We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and unfortunately they had double booked our room for one night. The hotel manager was very apologetic, booked us into a hotel round the corner for one night, and arranged transport for the short journey. They even offered to pick us up the next day, but the 200 metre walk I felt was something I could handle myself!

The next day when we returned they had upgraded our room, gave us free access to one of the local beaches (you have to pay for beach access in Viareggio) for the rest of the week and a complimentary meal in their restaurant.

A small mistake at the start, but they more than made up for it, the staff were a delight. I could not recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    94
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
196
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We found the hotel to be well situated on the beachfront and yet close to central viareggio and all it offers - which to be fair is not a lot, but this hotel offers very comfortable and cool rooms - essential for our 4 night stay in July - and is suprizingly quiet being next to the main front with good quality double glazing and shutters. There was a building site next door with large crane but no work was going on while we were there. Ambiance of the hotel was smart and reasonably sophisticated and the staff were all helpful and amiable - they even have an English newspaper daily in the bar. Food was very good, although we only had breakfast, but there was a good choice of cooked and continental foods, although as usual bacon was nothing like in England. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are searching for the nice and friendly hotel in Viareggio and would like to spend your time on the beach, this is a right place.
Hotel President has a great location, very friendly staff and lots of pleasant surprises for you. I didn´t like our room at the beginning so the staff let me choose from 3 rooms. They were very helpful. I chose the one with the balcony (but no carpet). All the basic rooms were decorated in colonial style and were almost the same.
What I absolutely loved was a breakfast – very nice hot/cold buffet with champagne, that´s what you need:-)! Restaurant was excellent (perfect waiters) and we had the possibility to visit it twice for a complimentary dinner. The only thing I didn´t like in the hotel was the room service. They were very precise, but very noisy and working from 7 o´clock in the morning!
I was little bit disappointed from the beach club Balena – you have to pay 25 euro/day for an umbrella and two sun chairs (sun chairs! Sunbed is extra) and the club is not very clean. During our stay it was full of children and still very noisy. The see was full of trash so we preferred the pool (full of children).
Be prepared to pay a lot of extra money for your stay – for parking, dinners, beach club. It´s not very cheap vacation, but the hotel is worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the president for 2 weeks from 12th July booking with Thomson. This was a superior experience of a package holiday. The hotel was clean, friendly and the food was excellent. The evening meal would have cost 50 to 60 euros from the a la carte menu but we booked on a half board basis which was exceptional value. The beach club Irene is clean and casual and the staff all very helpful.
We are homr noe and finding it difficult to adjust after such a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Room 302 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel President for a week from 13th July and had a great experience.

Unfortunately when we arrived after an early morning flight from Gatwick, our room was not ready as the previous guest had not yet checked out. The lady at reception could not apologise enough and almost appeared embarrassed to have to inform us of this but we were totally fine with it and as breakfast was still available, we ate and then headed out to explore for an hour or so. When we got back, not only were we able to check in to our room but the luggage we had left in storage had been taken to our room and we arrived to a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

This delay to checking in served a good purpose in a way as for the first time; we ate the fantastic breakfast that the hotel has to offer. Whatever you can imagine for breakfast, they will probably serve – eggs, sausages, bacon, toast, croissants, fruit, prosciutto, salami, cheese, risotto (“RISOTTO FOR BREAKFAST?!” I hear you say), smoked salmon – need I go on? I will be astounded if I come across a review of this hotel that says that breakfast isn’t good. Asking me about lunch or dinner is another matter as we never ate dinner here; there are so many restaurants around Viareggio that it seemed pointless to stay in the hotel and not have a wander around town for a good meal. If I was to recommend anywhere, I would suggest that you at least try once any, or all, of these restaurants – ‘La Chiesina’ on Via Leonardo Da Vinci which serves a number of typical Italian dishes, ‘Sa Playa’ on Viale Regina Margherita which is cheap, cheerful and very busy with locals on the weekend which attributes to what a good restaurant it is and another restaurant whose name fails me but it is also located on Viale Regina Margherita and is next door to a book store/library. All of these restaurants do your typical Italian dishes and if you are travelling with anyone who you think may not like a traditional dish, you’re pretty much covered if they like pizza as most restaurants will serve pizza with various toppings.

The hotel does display leaflets for an excursion company who offer trips to towns and cities around Tuscany but to be honest, if you don’t mind travelling around by yourself then I would recommend that you just take them up on the day trip to San Gimignano and Siena as these places are a little more difficult to get to using public transport. Pisa and Lucca can be reached by bus and a round trip cost us ten euros each and a return train ticket direct to Florence is around 20 euros and you can jump on a City Sightseeing open top bus when you get there which is another twenty euros for a day ticket on all tour bus routes around the city. The trip to San Gimignano/Siena was very good and I have no doubt that the other day trips will be just as comfortable and informative but as we were a little budget conscious, we decided to explore certain places for ourselves. If you are in the same situation, just grab yourself a guidebook to Tuscany and an Italian phrasebook (even though most people speak English anyway) and you will be fine.

