We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the seafront in lovely Viareggio...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Roma
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“On the seafront in lovely Viareggio...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Well the town of Viareggio is truly lovely, Tuscany on the sea. The Astor Hotel is well organised with good facilities and service, and has a Spa/Fitness facility as part of the hotel. The room was large, comfortable and clean with a sea view but my overall impression remains that it really could do more, in other words that the hotel was better before and the owners have rather neglected it more recently. Please make it lovely again!!!

Room Tip: Mine was on the second floor with a sea view, very tasty!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    84
    42
    16
    12
See reviews for
27
100
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fabulous hotel! Stayed in the annex and was very happy with the facilities on offer.
Great breakfast at this hotel which has been modernised and staff are quite polite and helpful when asked.
Beach club was good (if you like this sort of resort!) Viareggio is very one dimensionable however.
One disappointment was that the we were not informed of what was on offer unless we specifically asked ie. beach facilities,spa etc.
Would recommend however, despite.

Room Tip: Annex was like having your own apartment as have a separate sitting room. No kitchen though but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

When visiting Viareggio there is only one place to stay.... Yes at the Hotel Astor.
I have just returned from a four day trip of what can only describe has a wonderful holiday. I have spent a lot of time in Viareggio and stayed in a few of its hotels. I have stayed at the Astor a couple of years ago and again last week.

I booked a single partial sea view but was up graded to a double sea view which was nice. I found the reception staff reasonably pleasant and helpful in particular Abele. Some of the restaurant staff and house keeping where a bit grumpy however in it own lovely way that Italy for you. Has I have mentioned Abele stood out he was lovely, funny and very kind and welcoming.

In my opinion the Hotel is spotless you could eat your dinner off the floor. The rooms are well served and comfortable. Breakfast Ok just ok nothing great but with a good selection.
The only downside of this hotel is its VERY expensive added extra’s so look out for that.
I didn’t even open the mini bar in case I got charged for the privilege. Also one had to pay to use the internet 7 euros for three hours( but you can log in and out) All in all if you can apply self control and eat out if not on a meal plan then you will enjoy your stay at the Hotel Astor Viareggio….. I did!!!!! Once again Abele was Great and well worth a visit if only to meet him.

Room Tip: What ever room you choose remember the walls as in all of Italy are paper thin....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saignon, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with our dog in early Oct. Very comfortable room with sea view. Great value for the money, excellent buffet breakfast, gym, indoor pool, spa services. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location couldn't be better, right across from beach, park, shopping. Will return and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed just one night and when we booked were told we would be in the annex. When we arrived we were given a large room with a sea view and " two bathrooms". All for E140. Recession. After eating out we thought we might have a drink in the American Bar. However, at E15 for a gin and tonic and E12 for a small whisky we decided not to bother. Breakfast was very average.
Viareggio, one of Italy`s most popular resorts was, incidentally, very quiet with at least half of the beach ubrellas unoccupied.

E25 per day parking but almost worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Hotel Astor is an exceptional 4 star hotel. Ideally located on the beach front of Viareggio. On arrival the staff could not be more helpful promtly getting my cases to my room and explaining everything we needed to know.
The room was excellent however slightly dissapointed not to get a sea view.
The most impressive thing for me however was the breakfast and evening meals. The staff were fantastic from the head waiter, Moreno, to all of the others. Entertaining and very attentive. As for the food it is definitely some of the best in Viareggio!

Room Tip: I would reccomend that you request a sea view at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are very disappointed about this hotel. The price is far to expensive , the staff is unfriendly and the rooms are old and not very clean. We cannot understand whow this hotel is quoted as design hotel. The beds are not great. and for the price of 275 euro a night we had a room with NO view, no elevator and a lot of noise of people who fill the garbage next doors......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.