We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In more than 25 trips to Italy the President has given us the best guest experience we have had. The staff were unfailingly cheerful, polite, helpful and most importantly, interested without being intrusive; cleaning staff, restaurant staff, bar staff and everyone on reception (thank you especially to Jessica for her advice on cafes, local food, and Italian bureaucracy). The location is first rate for the passegiata, the shops, the bars, the beach, the station only 10 mins walk. The accommodation was comfortable (502 - top floor, sea view, no balcony but Juliet railing), the linen crisp and towels thick and fluffy, the public areas spotless and seemed freshly decorated. Good breakfast, all fresh. We had a fly in the ointment in the shower-only en-suite, where the tiling and cubicle are tired and due for a re-furb in a 4* rated hotel. The mixer malfunctions, so the water temperature fluctuates from too cool to too hot. We're pretty laid back and only there for a week, so OK for us that it was not fixed during our stay. For a longer stay I would be want that fixed. Overall, still excellent. I have written to the hotel too.

Room Tip: Building site to the south side, not active during our stay, but cranes are up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    98
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
201
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a stay at this hotel its wonderful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the public area's are spotless, and all the staff are so helpful they really can't do enough for you.
Would I go again, yes I would and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as its central for train,buses and only 30mins from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed with my family for two nights at the President unfortunately we were spoilt by the luxury of staying the previous five nights in the Principe Hotel with a rooftop pool. But the staff were helpful, the Breakfast was better lots of choice!! shame we were facing the building site but no works happening at the time,We thought the walls were very thin! we used one of the Bagnos named Irene for the day at a cost of five euros each for deckchairs and umbrella clean beach showers changing rooms restuarant all you need for a day at the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor and was not disappointed.
The staff could not have been more helpful, from upgrading our room to a front sea view, providing bus and train time tables suggesting short trip destinations and being generally friendly.
While the bedroom and bathroom were quite small they were more than adequate, and spotlessly clean. The dining room was bright and airy,and again the service was first class. Buffet breakfast was excellent with the usual selection of fresh fruit, breads, cold meats, cereals,hot food, juices,tea and coffees.The location is very central, close to the bus and railway station, just across the road from shops , close to the market and the harbor. if visiting Viareggio again this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with balcony sea facing 1-3 on 1st. 2nd. and 3rd. floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Brilliant hotel, Great staff and food, Excellent location for the train station to visit Lucca, Florence and Pisa which was cheap and easy. We went on an organised trip to Sienna which is quite a distance so a warning here that it is a three hour return journey with no stop. Viareggio is a lovely resort to potter around with a sandy beach and the only negative thing is being constantly disturbed by traders trying to sell you "junk". We left a letter for the guest manager as we wanted to formally pass our appreciation to all the staff from the managers to the cleaners for giving such a great holiday. Janet

Room Tip: we were given a sea view with no extra payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the Hotel President.
Hotel is family owned and runs like clockwork. The staff are very smiley & helpful. The decor is traditional and very clean. We had room 302, third floor sea facing with a balcony. Room although basic had every thing we required and enjoyed a lovely sea view.
The hotel is positioned in an excellent location within the resort and the train station and bus station are within easy walking distance.
Be aware that there is a building site next to the hotel and the majority of rooms overlook this. Sea facing rooms have the best aspect. (rooms 1-3 on each floor)

Room Tip: Floor 3 rooms 301, 302 & 303 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The staff is very helpful, multilingual (we got help in Dutch) and checking in went probably as smooth as we have ever checked in anywhere.

Parking around the hotel is plentyful and you can buy a 8 euro ticket at the reception that covers all day. The railway station is a 15min. walk and connects you to Pisa and Lucca in about 20-25 minutes, Florence 1h.45 min and La Spezia in about 1 hour, from where you can visit Cinque terre.

For breakfast there was plenty of choice with plumcake, different kinds of croissants, cornflakes, cheeses and meats, toast, fruit juices, fruit and so on.
Two coffee machines serve you, but if you want, the staff will make you a fresh cappucino or cafe ristretto without additional cost.

The hotel has NO pool, but you can choose to go to two Lido's, Irene or Balena 2000, of which the latter has a swimming pool. Reserve your spot at the receptiondesk, receive a receipt and walk to the lido of your choice to get seats, a clean beach, umbrella and acces to the pool, cloathing rooms, toilets, a bar, even a fitness if you fancy (at Balena).

There is no lunch package available for early birds, but if you ask the night before they will let you in to have coffee and cornflakes breakfast.

All in all we enjoyed our 14day stay at the hotel, it's staff, clean rooms (with mini bar/fridge) and hospitality.

They also have the service to let you print your boarding passes the night before so you can reserve your place on the plane. No need to take your computer/laptop with you as they have several laptops at everyone's disposal which you can take up to your room and enjoy the free wifi.

A top hotel which we will be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.