We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Prague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Astor is very pleasant, beautifully positioned, just takes a little thin walls... Our dog was very happy there. And we were happy too. Pool is beautiful, breakfest is rich. And this is not the cheapest hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    103
    48
    18
    11
See reviews for
33
116
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Astor in Viareggio was a bad experience. The hotel was not as nice as it looks like in the pictures. The service was bad and also the beds in the hotelrom was terrible. You will not get what you are paying for at this hotel. Just that it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location on the seafront and has arrangements with a beach club opposite.

There is a roof top terrace with lovely views over the med and across the hills.

The room was comfortable and very clean. The service was ok however the hotel had a policy of charging for every service they possibly can anf charges are rather high compared to similar hotels.

Staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is not the cheapest hotel, and it's not the cheapest place in Italy either, but it is really worth spending that little bit more to have an amazing experience. On the plus side the housekeeping is amazingly attentive to even the smallest details and the rooms are both huge and exactly as they appear on the website, which is a first. Breakfast is an experience worth getting up for, although they serve from 7am until 10am so you can still enjoy a lie in. There is a very private area for sunbathing if you don't want to pay 25€ for a sunbed at the beach. On the downside parking is a bit of a challenge. At 25€ per night for hotel parking it is worth trying to find a free space next to the park which is free. It's not easy and you need a lot of luck, otherwise you are faced with the hotel parking free or 1€ per hour on the street between 8am and midnight.

Room Tip: Get a classic room on the southern side of the hotel. It has a great balcony with a view rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived in Viareggio and first impressions were good, lovely clean well presented place. Parked the car outside the Hotel and went to check in. We were given the most unwelcome greeting from the receptionist at the desk, no help with our bags and they did not want to answer any questions or show an interest. Not what you expect when paying over 200 euros per night in a hotel.
The next one was sitting on the beach and being thrown off as if we were criminals, we knew we had to pay but they would not take our money so we went back to the hotel and they explained that we had to go to one of two clubs, nice of them to explain this when we arrived, 20 euros for a couple of hours on the beach and you could only have one sunbed and then two deck chairs!
The rooms are clean, breakfast was the best thing about the hotel in my opinion, the restaurant the food was average at best and expensive. That is the same for alll the restaurants in the area.
When we checked out we were not even asked if we had had a nice stay, or if everything was OK.
One other thing, we were given a room on the 1st floor, you cannot use the air conditioning as it blows air from the toilets and leaves the room smelling bad.
Would never recommend or go back here, ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Check you are not given the rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July, and yes it does tick all the boxes. The staff are more than helpful and obliging. Our room and bathroom were extremely well equipped and serviced ,the but the bed and paticularly the pillows were much too hard for our tastes. We had a corner room on the 6th floor which gave us both sea and mountain views, which was ideal. The pool which was across the road was very nice as was the private beach. On the downside; what is it about modern hotels? It was totally lacking in atmosphere, not a soul in the lounges or bar, even though they were very well appointed. We were on half board and the dinners were excellent, but the menu was very expensive for someone on a b&b basis, perhaps that is why the place was all but deserted in the evenings. The underground car park was excellent but expensive @25 euros per night.

Room Tip: A corner room with balcony high up preferably at the back is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Well the town of Viareggio is truly lovely, Tuscany on the sea. The Astor Hotel is well organised with good facilities and service, and has a Spa/Fitness facility as part of the hotel. The room was large, comfortable and clean with a sea view but my overall impression remains that it really could do more, in other words that the hotel was better before and the owners have rather neglected it more recently. Please make it lovely again!!!

Room Tip: Mine was on the second floor with a sea view, very tasty!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.