We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded grandeur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Faded grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This has once been a great hotel but is definitely in need of some TLC and an update.In an excellent location , staff very pleasant and helpful.The first room we were allocated was very sparse with just twin beds and a small dressing table and as it had a shower and no bath we asked for a room with a bath instead and after some explanation of how everyone wanted a double room with a bath and we could only be given this as the hotel was not full we were then given room 225 - a much better room than the first. We noticed that the maid service really only meant making the bed- tea/coffee etc was never replenished we had to go and ask and eventually bought our own in the supermarket, toiletries also never replenished but were always happily provided at reception. The day we arrived the dressing table was dusty and there was fluff on the floor of the bathroom - this was also the same the day we left. Food very good , especially the pasta, Despite the niggles about the room were we to visit the area again we would probably stay here. A very grand old hotel that in its day has been the place to be .

Room Tip: If you really prefer a bath to a shower make sure you specify this when booking as so many of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thankyou for leaving feed back after your recent stay at the Grand.
We are very disappointed to know you had problem with tea and coffee making replaced, usually we pay a lot of attention and we never miss the replace; also apologize if the cleaning of the room was imperfect, please accept our sincere apologize!
In the mean time i would like to clirify an important point:
majority of 4 star Hotel in Italy have bath or shower, in our case is well specify in our web site and in all the International Tour Operator brochure , soo, if customer prefere to have bath this must be require at the booking time. The same must doit for the type of bed twin or double, this will make guest happy, prevent complain and make our job easier.
Once again apologize and looking forward to welcome you again at the Grand
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    212
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
173
373
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely old hotel, with classic features, fabulous staircase, chandeliers etc. We were upgraded to a front room and really appreciated the views, particularly the wonderful sunsets. Waiters and bar staff were really friendly and the food excellent, and although the pool bar etc had closed for the season, we were still able to use the pool and sunbeds. Altogether, a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, apologize if the Garden was empty of chairs, yes in October, but only after the 11 we put away all the garden equipment; our garden officially stll open from 1 May till 30 September
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed from 15th to 22nd September and can recommend this time as the temperatures are very comfortable and you miss the crowds that invade the resort. The food is first rate,staff very helpful with good language skills. The location is ideal for the beach, restaurants and rip off designer shops (men beware). The hotel has an excellent outdoor pool where you can also buy drinks and light lunches. The railway station is a good 15 min walk from hotel which is handy for day trips but too far to drag heavy suitcases (10 Euro taxi ride) Hotel guests can hire bikes and sun lovers can use deck chairs plus parasol (15 Euro) on a nearby section of the beach. Walkers can enjoy the miles of promenade (free) just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are worth the extra if you enjoy space and a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for letting us know that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand. I hope you will return to celebrate your next holidays with us.
Thank you for your kind words, they are always much appreciated by the hardworking team
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our first time at this hotel was in 1989 and we loved our stay then due to the central location/ ease of access to trains etc. A quick weekend opportunity led us back and we were not disappointed. As a general rule it is always a bit of an anxious time when you book in case the reality doesn't quite reach the memory however on this occasion this was not the case. Our room was functional and very clean. We had a sea view from the 5th floor, in retrospect a balcony would have been useful as a place to sit in the Autumn sunshine as the garden furniture had been removed and one disappointment was the loss of services in the garden- however, the weather was a little variable at times, given the season so this was in part understandable. The buffet breakfast was of excellent quality if not a little too predictable. A lovely airy breakfast room, clean tables and rapid service. We stayed in for dinner once and whilst my husband's meal was excellent there was a problem with mine, which was swiftly and appropriately remedied to my complete satisfaction. The bar areas were pleasant and the price list was reasonable and certainly not exploitative as in some hotel facilities. The free use of a computer, printer and wifi was much appreciated and a great touch.
Overall our impression was of a hotel trying very hard to offer an excellent experience to all of their guests and we appreciated this attitude very much. There was nothing jarring and certainly nothing for us to have any major complaint about. I hope it is not 24 years before we go back....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
thankyou very much for your kind feed back.
it is realy thru that we trying very hard to offer an excellent experience to all of our guests and we are glad if you appreciated this attitude very much.
I hope it is not 24 years before we welcome you again, but only 24 days
Kind regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 8 sept to 22 sept 2012 3rd floor room with balcony. Hotel is a little dated however the grandeur makes up for this. The staff, food and service is excellent and they can't do enough for you. We even forgot the travel plug and asked at reception where we could buy one locally no problem please use this travel plug and return it at the end of your stay fantastic. We travelled with citailia rep fantastic and had a great relationship with all staff at the hotel? Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Definitely pick room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely large corner room at the back of the hotel with views of the mountains in the distance. Very quiet. Hot water did take quite a long time to reach our room, but once you were aware of this, it wasn't a problem. The hotel is attractive with high ceilings, and wide well lit corridors. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for its rooms and general amenities.

