We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Save Saved
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second time around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to Viareggio and our second stay in Hotel President. We liked it the first time around, and liked it even better this time - more services have been included in the price. Most staff were the same as the last time, and again the service was first class. It's located near the beach, and there are many excellent restaurants in walking distance. The hotel receptionists will place restaurant bookings, at no charge even though this means you're taking your money elsewhere.

We asked for the same room as before, by email shortly after reserving, and that's what we got.

The décor is a bit old fashioned, you'll either love or hate the ground floor light fittings.

The hotel has no pool or gardens, but it appears that in Viareggio these are the preserve of 5 star hotels. Bagnos Irene and Balena offer beach services to the hotel clients, for which there is a charge. Irene is just across the road and is family-run, we found it a friendly place to visit with good service at the bar/restaurant.

We made good use of the free wifi (President and Irene).

Given all that, Hotel President is excellent value for money, and it deserves a 4 star plus rating. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    90
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
181
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed as a couple for 11 nights end Aug/early Sep - booked a comfort sea view room and it was indeed very comfortable with stunning views along the coast past Forte dei Marmi .Air con if you like that - we prefer the windows open but you do get some road noise. Extensive breakfast buffet with waiter service a la carte dishes also available in the B&B room price. A nice touch was free mineral water provided every day during our stay. No pool but you're just over the road from the beach. Terrific staff really very helpful for example giving train times, helping us check in online for our return flight. My wife knocked her ankle getting off a train and the reception staff were so sympathetic - and an ice pack was immediately provided which did the trick.
Viareggio is a great place to stay - Thomson used to come here - a brilliant base to explore Tuscany -Florence, Pisa, Lucca all readily accessible by train, Siena/S Giminiano by coach, Portovenere Cinque Terre by boat.The town has a terrific atmosphere with great restaurants, designer boutiques and a weekly market. A great hotel from which to sample the delights of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Front sea view well worth it - spectacular views up the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mr Randalp,

I was very happy to read that you and your wife have had the choice to enjoy the “stunning view” of the beach of Viareggio from the Harbour to Forte dei Marmi from your front sea view room.
My staff and I still get really excited like children when our guests write that we are a “terrific staff” and this truly encourages us to improve the quality of our services as for our special breakfast with a la carte dishes included in the B&B rate.
We do remember you and your wife, we are really happy you have had a good time with us and maybe we can have a little place in your pleasant memories.
If you may come back to the beautiful Tuscany, we all very much look forward to seeing you if you may decide to visit us again.
Greetings from Viareggio

Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is right across from the beach and promenade, with lots of nice restaurants nearby.
The staff were exceptional - very informative, helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean, if somewhat small.
The breakfast variety was varied and delicious, and the breakfast staff very obliging.
Being the summer season, we did struggle to find parking near the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and reserve a beach facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us. We are happy you have appreciated our facilities and the location of the hotel in front of the sea.
Receiving compliments for “the various and delicious breakfast” fills us with great pride.
Hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Greetings from Viareggio
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in probably the cheapest room available, but still expected more for the price we were paying. You accept you won't have any view however the room was very cramped and the bathroom door was faulty, not ideal. Having said that the breakfast was excellent, the location is great (although I wouldn't particularly recommend Viareggio) and the staff were great. Certainly worth paying a bit more for a better view, as everything else in this hotel is of a good standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
We are happy you have appreciated our nice hotel, the excellent breakfast, the great location and the staff.
We offer both economic rooms together with other types of rooms, as superior, exclusive, junior suite, prestige and deluxe, so it is a personal choice. But, as you observed, we try to maintain high standard for every guest.
Hoping we will see you again, I am confident you could change your opinion about rooms. Please, email me directly (alessandracilia@hotelpresident.it) if you may wish to come back and I will personally take care of your reservation: you will definetely love the room and the rate will be proper.
We look forward to seeing you.
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Hotel President the last part of our summer Italian holiday in July. We also booked a separate room for my daughter and 4-year old son. Each one of us loved the hotel - the beds were comfortable, the updated room was very Italian and stylish, and the welcoming fruit basket a lovely surprise. We also ate breakfast and one dinner here. The breakfast buffet had many food choices and also included a separate menu from which yummy choices could be made - blueberry smoothie anyone? Dinner was a little less successful but still a good value with well-prepared dishes.

The staff made great recommendations for other dining options as well and the maids were efficient, friendly and respectful of our time in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side street but still had a view of the water; however directly in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Madame,
we do remember of you and your wonderful family.
We really thank you for your kind words. We are glad you loved the Hotel and that it left you with a perception of elegance.
Washington is not so near, but i hope you could come back and visit us again.
Warmest regards
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we booked the hotel we had a long conversation with the reservation agent and she recommended a specific room based on our needs / wants. We booked the reservation and was told that we would have the specific room. When we arrived we were given a room overlooking the construction and not the room promised when we booked. I went to the desk to discuss the issue and they offered a different (even nicer) room. They really wanted to make the stay nice.

Before arrival, I called and arranged flowers for my wife. We arrived to a beautiful arrangement which was well executed.

Breakfast from the buffet was just OK but the a la carte option was good.

The front desk recommended great dining options and really worked hard to make sure we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
we are very delighted the Hotel has quickly resolved any issue occurred and that you have had a nice stay with us in your room overlooking the sea and the beach promenade.
If you may wish to come back to Tuscany, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Alessandra Cilia,
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is our fourth stay at the Hotel President and it just keeps getting better every time. The staff of this delightful hotel are friendly, welcoming and attentive to the most minute detail. You will not find a finer breakfast (hot and cold buffet items along with anything you want made to order) or a more attentive serving staff. We ate two dinners in the restaurant over our 10 day stay and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The menu changes daily and features a wide selection of surf and turf entrees. We stayed in a classic room which is very nice, but after having toured the newly renovated deluxe and prestige rooms we will definitely upgrade next time. The new rooms are stunningly beautiful with all white design and very large, stylish bathrooms.
The hotel is perfectly situated across from the beach promenade and the many beach clubs. Do take advantage of the Hotel's connection with the beach club Bagno Irene. This beach club has it all...comfortable sun beds, chairs and umbrellas and a restaurant that has an excellent menu with a wide assortment of dishes including a daily seafood pasta special. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
thanks for your nice words about the Hotel President and our staff, we are all delighted in reading your beautiful review.
Whenever you would like to come back, do not hesitate to contact me directly (alessandracilia@hotelpresident.it) I will personally take care of your reservation and we will do our best efforts to ensure your stay in the Prestige Room a charming one.
Kind regards,
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.