We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Manchester England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 8 sept to 22 sept 2012 3rd floor room with balcony. Hotel is a little dated however the grandeur makes up for this. The staff, food and service is excellent and they can't do enough for you. We even forgot the travel plug and asked at reception where we could buy one locally no problem please use this travel plug and return it at the end of your stay fantastic. We travelled with citailia rep fantastic and had a great relationship with all staff at the hotel? Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Definitely pick room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    208
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
168
364
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely large corner room at the back of the hotel with views of the mountains in the distance. Very quiet. Hot water did take quite a long time to reach our room, but once you were aware of this, it wasn't a problem. The hotel is attractive with high ceilings, and wide well lit corridors. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for its rooms and general amenities.

However we found the breakfasts disappointing, and only ate in the hotel in the evening once for their buffet, which was not to our taste at all. We also found the system of chosing your evening meal from the menu presented to you at breakfast a little odd, as its difficult to assess after a long day out sight seeing what you are going to want to eat in the evening. (another reason for not eating in the hotel) Was also surprised that they were unable to supply fresh orange juice, which was readily available everywhere else.

Its a good base for seeing Lucca, Pisa and Florence and we found the train service was excellent

The swimming pool was still open when we were there at the beginning of October, and although we didn't use it, it would have been warm enough to swim.

Enjoyed the icecream at Grom opposite the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Royal.
All clients’ comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel. We are very sorry for didn’t give you positive experience at breakfast, especially if you didn’t find a fresh orange juice, this is very strange, please accept our sincere apologize
Just to clarify give order for dinner meal at breakfast time is not mandatory, only help us to be ready in the evening for your dinner, but, and this is also write very clear in to the Menu on the left page is not mandatory, you can of course order your evening meal when you arrive at the restaurant. Most of our customer (95%)prefere to order at breakfast time, this is why we decide to take the order.
We are strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the guest.
Hope to see you again at The Grand Hotel Royal in the future, and hope to give to you better attention!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked the hotel after reading good reviews on this site. I can concur with the many reviews that this hotel is definitely a grand place to stay! We spent a week at the hotel in July this year. Our first sight of the hotel as we pulled up in our little hire car in the beautiful sunshine was very impressive. The staff were welcoming and informative and we were told about the free parking around the wooded park behind the hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a lovely sea view and balcony, comfortable bed, spacious and clean, modern bathroom. We were celebrating our anniversary during our stay and the hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of champers! Lovely! Having a room at the front of the hotel means that there is quite a lot of noise from the road, but this is to be expected and did not detract from our enjoyment or ability to sleep. We got up for breakfast a bit late on our first morning and found the cooked breakfast a little disappointing. We found the breakfast much better and more choice by going down earlier. We had one evening meal at the hotel and although the starters were good, we found the main course disappointing. Not because there was anything wrong with it, just that the food was not to our taste. The service in the restaurant was good. We enjoyed lazing around the pool, listening to the birds and enjoying a drink. We often ate in the evening at the restaurants opposite the hotel along the prom, wonderful for people watching and a stroll after your meal. You need to keep your eyes open however as the locals love to ride their pushbikes. The hotel bar is great for a night cap and we often sat outside in the warm evening air sipping a Kir Royale! We visited Pisa, Lucca and Florence, all within easy reach by car, all absolutely amazing. Expect to pay the road tolls both ways. We had a wonderful holiday and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and Viareggio.

Room Tip: Sea view well worth the extra cost. If you prefer a quieter room choose a side sea view or a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most appreciative feedback - It gives me enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at The Grand
I am sorry that you had a mixed experience in the dining room but again, you persevered and were able to see past the minor lapses in our usual high standards.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand soon
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful, very Italian (how it should be!) and very Grand. We had a beautiful room on the front with a balcony, it was a nice large room (318) with a nice bathroom with shower.

The room and the hotel as spotless and was cleaned well every day.

The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the food too, really good selection, they start with a salad bar, which has far more than just salad so you have to be careful not to over do it, and then you get a choice for a 2nd course, then a main course and then a desert.

The staff in the restaurant were all lovely too, and obviously had a good banter between them sometimes with a mischievous air to them, which made us smile, but they were all very polite and professional.

The location of the hotel is great as it is right on the front so you can sit and watch the people walking by and there are lots of nice shops and restaurants right on the front.

We hired the bikes from the hotel one of the days and cycled quite far as it is all very flat and there is a cycle route all along the coast line so very easy and safe to ride on, would definitely recommend this as you see so much more and it is really a very leisurely pace.

We were there right at the end of the season so things were winding down but we were pleased they kep tthe swimming pool open longer than they advertised as we thought it would close on 15th September, which is when we arrived, but because the weather was so nice they kept it open, and again it was lovely and clean with a nice little bar where you could enjoy lunch there too.

We met and chatted to some lovely people during our stay, there was a lovely German family there who had been visiting Viareggio for over 30 years and they said they had stayed in most of the main hotels but that the Grand Hotel royal was definitely their favourite.

We had some wonderful cocktails in the hotel bar and Mario was a fantastic barman, he was very busy but always found time for a chat or two and he was full of wonderful Italian history, certainly first class service with a smile.

It was a lovely, friendly hotel with a variety of nationalities, don't think anyone one nationality took it over, which was nice too.

We took the train to Lucca from Viareggio, which was very easy, and Lucca was another beautiful Italian city.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view of the sea and are great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most appreciative feedback - the positive energy is leaping out of my PC! It gives me enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at The Grand
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand another time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner, Theresa, and I stayed at The Grand Royal from September 8 to 15, 2012. Our first-floor room overlooked the sea and, despite the proximity of the busy main road, there was little noise to disturb us, owing largely to the fact that the building is set back sufficiently far enough for that to be a problem.

Even though our room was a standard one, it was very big and the beds were really wide and comfortable. The air-conditioning was extremely efficient and almost noiseless, so we slept well every night. There was a desk, some easy chairs and a good size television, plenty of lighting and lovely drapes in front of the shutters. The bed linen and bath towels were regularly changed, if requested, and the lady who cleaned our room did a first-class job every day. We did not use the well-stocked minibar.

The bathroom was also big and well-appointed and the shower, toilet and bidet all worked perfectly throughout our stay.Loads of piping hot water at all times.

The Reception Staff were always most courteous and helpful and their computer system made "running a tab" and settling the final bill simplicity itself. All queries and requests for directions and information were dealt with promptly and efficiently.

The sheer spaciousness of the building, its high and wide corridors, marble busts and floors, lovely furniture and lounges, all ensure its thoroughly deserved four star rating. We made full use of these facilities as well as the very comfortable Bar, whose two Barmen were both real "characters" and so welcoming to all of the guests.

There was also a bar and snack facility by the swimming-pool and, whilst neither of us swam in the pool, we did make some use of the plentiful sun-loungers around the poolside. The small gardens and pool area were excellently maintained and there were some really beautiful flowers and shrubs to enjoy.

The Dining-Room was lovely, large and spacious and the food and service were first-rate. For the first five evenings we were able to eat "al fresco" under an enormous marquee extension. This option was not available at breakfast, which was taken in the Dining-Room itself.

Breakfast was buffet style with waiters serving either tea or coffee and, if you wished, you could then order your evening meal from a fairly extensive menu, although absolutely no pressure was exerted to get you to do so. The evening meals were waiter service and the wine-list was unbelievably good and varied, whilst the wines themselves were superb, especially the red Chiantis!! There was certainly no excuse to go hungry, because there was plenty of delicious food at all meals and an antipasti buffet and soup every evening.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at this hotel. We have no hesitation in recommending it to others and would return again, as It represents excellent value for money. We travelled with Thomson and visited Portofino, San Gimignani and Siena on Thomson's excursions. We went by train ourselves to nearby Lucca and Pisa. Viareggio is a great resort, well-situated for sight-seeing and the local transport, particularly the trains, is pretty efficient overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The building looks very impressive from the outside and has an elegant charm on the inside. It is an old hotel and can imagine in its hey day was THE place to go. All the staff are welcoming and friendly. I upgraded to a sea view room with a balcony and would recommend this if available as it looks directly out on to the beach and sea front and its lovely to be able to hear the sea last thing at night! You also get some glorious sunsets. I have seen negative reviews about this hotel saying it is rough around the edges. Yes the carpets might be a bit faded and the curtains old, but in my opinion this adds to the charm of the hotel. If you are looking for an ultra modern hotel then this is not place for you, however there is no pretence in the hotel and you feel comfortable as soon as you enter it. On the website it is advertised that the pool shuts at the end of September, however it was open all the time I was there, although the sun loungers have seen better days. The gardens of the hotel are lovely and there are plenty of places to sit and relax in them. The buffet breakfast is what you would expect...continental with a choice of several fruit juices, cereals, bread, pastries meats and cheese. There is also bacon and scrambled eggs available, however boiled eggs are available on request. One negative about breakfast is that half way through my stay they introduced a coffee/tea machine which was self service and this took away the personal service that I had enjoyed at the beginning of my stay. I only ate in the hotel restaurant once (there are so many other places to eat within walking distance) and the food was wonderful. However they do stop serving at 9pm. I think when I went it was getting near the end of the season because the hotel was not busy and neither was the resort. For exploring Tuscany this is an ideal location with trains giving easy access to major cities such as Florence, Pisa and Rome. I would not particularly recommend this hotel or resort to families but for couples it is ideal. As a solo traveller I felt completely at ease wherever I went in the resort. The bar tender informed that when the hotel closes in a few weeks there is going to be big refurb of the outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine in high season it may get noisy if you had a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments; to be onest, yes October is end of season and is not the right time to enjoy Viareggio and all is glamour, but we do our best to provide comfortable and relaxing holidays to all our Clients even out of summer season.
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregony, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel and we were again welcomed by the truly exceptional staff. We were accompanied by two friends on this occasion and they were also extremely impressed. We arrived by bus from Pisa Airport as the bus stops right outside the airport and right outside the hotel all for €3. Whilst all the staff are so helpful, the staff who made our stay so special were Renato - waiter/barman, Guiseppe - Barman & the wonderful chambermaid for our room 128 - Katya ?. If we have one slight criticism it would be that the management laid off quite a number of the staff during our 2nd week (although the hotel was still very busy), which impacted on the service in the restaurant meaning that our meals were waiting in the kitchen to be served and unfortunately this detracted from the quality of several of the main courses available. Despite this we will certainly be back to this great hotel perhaps a little earlier in the year.

Room Tip: We have had no problems with any of the rooms we have had during our stays, but have always been on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing once again the Grand for your holidays in Viareggio and for taking your time to submit this review. Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments are thoroughly looked into.
We are very sorry if the service at the restaurant during your stay was a little bit poor, hope to welcome you again next year, promise you will find our usual ecxellent service !!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.