However we found the breakfasts disappointing, and only ate in the hotel in the evening once for their buffet, which was not to our taste at all. We also found the system of chosing your evening meal from the menu presented to you at breakfast a little odd, as its difficult to assess after a long day out sight seeing what you are going to want to eat in the evening. (another reason for not eating in the hotel) Was also surprised that they were unable to supply fresh orange juice, which was readily available everywhere else.

Its a good base for seeing Lucca, Pisa and Florence and we found the train service was excellent

The swimming pool was still open when we were there at the beginning of October, and although we didn't use it, it would have been warm enough to swim.

Enjoyed the icecream at Grom opposite the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Royal.
All clients’ comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel. We are very sorry for didn’t give you positive experience at breakfast, especially if you didn’t find a fresh orange juice, this is very strange, please accept our sincere apologize
Just to clarify give order for dinner meal at breakfast time is not mandatory, only help us to be ready in the evening for your dinner, but, and this is also write very clear in to the Menu on the left page is not mandatory, you can of course order your evening meal when you arrive at the restaurant. Most of our customer (95%)prefere to order at breakfast time, this is why we decide to take the order.
We are strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the guest.
Hope to see you again at The Grand Hotel Royal in the future, and hope to give to you better attention!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked the hotel after reading good reviews on this site. I can concur with the many reviews that this hotel is definitely a grand place to stay! We spent a week at the hotel in July this year. Our first sight of the hotel as we pulled up in our little hire car in the beautiful sunshine was very impressive. The staff were welcoming and informative and we were told about the free parking around the wooded park behind the hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a lovely sea view and balcony, comfortable bed, spacious and clean, modern bathroom. We were celebrating our anniversary during our stay and the hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of champers! Lovely! Having a room at the front of the hotel means that there is quite a lot of noise from the road, but this is to be expected and did not detract from our enjoyment or ability to sleep. We got up for breakfast a bit late on our first morning and found the cooked breakfast a little disappointing. We found the breakfast much better and more choice by going down earlier. We had one evening meal at the hotel and although the starters were good, we found the main course disappointing. Not because there was anything wrong with it, just that the food was not to our taste. The service in the restaurant was good. We enjoyed lazing around the pool, listening to the birds and enjoying a drink. We often ate in the evening at the restaurants opposite the hotel along the prom, wonderful for people watching and a stroll after your meal. You need to keep your eyes open however as the locals love to ride their pushbikes. The hotel bar is great for a night cap and we often sat outside in the warm evening air sipping a Kir Royale! We visited Pisa, Lucca and Florence, all within easy reach by car, all absolutely amazing. Expect to pay the road tolls both ways. We had a wonderful holiday and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and Viareggio.

Room Tip: Sea view well worth the extra cost. If you prefer a quieter room choose a side sea view or a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most appreciative feedback - It gives me enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at The Grand
I am sorry that you had a mixed experience in the dining room but again, you persevered and were able to see past the minor lapses in our usual high standards.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand soon
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Business Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.