We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach holiday for couples and families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beach holiday for couples and families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great service. Free breakfast, gym and indoor swimming pool. Nice location. Buy wifi access (€3/hour). 50 metres from beach, and restaurant strip. Umbrella (with 2+1 beach chairs) costs €22,50 with hotel discount in july. We preferred to arrive by train from the airport in Pisa, but if you have a car you could try to find cheaper or more luxurious areas on the beach that goes on for miles and miles, but the beach outside Hotel Astor is beautiful and all you'd ever need. Many restaurants are located in the area, and a groccery store on the other side of the park behind the hotel (10 min. walk). The room (in the annex) was clean, quite large, newly renovated, and had a OK standard. Viareggio is a quiet place, to enjoy the sun and the beach with your loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
30
100
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at The Astor for one week 24-June - 1st July I was really impressed with this hotel the staff were professional, courteous our room was great a roof deluxe double looked through Citalia a side sea view balcony sun all afternoon!! we asked for sun beds these were provided at not cost. The rooms always kept clean & towels were changed twice a day!!The restaurant was excellent, staff very proficient the food (local seafood and meats) were outstanding I would definately recommend people to use this restaurant! Also excellent wine list! Viareggio is a great place to relax easy walking beaches great plenty of excellent places to eat lunch. All in all a great find! I will definitely be booking again next summer!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After staying at a lovely hotel on Lake Maggiore before driving down to Tuscany, this hotel couldn't quite meet the same standard, although it was pleasant enough. The location was great - right across from the lovely sandy beach and it looked quite smart, but didn't quite have all the boxes ticked. The staff could have done with being more friendly and offering advice, tips etc - like where to park the car, about the hotels facilities (pool etc). Parking was a bit of a pain, we paid 8EUR a day for a permit to park near the park. There was no UK TV and no free Wi-Fi, something i'd have thought most hotels would offer. The view from our room was great - across to the beach.

In Viareggio, we spend a day on the beach and paid a reasonable 12EUR for two people (umbrella and deckchairs) - this was at a beach club the hotel receptionist recommended. Restaurants were a little limited, there were a couple across from the hotel but not as nice as we have seen in other Italian resorts.

So all in all, not bad, but not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent our first summer vacation week at hotel astor i Viareggio in june. We got a lovely room, a long but narrow balkony, but that didn't matter because the beach ws so beautiful. Yes, it was expensive but worth it. The restaurants across the street have great food and good service! The only thing that destroyed the trip was that the hotel had forgotten to take our payment when we booked our reservation in november and found it out the day we checked out. So we had to pay for our stay when we thought we had payed 8months ago.....that was not in our vacation budget!

Room Tip: ask to get the sea veiw from the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Astor is very pleasant, beautifully positioned, just takes a little thin walls... Our dog was very happy there. And we were happy too. Pool is beautiful, breakfest is rich. And this is not the cheapest hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Astor in Viareggio was a bad experience. The hotel was not as nice as it looks like in the pictures. The service was bad and also the beds in the hotelrom was terrible. You will not get what you are paying for at this hotel. Just that it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location on the seafront and has arrangements with a beach club opposite.

There is a roof top terrace with lovely views over the med and across the hills.

The room was comfortable and very clean. The service was ok however the hotel had a policy of charging for every service they possibly can anf charges are rather high compared to similar hotels.

Staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Royal
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#3 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#14 of 55 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Family-friendly...
Show More
6.0 mi away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#5 of 55 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.