We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good...Grazie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good...Grazie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend recently.
Super rooms , spacious and clean . Take a studio.
The hotel has all the amenities of a decent European 4 star including a pool , gym and spa. Equally a 2 minute walk takes you to the private beach.
Terraced restaurant offers a very good buffet breakfast and a delicious array of italian food in the evening.
The service is very good and the staff have to be commended on their attentiveness and care.
Super hotel for couples , families, singles.
I shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
32
103
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

With a warm friendly greeting from reception staff, we were welcomed back to the Astor for what must now be our 5th stay with them. We were delighted to be shown to the exact room that we requested after feeling so much at home in the same fantastic panoramic sea view room during a previous stay. The positioning of the hotel is also a massive attribute for our return visits here, with just a stones throw to set foot on the beach with the buzz of designer shops and quality beach restaurants all the way along the sea front and acres of parks and woodland just a short walk inland, all draws us back here. We chose to eat at the Astor as the high standard of breakfast is equalled at evening dinner, which could be taken out on the terrace with the good weather were fortunate to enjoy. The restaurant staff are extremely obliging as in all our previous stays here. Not to forget to mention that our room, as is the whole hotel, was cleaned to a very high standard. The newly heated indoor pool just adds to the choice of outstanding leisure facilities here and I think it goes without saying we will return as soon as we possibly can!

Room Tip: All front positioned rooms we have stayed in have great sea views, in particular the central front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from the Astor and had a very pleasant experience.
The room we had (229) was very comfortable with a sea view and small balcony.
We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous at all times.
The evening meal had a wide choice to suit most and the breakfast was also very substantial.
We hope to return when next visiting Viareggio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in an annex room of the hotel (150 euro a night).
Terrible noise from the airco engines in the courtyard. Could hardly sleep ! Don't stay there!
Room 105 (where i stayed) has The bedroom On the frontside, Just above The airo engines. Leave a key On The table and enjoy The MUSIC All Night !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great service. Free breakfast, gym and indoor swimming pool. Nice location. Buy wifi access (€3/hour). 50 metres from beach, and restaurant strip. Umbrella (with 2+1 beach chairs) costs €22,50 with hotel discount in july. We preferred to arrive by train from the airport in Pisa, but if you have a car you could try to find cheaper or more luxurious areas on the beach that goes on for miles and miles, but the beach outside Hotel Astor is beautiful and all you'd ever need. Many restaurants are located in the area, and a groccery store on the other side of the park behind the hotel (10 min. walk). The room (in the annex) was clean, quite large, newly renovated, and had a OK standard. Viareggio is a quiet place, to enjoy the sun and the beach with your loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at The Astor for one week 24-June - 1st July I was really impressed with this hotel the staff were professional, courteous our room was great a roof deluxe double looked through Citalia a side sea view balcony sun all afternoon!! we asked for sun beds these were provided at not cost. The rooms always kept clean & towels were changed twice a day!!The restaurant was excellent, staff very proficient the food (local seafood and meats) were outstanding I would definately recommend people to use this restaurant! Also excellent wine list! Viareggio is a great place to relax easy walking beaches great plenty of excellent places to eat lunch. All in all a great find! I will definitely be booking again next summer!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After staying at a lovely hotel on Lake Maggiore before driving down to Tuscany, this hotel couldn't quite meet the same standard, although it was pleasant enough. The location was great - right across from the lovely sandy beach and it looked quite smart, but didn't quite have all the boxes ticked. The staff could have done with being more friendly and offering advice, tips etc - like where to park the car, about the hotels facilities (pool etc). Parking was a bit of a pain, we paid 8EUR a day for a permit to park near the park. There was no UK TV and no free Wi-Fi, something i'd have thought most hotels would offer. The view from our room was great - across to the beach.

In Viareggio, we spend a day on the beach and paid a reasonable 12EUR for two people (umbrella and deckchairs) - this was at a beach club the hotel receptionist recommended. Restaurants were a little limited, there were a couple across from the hotel but not as nice as we have seen in other Italian resorts.

So all in all, not bad, but not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.