We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect castle by the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct!!!!
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect castle by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Hotel has an excellent location close to the beach and the town's main street with great restaurants. Viareggio is perfect for couples and romantic experiences. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    203
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
163
363
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Have just returned for a week at the grand, booking via Thompson which was good value.
This is without a doubt the best hotel i have ever stayed in, the grand not only met my expectations but succeeded them.
We travelled with my son who is 11 and his said its the best holiday he has ever had! He really loved the pool which is a great sized and there are never too many children in their so he got chance to swim properly. My husband not a fan of the sun so he spent his time in the gardens at the back lounging in the hammocks. When you get too hot there is the lovely airconditioned lobby, which always felt so cool when returning from outdoors, it was also a great place to people watch.
The breakfast room was my favourite place, the room was so light and airy and if you were lucky you got a table near the gardens. The breakfast was fab i particularty loved the choice of croissants on offer, i even tried a custard one, and the big chunks of melon were very welcome.
Dinner in the gardens was very romantic, the waiters are never intrusive and the meal is never rushed. If you are on half board basis you pick your meal at breakfast, i liked that it meant i looked forward after a day sightseeing coming back to my lovely dinner. The soups for starter were my favourite, there is also a great choice of fish dishes and the pudding, yum. Also the meals are presented beautifully and are a treat to the eye as well and the stomach, I liked trying new foods and my son was very adventurous and ate musscels and octopus!
After taking the eveing stroll after dinner along with italians we enjoyed sitting outside in the hotel bar on the compfy benches, the lady at the bar was particulary attentive and deserves a mention, but all the staff were fantastic.
The sea room we had was large and the beds easy to sleep on. I agree with another review about the tv, there were no channels in English other than the news and no kids channels. This is only a small gripe as i don't watch tv much on holiday but its an area that could be improved on i feel
As for the resort itself, well that was great there was so much on your doorstep but as others have said Italy is expensive to eat and drink, am glad we stayed half board. The trains were affordable though, we used them often rather than the bus. Be warned the journey to Forence is long but the views from the train on route are good.
i would come back here again to the hotel without a doubt and want to thank all the staff for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: We booked with thompson holidays and got a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel
Our hotel is strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the client.
Hope to welcome you again at the Grand
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Having decided we wanted to stay in Viareggio we chose this hotel because of the reviews on here. I was apprehensive because I have been very disappointed in the past with poor accommodation. However, the hotel was lovely; lots of character but with modern comfort. We are a family with children aged 13 and 15 and had two spacious clean rooms. The pool was great, the life guard always helped you to find a space, and the beach is close. The location is excellent for exploring and it is easy to get to Florence, lucca, Pisa etc. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, and we had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Other reviews make much of the grandeur of the Hotel and the quality of the food, fantastic location and facilities,. This is perfectly true, however, so much more needs to be said about the staff and their professionalism coupled with their friendlessness, who are exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble for them, as they wish to make your holiday the best expereince possible . We would particularly like to mention Rosaria - for her excellent organisation and courtesy she is a real credit to Great Western Hotels; On reception Gianny & Paulo for their approachablity, helpfulness and good sense of humour. The Dining experience is enhanced by the leadership of Emmanuele who has trained his staff to cater to your every need without fuss and pomp. All the waiters are delightful and well mannered, particularly Daniele.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments, in particulary the compliment to our staff,
Our hotel is strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff and the helpfulness towards the client.
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent few days at this beautiul hotel in the beginning of August and were very satisfied with the provided service. Hotel looks like a castle, the rooms are nicely renovated and very comfortable. I can higly recommend this hotel and hope to come back soon again. Special thanks to the General Manager Mr. Patruno who was always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I spent nine days at this wonderful hotel. We had a superb room with a balcony at the front with spectacular sea views. Also great for watching the amazing sights of the carnival! Our room was clean and spacious with two sets of french doors out to the balcony and there were lots of original features. We had a lovely modern and clean bathroom leading off it. Lots of space to hang clothes and good to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel itself was very grand with beautiful marble staircases, ornate floor tiles and high ceilings. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices and dinner was so good we ate in every night. We found staff to be very friendly, courteous and helpful (except for the young blonde lady at reception - we are still waiting for her to help us book a boat trip!!) The beach is just two minutes across the road and is immaculate and very well run. Two deck chairs and umbrella is free with 10 euro extra for a sunbed if you want. The pool area can be found at the back of the hotel by walking through charming gardens. I enjoyed the drinks and canapes provided free of charge in the gardens one evening. All in all we had a fabulous holiday first of all four days based in Florence with lots of sightseeing and trips to surrounding towns and nine relaxing days in the Grand Hotel Royal in Viareggio. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Train service is cheap and efficient so do your own thing! 5 euro to Lucca from Viareggio and 12.50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
Hope to welcome you again at the Grand hotel Royal
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

When we saw the hotel in brochures/on websites, it looked very special and impressive. This was confirmed by our stay and holiday at the hotel. The hotel sits impressively on the sea front - the fact it sits back and has the beautiful gardens makes it stand out.
It is not only the external part of the building that is special, internally it has the air of grandness and elegance - from the impressive Reception area with the sweeping staircase to the breakfast room and 'outdoor' dining room - it does make you feel very special.
We had a room with balcony which overlooked the sea - the room was spacious and clean and had everything we required (including tea and coffee making, which is rare, but so gratefully received). The bathroom was modern, clean and had a great shower which provided hot/warm/cold water when required. The times we sat on the balcony provided superb views of the front and a chance to 'watch the world go by'.
The rear gardens were well laid out and with wooden seats and two hammocks provided a great place to 'lie back' in the shade. The pool is large and there are plenty of loungers around it to satisfy anyone - whether you want sunshine or shade, it can be provided around the pool. The lifeguard on duty is there to ensure everything is safe, but also fair - he does move the loungers around, but is it too much to ask that you try to keep loungers in pairs as that is how people do holiday?
The meals provided (breakfast and dinner) give lots of choice and dinner is excellent - four courses which are different every night and is cuisine of a high standard.
The hotel's section of beach is, literally, only two minutes from the hotel and is clean and provides deck chairs and parasol for guests.
We found all staff to be friendly and courteous - giving us good information on local events, cycle hire, etc - they certainly made us welcome and special, not just 'another' guest.
Overall, a great hotel made it a great holiday for us - we will return to the Grand Hotel Royal and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comment.
Hope to welcome you again at the Grand...
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.