We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Save Saved
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the President last month, superb service and very friendly staff. Comfortable rooms with quiet air conditioning! Towels changed twice daily, bath robes & slippers provided and bottled water at bedside each night. We stayed bed & breakfast and breakfast was varied & plentiful, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, lovely pastries etc. I can' t recommend the hotel highly enough.
Opposite the beach with free access to Beach Club Irene, great position.
Yes there is a building site next door, but no noise and no dust, hardly noticed it.

Room Tip: Specify sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    82
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
49
169
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel and we totally agree with the other reviewers who say that the staff was very helpful, polite and friendly
The hotel is located just beside the beach (private - 10 Eur for 2 people for one day) so you just need to cross the road to go.
Even though the hotel is also beside the road we did not hear the trafic from our room (which is anyway quiet during the night).
Our room was nice, clean and quite big. The shower was however a little bit small.
As negative point, there is no parking in the hotel. Either, you need to park around (8 EUR a day) but no guarantee to find a place or you have the possibility to park in an indoor park a few block from the hotel but it is much more expensive.
We would definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an amazing visit to Hotel President. We agonized over which hotel to stay at prior to our trip and we were very VERY happy with our decision with this hotel. It was honestly one of the highlights of our European vacation. We also spent nights in Amsterdam and Florence, but the service and accommodations at this stunning hotel were the BEST. The front desk staff were very helpful suggesting restaurants, making reservations for us and printing train schedules. They went above and beyond, and always with a smile. Most importantly, the hotel is conveniently located to the beach AND the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The most welcoming and helpful staff you could wish for. On our arrival at midnight having just discovered we had lost a passport the reception staff sent us to bed and when we went down for breakfast they had managed to locate it. Lovely hotel in lovely old city. About 80 yards across the road to the most wonderful beach, staffed with equally welcoming and helpful staff.
Clean towels and bed linen daily, exrensive choice of breakfast and a really happy and helpful staff. Rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. Lovely holiday in a great hotel in a wonderful city.
If you are eating out just ask the receptionists for the very best restaurants. Not the obvious ones where the tourists gravitate towards but the ones with the best food for the besat value. Brilliant

Room Tip: Facing the sea. There is plenty of traffic but the double glazing and air con are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed at the President for 5 nights i in june and i cannot fault the helpfllness politeness friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. the hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable . we had a corner room with 2 balconiies the position of the hotel is directly on to the promenade once you have crossed a fairly busy road
yes i would recommend the hotel and would certainly go back

Room Tip: corer rooms have 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the President. Initially we were unhappy with our room as we overlooked the building site ( I have to add it is not being worked on). When mentioned we were moved to a lovely light airy room (103) with views to the town and sea which meant a lovely breeze. The bed was large, plenty of pillows but a bit hard. There were good amount of sockets, hangers in the wardrobes, hairdryer and mini bar. Rooms were cleaned and tidied daily and towels changed regularly. Bathrooms had showers only which were very efficient. The air con in the rooms was excellent and easily adjusted. The windows have electric shutters which allowed a small amount of light in if you wished it.
Breakfast was good, very good coffee machines, pastries, toast maker, three cereals to choose from, cold meats and cheeses, fresh salmon and champagne if you fancied it also and juice. The restaurant as with all public areas were spotless with excellent service. The bar tender was particularly good at making cocktails, we enjoyed going back there after eating out and going for a stroll.
The hotel has no pool, there is use of one down the road but we used the lovely Irene beach. We had free use of this with our Thomas cook package which included the use of 2 deck chairs and a parasol, we paid for 1 sun lounger a day at a cost of 5 euros a day. The owners of the Irene were very friendly and efficient even keeping our same spot on the beach for us if we wanted it the next day. They have a lifeguard on duty and one day when the red flag was showing were doing an excellent job watching those in the sea. I have to recommend the food at this beach cafe too. It was amazingly good value and so fresh. I would recommend the bruchetta, it was delicious and plentiful also the fresh salads are fab. We really loved it there.
Viareggio is a working town, you will get some traffic noise but it's not a problem. There is a long stretch of flat cycle path, you can hire bikes cheaply. The hotel will help you organise anything. The public transport if efficient and very cheap, we went to Lucca for the day on the bus, it's beautiful. Shopping is also excellent suiting all price ranges it's easy to get carried away!
There are lots of places to eat and drink, would recommend Sa Playa. It's worth going around the back of the hotels and exploring the back streets for restaurants and cafes, we found some good ones. You can either dress up or go casual when eating out however we like to make the effort on holiday. Viareggio is a very relaxed place to stay, we love it, it's not expensive either compared to some of the cities.
We stayed at the grand royal last year but wanted to have a varied choice eating out in the evenings this year.
Also the weather was boiling hot, aprox 35 degrees most days, fine on the beach as there was a breeze.

Room Tip: Room 103 was very light and airy though I hear the superior rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In more than 25 trips to Italy the President has given us the best guest experience we have had. The staff were unfailingly cheerful, polite, helpful and most importantly, interested without being intrusive; cleaning staff, restaurant staff, bar staff and everyone on reception (thank you especially to Jessica for her advice on cafes, local food, and Italian bureaucracy). The location is first rate for the passegiata, the shops, the bars, the beach, the station only 10 mins walk. The accommodation was comfortable (502 - top floor, sea view, no balcony but Juliet railing), the linen crisp and towels thick and fluffy, the public areas spotless and seemed freshly decorated. Good breakfast, all fresh. We had a fly in the ointment in the shower-only en-suite, where the tiling and cubicle are tired and due for a re-furb in a 4* rated hotel. The mixer malfunctions, so the water temperature fluctuates from too cool to too hot. We're pretty laid back and only there for a week, so OK for us that it was not fixed during our stay. For a longer stay I would be want that fixed. Overall, still excellent. I have written to the hotel too.

Room Tip: Building site to the south side, not active during our stay, but cranes are up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#4 Business Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.