino on request) and bottled water – there was a vending machine one could use for making coffee or tea. The buffet itself comprised of a variety of cereals, yogurts, croissants, fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad, peaches, prunes, ham, different cheeses, rolls, cake, biscuits, a variety of bread, toast + various jams, marmalade & honey. There was also a hot plate containing scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. We did not dine in the restaurant in the evenings but the menu looked very appetising.

We travelled independently booking direct with the hotel. We flew with British Airways to Pisa and caught the train from Pisa Airport to Viareggio. This involved a change of trains at Pisa Central but it wasn’t a problem. The fare was 3 Euros each (single) and the journey took less than an hour. We visited both Florence and Pisa by train during our stay in Viareggio and found the trains to be punctual and a lot cheaper than in the UK!

It was 28 years since we last stayed in Viareggio and looked upon our return visit as a Trip Down Memory Lane. I would certainly recommend the Grand Hotel Royal mainly for its lovely position on the promenade and very high standards. We found the Reception Staff and the Waiters to be extremely helpful and attentive and were always available. We thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay at the Grand Hotel Royal and were extremely lucky to be blessed with warm sunny weather and a temperature of 26C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful appraisal from your stay with us. I am so pleased that we got everything right for you and hope that we will indeed be able to live up to such high praise on your next visit. Thank you so much for your words of appreciation -
I hope to welcome you again soon and not after other 28 years!!!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This has once been a great hotel but is definitely in need of some TLC and an update.In an excellent location , staff very pleasant and helpful.The first room we were allocated was very sparse with just twin beds and a small dressing table and as it had a shower and no bath we asked for a room with a bath instead and after some explanation of how everyone wanted a double room with a bath and we could only be given this as the hotel was not full we were then given room 225 - a much better room than the first. We noticed that the maid service really only meant making the bed- tea/coffee etc was never replenished we had to go and ask and eventually bought our own in the supermarket, toiletries also never replenished but were always happily provided at reception. The day we arrived the dressing table was dusty and there was fluff on the floor of the bathroom - this was also the same the day we left. Food very good , especially the pasta, Despite the niggles about the room were we to visit the area again we would probably stay here. A very grand old hotel that in its day has been the place to be .

Room Tip: If you really prefer a bath to a shower make sure you specify this when booking as so many of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thankyou for leaving feed back after your recent stay at the Grand.
We are very disappointed to know you had problem with tea and coffee making replaced, usually we pay a lot of attention and we never miss the replace; also apologize if the cleaning of the room was imperfect, please accept our sincere apologize!
In the mean time i would like to clirify an important point:
majority of 4 star Hotel in Italy have bath or shower, in our case is well specify in our web site and in all the International Tour Operator brochure , soo, if customer prefere to have bath this must be require at the booking time. The same must doit for the type of bed twin or double, this will make guest happy, prevent complain and make our job easier.
Once again apologize and looking forward to welcome you again at the Grand
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely old hotel, with classic features, fabulous staircase, chandeliers etc. We were upgraded to a front room and really appreciated the views, particularly the wonderful sunsets. Waiters and bar staff were really friendly and the food excellent, and although the pool bar etc had closed for the season, we were still able to use the pool and sunbeds. Altogether, a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, apologize if the Garden was empty of chairs, yes in October, but only after the 11 we put away all the garden equipment; our garden officially stll open from 1 May till 30 September
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed from 15th to 22nd September and can recommend this time as the temperatures are very comfortable and you miss the crowds that invade the resort. The food is first rate,staff very helpful with good language skills. The location is ideal for the beach, restaurants and rip off designer shops (men beware). The hotel has an excellent outdoor pool where you can also buy drinks and light lunches. The railway station is a good 15 min walk from hotel which is handy for day trips but too far to drag heavy suitcases (10 Euro taxi ride) Hotel guests can hire bikes and sun lovers can use deck chairs plus parasol (15 Euro) on a nearby section of the beach. Walkers can enjoy the miles of promenade (free) just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are worth the extra if you enjoy space and a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand. I hope you will return to celebrate your next holidays with us.
Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our first time at this hotel was in 1989 and we loved our stay then due to the central location/ ease of access to trains etc. A quick weekend opportunity led us back and we were not disappointed. As a general rule it is always a bit of an anxious time when you book in case the reality doesn't quite reach the memory however on this occasion this was not the case. Our room was functional and very clean. We had a sea view from the 5th floor, in retrospect a balcony would have been useful as a place to sit in the Autumn sunshine as the garden furniture had been removed and one disappointment was the loss of services in the garden- however, the weather was a little variable at times, given the season so this was in part understandable. The buffet breakfast was of excellent quality if not a little too predictable. A lovely airy breakfast room, clean tables and rapid service. We stayed in for dinner once and whilst my husband's meal was excellent there was a problem with mine, which was swiftly and appropriately remedied to my complete satisfaction. The bar areas were pleasant and the price list was reasonable and certainly not exploitative as in some hotel facilities. The free use of a computer, printer and wifi was much appreciated and a great touch.
Overall our impression was of a hotel trying very hard to offer an excellent experience to all of their guests and we appreciated this attitude very much. There was nothing jarring and certainly nothing for us to have any major complaint about. I hope it is not 24 years before we go back....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
thankyou very much for your kind feed back.
it is realy thru that we trying very hard to offer an excellent experience to all of our guests and we are glad if you appreciated this attitude very much.
I hope it is not 24 years before we welcome you again, but only 24 days
Kind regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 8 sept to 22 sept 2012 3rd floor room with balcony. Hotel is a little dated however the grandeur makes up for this. The staff, food and service is excellent and they can't do enough for you. We even forgot the travel plug and asked at reception where we could buy one locally no problem please use this travel plug and return it at the end of your stay fantastic. We travelled with citailia rep fantastic and had a great relationship with all staff at the hotel? Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Definitely pick room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.