We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally attentive housekeeping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptionally attentive housekeeping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is not the cheapest hotel, and it's not the cheapest place in Italy either, but it is really worth spending that little bit more to have an amazing experience. On the plus side the housekeeping is amazingly attentive to even the smallest details and the rooms are both huge and exactly as they appear on the website, which is a first. Breakfast is an experience worth getting up for, although they serve from 7am until 10am so you can still enjoy a lie in. There is a very private area for sunbathing if you don't want to pay 25€ for a sunbed at the beach. On the downside parking is a bit of a challenge. At 25€ per night for hotel parking it is worth trying to find a free space next to the park which is free. It's not easy and you need a lot of luck, otherwise you are faced with the hotel parking free or 1€ per hour on the street between 8am and midnight.

Room Tip: Get a classic room on the southern side of the hotel. It has a great balcony with a view rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    113
    54
    19
    12
See reviews for
37
124
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived in Viareggio and first impressions were good, lovely clean well presented place. Parked the car outside the Hotel and went to check in. We were given the most unwelcome greeting from the receptionist at the desk, no help with our bags and they did not want to answer any questions or show an interest. Not what you expect when paying over 200 euros per night in a hotel.
The next one was sitting on the beach and being thrown off as if we were criminals, we knew we had to pay but they would not take our money so we went back to the hotel and they explained that we had to go to one of two clubs, nice of them to explain this when we arrived, 20 euros for a couple of hours on the beach and you could only have one sunbed and then two deck chairs!
The rooms are clean, breakfast was the best thing about the hotel in my opinion, the restaurant the food was average at best and expensive. That is the same for alll the restaurants in the area.
When we checked out we were not even asked if we had had a nice stay, or if everything was OK.
One other thing, we were given a room on the 1st floor, you cannot use the air conditioning as it blows air from the toilets and leaves the room smelling bad.
Would never recommend or go back here, ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Check you are not given the rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Viareggio hotels

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July, and yes it does tick all the boxes. The staff are more than helpful and obliging. Our room and bathroom were extremely well equipped and serviced ,the but the bed and paticularly the pillows were much too hard for our tastes. We had a corner room on the 6th floor which gave us both sea and mountain views, which was ideal. The pool which was across the road was very nice as was the private beach. On the downside; what is it about modern hotels? It was totally lacking in atmosphere, not a soul in the lounges or bar, even though they were very well appointed. We were on half board and the dinners were excellent, but the menu was very expensive for someone on a b&b basis, perhaps that is why the place was all but deserted in the evenings. The underground car park was excellent but expensive @25 euros per night.

Room Tip: A corner room with balcony high up preferably at the back is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Well the town of Viareggio is truly lovely, Tuscany on the sea. The Astor Hotel is well organised with good facilities and service, and has a Spa/Fitness facility as part of the hotel. The room was large, comfortable and clean with a sea view but my overall impression remains that it really could do more, in other words that the hotel was better before and the owners have rather neglected it more recently. Please make it lovely again!!!

Room Tip: Mine was on the second floor with a sea view, very tasty!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fabulous hotel! Stayed in the annex and was very happy with the facilities on offer.
Great breakfast at this hotel which has been modernised and staff are quite polite and helpful when asked.
Beach club was good (if you like this sort of resort!) Viareggio is very one dimensionable however.
One disappointment was that the we were not informed of what was on offer unless we specifically asked ie. beach facilities,spa etc.
Would recommend however, despite.

Room Tip: Annex was like having your own apartment as have a separate sitting room. No kitchen though but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

When visiting Viareggio there is only one place to stay.... Yes at the Hotel Astor.
I have just returned from a four day trip of what can only describe has a wonderful holiday. I have spent a lot of time in Viareggio and stayed in a few of its hotels. I have stayed at the Astor a couple of years ago and again last week.

I booked a single partial sea view but was up graded to a double sea view which was nice. I found the reception staff reasonably pleasant and helpful in particular Abele. Some of the restaurant staff and house keeping where a bit grumpy however in it own lovely way that Italy for you. Has I have mentioned Abele stood out he was lovely, funny and very kind and welcoming.

In my opinion the Hotel is spotless you could eat your dinner off the floor. The rooms are well served and comfortable. Breakfast Ok just ok nothing great but with a good selection.
The only downside of this hotel is its VERY expensive added extra’s so look out for that.
I didn’t even open the mini bar in case I got charged for the privilege. Also one had to pay to use the internet 7 euros for three hours( but you can log in and out) All in all if you can apply self control and eat out if not on a meal plan then you will enjoy your stay at the Hotel Astor Viareggio….. I did!!!!! Once again Abele was Great and well worth a visit if only to meet him.

Room Tip: What ever room you choose remember the walls as in all of Italy are paper thin....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saignon, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with our dog in early Oct. Very comfortable room with sea view. Great value for the money, excellent buffet breakfast, gym, indoor pool, spa services. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location couldn't be better, right across from beach, park, shopping. Will return and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.