Viareggio did seem to be quite busy on the weekend but I guess it’s only like how busy Devon and Cornwall will be during summer. People are pretty friendly and we never had any hassle during our stay in Tuscany altogether let alone just in Viareggio. If you use the beach clubs that Hotel President offers vouchers for then you get deckchairs and an umbrella for free and sunbeds at an extra cost. The beach is very well looked after and clean so we usually mixed up our week by one day doing some exploring and the next day just chilling out at the beach. A good recipe for a holiday if I do say so myself. Although I originally thought that the hotel had a swimming pool, it is located further down the promenade at one of the beach clubs. It isn’t a problem but it’s not the same as just rolling out of bed, stepping out and chilling by the pool like I have done at other hotels in the past. By all means, still chill by the pool but you have to walk down the road first!

I would definitely return to Hotel President and recommend it to anyone looking at Viareggio for a holiday destination. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and spacious and the bar serves a great selection of drinks. Thanks to the barman’s excellent cocktail making skills, I have now developed a taste for Aperol Spritz and Mojitos. Viareggio has a good beach, a vast selection of cafes, gelaterias and restaurants and is close enough to tourist attractions like Pisa and Florence to enable you to have a few days out and around Tuscany. It is a beautiful place full of culture and history so be sure to take a camera, some sunscreen and an appetite because you’ll need all three for your trip to Italy.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with a sea view. Always a good feeling opening the curtains to a view out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After travelling around Tuscany for 10 days we booked into the Hotel President in Viareggio for two days of relaxation at the end of our trip. We were not disappointed in this respect. Our particular room was a Superior Double room on the corner of the building...it therefore had two balconies, one facing the waterfront and sea (and spectacular sunset), the other looking southwards towards towards the harbour and shipyards. The room was extremely spacious, clean and wonderfully bright. This hotel is obviously very well looked after and the reception and housekeeping staff make every effort to attend to your needs and comfort.

The continental style breakfast was plentiful and very enjoyable, and the location of the hotel was perfect for all aspects of Viareggio. Directly facing the waterfront, a number of restaurants, cafes and designer shops were within five minutes walk. The more built up main street of Viareggio is five minutes inland, with plenty of restaurants and cafes in between. The bus and train stations are five and ten minute walks respectively (both offer services directly to Pisa Airport). Everything is within reasonable walking distance.

During our stay, we used both the discounted beach and pool options that are offered by staying in Hotel President. The beach club Irene (100m away), costs 15€ per day (per room, not per person), and gives access to deck chairs and a parasol. Perfectly comfortable, but extra charges do apply for use of sun loungers. The health and fitness club, Balena 2000 (400m away), is 25€ per day (per room), and gives access to deck chairs, a parasol, and use of the swimming pool. Just be prepared for the add-ons (you pay the extras at the clubs themselves - the initial amount is charged to your room at reception). For example, an extra 5€ per sun lounger per day; an extra 5€ per COMPULSORY swimming cap; an extra charge for lockers and shower use per day; and so on. This still works out well compared to the other option of walking into any beach club off the street - just be prepared. Also, with regard to Balena 2000, remember that it doubles up as a health club - as such, the emphasis is on swimming. The main pools are divided into lanes, and have no shallow end (1.8m at all points). The kids pools are invariably full, and water aerobics classes regularly take place in the only area reserved for bathing.

I recognise that a large section of this review refers to the the beach and pool options - this is because we booked our stay in Hotel President with these aspects in mind. Let me reiterate, the hotel itself is excellent and all of the information above is relayed clearly by the hotel staff upon checking in. Likewise, the beach clubs are good and serve a purpose - namely, a place to relax, swim to cool off, and enjoy the sun. Just be ready to pay a bit extra here and there, and to swim some lengths!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hotels over a lot of different coutries, but it must be said: this hotel is actually exceptionel. Most of the time you can't speak of good quality AND kindness in one package, but in this case it's nothing but the truth. Every time when someone sees you they will salute you or even help you to make your visit more plesent. It's our second time in a row we visit this hotel and we have noticed that the food is at his best for its price. The location is very nice most of things you need on vacation are located within walking distance: sea, swimming pool (included in the price), shops, you name it... The only negative point that comes in mind is that the rooms are quit old fashioned and the closet is to small for all your clothes. In my opnion I think this hotel is worth recomending for! If I may give you one golden tip: take the half- or full-pension formule because you must taste the food, isn't that what Italy is all about? And before I forget it's a big surplus for the hotel that some of the workers can help you in English, German or Dutch. This may seem very logical, but you will notice during your visit not all Italians speak or comprehend English. I hope you make the right choice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#4 Best Value Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.