We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a lovely holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We have just returned from a lovely week’s holiday in Italy, many thanks to all the staff of the hotel Astor! We had an excellent side sea view room, which was kept immaculate by housekeeping staff. We feel the whole experience from start to finish was fantastic, with a welcoming reception from the front desk, excellent service and choice of food from the restaurant. Also the "wellness" fitness center, which is quite well equipped, once again with top quality, friendly staff. The hotel is well positioned with just a road to cross to enjoy many beach facilities to choose from (however they are rather costly, even the ones with hotel subsidy arrangements)
All we were promised on the hotel websites were made reality during our stay. We would definitely return to the Astor Hotel, modern, relaxed, and special! The holiday was everything we wanted it to be.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & friendlyness
  • Disliked — Paying for beach facilities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DHugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in June 2007 and It was a very pleasent experience. The hotel is modern, well located and is maintained to an excellent standard.
We had a superior double room with a front facing large balcony which was very nice and worth the extra cost.
The staff were friendly,helpful and knew a lot about Viareggio and the surrouding areas.
The hotel has an outdoor seafood restaraunt which is very romantic and is well run, even though the menu is somewhat limited.
There is also a nice area on the roof of the hotel to lie out which is designed like the deck of a ship.( The beach costs 15Euro/pp to lie out with no exceptions!)
The one complaint we had is that the gym is not well equiped and the air conditioning in this area did not work even after staff were notified.
We would stay in this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Staff were excellent
  • Disliked — Pool and Gym
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazydavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

Myself, my husband and our 4 & 5 year old sons spent 3 nights at this hotel on our 'tour' around Italy this month. We stayed in seven 4 or 5 star hotels and this was the most expensive. We had a standard suite which was very nice and extremely clean with a very nice balcony.

The food was good and the staff were very attentive and nice to the children!

Later in our trip we stayed in a standard suite in a hotel in the centre of Florence and it was half the rate of the Hotel Astor and I think it was a little overpriced compared to what we got elsewhere but that's my only criticism.

  • Disliked — The indoor pool was mediocre and freezing!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Spiky_Cactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2005

We stayed at the Astor and in ViaReggio at the suggestion of a friend. otherwise we would never have know that this part of Italy existed. It is not the place to stay if you are looking for a villa in Tuscany. It is the place to stay if you want a view of the sea and the sunset from your room and from the roof deck. It is the place to stay if you want to take a day trip to Cinque Terre. The room was adequate, the bathroom was very nice. the front desk staff was OK, not warm. breakfast was quite good, there is a hotel restaurant but we went to a hotel down the street - the Principe Piemonte and had a faboulous dinner.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank yankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2005

By European standards (per my European wife) this is an excellent hotel. Our room had a better view than you see in the Expedia photos, but the furnishings and room size in our two rooms were not as big and well appointed as the photos at Expedia led me to expect. The bathroom in each of our rooms was very modern and extremely clean.

The location is outstanding for visiting Viareggio; however, many hotels are located on the same street and are equally well placed across the street from the beach.

We found that going to the beach was relatively expensive ($26 Euros/day) in spite of the hotel's agreement with a beach vendor across the street. My European wife says this is normal to good pricing in Europe.

In June 2005 Astor's pool was closed due to construction. This proved to be a benefit as their pool is indoors and when we stated that we rented rooms there based on the expectation of a pool they gave us free vouchers to an outdoor pool maintained by one of the beach vendors across the street. This was great partly because it was free and partly because this particular beach vendor had an extremely clean, large, well maintained outdoor pool. The pool was filled with salt water, presumably filtered from the ocean.

If using a pool is important to you, you should inquire with the hotel about the status of their pool. Once the indoor pool is repaired, the manager led us to believe that free access to the outdoor pool across the street would no longer be available.

The free breakfast included with the room price included more meats, fruits, etc than I or my wife expected to find. Capaccino was available with the breakfast upon request at no extra charge. The food items with the breakfast were oustandingly fresh, served in a very clean environment, and were nicely presented.

The room air conditioning seemed less effective than at other European hotels in the same price ranges but was better than no air conditioning at all. The hotel room windows open to allow fresh air in the rooms.

We would certainly stay at Astor again, but we would be receptive to other similiar quality hotels in Viareggio also. Our perception walking the town is that few hotels in town are this nice.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2003

The first room we received was next to elevator and very noisy. We requested a new room and it was very nice and away from elevator at end of hall. Room was really a suite, very spacious and tastefully decorated. Hotel is quite upscale and had a very nice breakfast selection included in room price. Very nice view of sea and beach across the street. Not directly located on the beach though. Shops and restaurants across the street with street parking available. Be sure to know when they are cleaning the streets! Great gelato shops nearby.
Internet cafes near also. Too bad it rained our entire stay at the beach in Sept.!

Helpful?
33 Thank IndianaJacquelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#15 of 55 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 55 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abitalia Viareggio
Abitalia Viareggio
#20 of 55 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing