We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Tonbridge, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After staying at a lovely hotel on Lake Maggiore before driving down to Tuscany, this hotel couldn't quite meet the same standard, although it was pleasant enough. The location was great - right across from the lovely sandy beach and it looked quite smart, but didn't quite have all the boxes ticked. The staff could have done with being more friendly and offering advice, tips etc - like where to park the car, about the hotels facilities (pool etc). Parking was a bit of a pain, we paid 8EUR a day for a permit to park near the park. There was no UK TV and no free Wi-Fi, something i'd have thought most hotels would offer. The view from our room was great - across to the beach.

In Viareggio, we spend a day on the beach and paid a reasonable 12EUR for two people (umbrella and deckchairs) - this was at a beach club the hotel receptionist recommended. Restaurants were a little limited, there were a couple across from the hotel but not as nice as we have seen in other Italian resorts.

So all in all, not bad, but not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    84
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
31
100
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent our first summer vacation week at hotel astor i Viareggio in june. We got a lovely room, a long but narrow balkony, but that didn't matter because the beach ws so beautiful. Yes, it was expensive but worth it. The restaurants across the street have great food and good service! The only thing that destroyed the trip was that the hotel had forgotten to take our payment when we booked our reservation in november and found it out the day we checked out. So we had to pay for our stay when we thought we had payed 8months ago.....that was not in our vacation budget!

Room Tip: ask to get the sea veiw from the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Astor is very pleasant, beautifully positioned, just takes a little thin walls... Our dog was very happy there. And we were happy too. Pool is beautiful, breakfest is rich. And this is not the cheapest hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Astor in Viareggio was a bad experience. The hotel was not as nice as it looks like in the pictures. The service was bad and also the beds in the hotelrom was terrible. You will not get what you are paying for at this hotel. Just that it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location on the seafront and has arrangements with a beach club opposite.

There is a roof top terrace with lovely views over the med and across the hills.

The room was comfortable and very clean. The service was ok however the hotel had a policy of charging for every service they possibly can anf charges are rather high compared to similar hotels.

Staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is not the cheapest hotel, and it's not the cheapest place in Italy either, but it is really worth spending that little bit more to have an amazing experience. On the plus side the housekeeping is amazingly attentive to even the smallest details and the rooms are both huge and exactly as they appear on the website, which is a first. Breakfast is an experience worth getting up for, although they serve from 7am until 10am so you can still enjoy a lie in. There is a very private area for sunbathing if you don't want to pay 25€ for a sunbed at the beach. On the downside parking is a bit of a challenge. At 25€ per night for hotel parking it is worth trying to find a free space next to the park which is free. It's not easy and you need a lot of luck, otherwise you are faced with the hotel parking free or 1€ per hour on the street between 8am and midnight.

Room Tip: Get a classic room on the southern side of the hotel. It has a great balcony with a view rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived in Viareggio and first impressions were good, lovely clean well presented place. Parked the car outside the Hotel and went to check in. We were given the most unwelcome greeting from the receptionist at the desk, no help with our bags and they did not want to answer any questions or show an interest. Not what you expect when paying over 200 euros per night in a hotel.
The next one was sitting on the beach and being thrown off as if we were criminals, we knew we had to pay but they would not take our money so we went back to the hotel and they explained that we had to go to one of two clubs, nice of them to explain this when we arrived, 20 euros for a couple of hours on the beach and you could only have one sunbed and then two deck chairs!
The rooms are clean, breakfast was the best thing about the hotel in my opinion, the restaurant the food was average at best and expensive. That is the same for alll the restaurants in the area.
When we checked out we were not even asked if we had had a nice stay, or if everything was OK.
One other thing, we were given a room on the 1st floor, you cannot use the air conditioning as it blows air from the toilets and leaves the room smelling bad.
Would never recommend or go back here, ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Check you are not given the rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.