We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience but some drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Viareggio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor Viareggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astor Viareggio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good experience but some drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed just one night and when we booked were told we would be in the annex. When we arrived we were given a large room with a sea view and " two bathrooms". All for E140. Recession. After eating out we thought we might have a drink in the American Bar. However, at E15 for a gin and tonic and E12 for a small whisky we decided not to bother. Breakfast was very average.
Viareggio, one of Italy`s most popular resorts was, incidentally, very quiet with at least half of the beach ubrellas unoccupied.

E25 per day parking but almost worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
32
105
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Hotel Astor is an exceptional 4 star hotel. Ideally located on the beach front of Viareggio. On arrival the staff could not be more helpful promtly getting my cases to my room and explaining everything we needed to know.
The room was excellent however slightly dissapointed not to get a sea view.
The most impressive thing for me however was the breakfast and evening meals. The staff were fantastic from the head waiter, Moreno, to all of the others. Entertaining and very attentive. As for the food it is definitely some of the best in Viareggio!

Room Tip: I would reccomend that you request a sea view at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are very disappointed about this hotel. The price is far to expensive , the staff is unfriendly and the rooms are old and not very clean. We cannot understand whow this hotel is quoted as design hotel. The beds are not great. and for the price of 275 euro a night we had a room with NO view, no elevator and a lot of noise of people who fill the garbage next doors......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I was looking forward to my stay at the Astor having seen some stunning pictures on its website. When I arrived, however, I found it to be rather a bleak place to be. There was one member of staff who was polite and friendly but the rest of them seemed surly and disinterested. My accommodation was a horrible little box room with stains on the carpet. One of the towels in the bathroom was dirty and from my window I looked out over another hotel.

The pool and mini-gym are really, really grotty and very tiny. I was struggling to find any redeeming features within the hotel until I went up to the roof terrace which, although small, has good views over the sea and mountains. A further point in the Astor's favour is the breakfast buffet. There is a large selection, including masses of fresh fruit, and the dining room has sea views.

If you can get a cheap deal then the Astor would be reasonable - if only for the breakfast. Considering the usual prices they charge, however, I think it is to be avoided.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at the Astoria this October, and we found the location convenient - walked from the train station and were reasonable close to the shore. The staff was helpful, and the room was very nice for 80 euros with breakfast and private bath. The breakfast was at a bar just down the street and only a basic continental breakfast. I think the room had a heated marble floor, which was quite nice. All in all, a pleasant base from which we traveled to Pisa and Lucca by train.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
True Brit
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Hotel very clean and staff generally helpful. However, there were one or two things that spoilt our holiday. First of all, It was bad enough that there was no outdoor pool or gardens, but the indoor pool certainly didn't make up for this as it was most uninviting. We also had to pay to use a pool at another hotel's beach facilities, and it was only by chance that we found out we could obtain a voucher which enabled us to use their chairs and umbrellas free. The shower fitting over our bath was half way along the bath and the screen was not adequate to stop the water going all over the floor. Our biggest complaint was regarding the food. For instance, one evening the menu said 'roast turkey - oven roasted'. Yes, this conjured up a beautifully carved turkey, but in fact turned out to be COLD wafer thin slices of turkey (like we would buy to put in sandwiches) with gravy. The view from our room and balcony was lovely, especially the fantastic sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Astor. If you're an American and never heard of Viareggio, you are missing a treat. It's a great beach town. You do have to get used to the idea that you pay to go to the beach, but it's really nice there.

The Astor is a very nice, modern hotel across from the beach. We got upgraded from a Superior room to a Suite, which gave us a huge terrace (every room has a balcony and I think all have some kind of ocean view) with chaise lounges and a panoramic view. I'd have to say that the hotel puts a bit more emphasis on appearance than the nuts and bolts. The air conditioner needed some extensive work when we arrived, and the showerhead sprayed water up and out of the shower until I wrapped a towel around the top of it. The pool and exercise room are not worth using.

Beyond that, I have nothing bad to say. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast was excellent and served in a beautiful, bright room. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The location was perfect. If the cost was 2/3 of what it was this would be a 5 star review.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor Viareggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Viareggio

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Viareggio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Astor Viareggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Viareggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.